Please select your home edition
Henr-Lloyd 2021 For the love of foul weather LEADERBOARD

Humpybong WinterBash draws massive fleet

by David Begley 3 Aug 2020 07:23 BST 1-2 August 2020
Humpybong Yacht Club WinterBash © David Begley

The fifth annual WinterBash off the beach regatta at Woody Point, Brisbane attracted its largest ever fleet.

Humpybong Yacht Club president David Begley said sailors from Rockhampton to Sydney had nominated early for the event on Saturday 25th and Sunday 26th July but registrations ran riot just before the event with a stunning total of 151 boats attending over the weekend.

"We have amazing numbers of F16, F18, A class, Nacra, Taipan, C2, Tornado, Hobie and Wetas and a good dinghy fleet of Lasers, 125's,Impulse, 505 and other classes..

"Queensland beautiful one day, perfect the next, didn't run true on Saturday as showers turned to drizzle and back and made for soggy conditions in the rigging yard and on the water. Nevertheless, the sight of 150 boats crowding the start and then heading south in their divisions towards the first mark amongst the intermittent showers was the most spectacular sight seen in Bramble Bay for years,

However the top level of competition on the water was shown in the three races with four division starts sending the multihulls away first followed by the dinghy classes. The multis doing three laps while the dinghies did two of their separate courses.

The Marathon, held in partly cloudy and sunny conditions on Sunday, took the sailors from Woody Point south to Shorncliffe then all the way north to Scarborough and back to the Woody Point finish. Winds were steady in the beginning increasing in the early afternoon which returned many craft across the finish line much faster than in previous years.

Olympian sailor Andrew Landenberger claimed the Division One winners podium followed by James Fraser & Olivia Jozefowski in a Nacra 5.8 and Nick Drapes & Pauline Brookman also in their Nacra 5.8.

An OCS in the second race robbed Matt Homan of overall honours but he claimed the Marathon Trophy for the fastest speed over the course on handicap, not far in front of Simone Dougherty and 10 year old Feb Browne in a Heron.

Congratulations to:

Division 1

1st - Andrew Landenberger - A Class (Classic) - AUS308
2nd - James Fraser & Olivia Jozefowski - Nacra 5.8NA - 1702
3rd - Nick Drapes & Pauline Brookman - Nacra 5.8NA - 1671

Division 2

1st - Trent Potter - Nacra 4.5 - 568
2nd - Steve Nelson - Nacra 4.5 - 539
3rd - Peter Hackett - Weta - 1184

Division 4

1st - Robert Franks & Nigel Lott - 505 - 9037
2nd - Chris Gregg & Ian Gregg - 505 - 8781
3rd - John Black & Alan Haylett - 505 - 8738

Division 5

1st - Mark Newton& Archer Newton - 125 - 3066
2nd - Chris Mann & Luke Johnson - 125 - 3198
3rd - Megan Houston & Adriana Bramley - 125 - 3049

Marathon Trophy - Fastest average speed over the course on yardstick

Matt Homan - A Class (Flying) - AUS41

Related Articles

ILCA / Laser racing at Woody Point next weekend
Humpybong Yacht Club is hosting the 2021 Metropolitan Regatta Fleets of International class Laser dinghies will be racing around Bramble Bay next weekend. Posted on 1 Nov 2021
2021 Queensland Impulse State Championship
A remarkable year of sailing for Andrew Turnbull-Miller It has been a remarkable year of sailing for Andrew Turnbull-Miller, he has taken out the 2021 Queensland Impulse State Championships, which were soundly conducted by the Humpybong Yacht Club, Woody Point. Posted on 8 Oct 2021
HumpyBash Sailing Regatta returns to Redcliffe
Gearing up for the event on 16 & 17 October Sailors from south to the border, all the way to central Queensland and inland to Toowoomba are gearing up for the annual HumpyBash regatta at Woody Point in October. Posted on 9 Sep 2021
Women's and Girls Sailing Regatta preview
The regatta is being held on 15 and 16 May 2021 to encourage female sailors of all ages Female sailors are being invited to register early for their inaugural Women and Girls only regatta at Humpybong Yacht Club, Woody Point. Posted on 18 Apr 2021
Inaugural Women's and Girls Sailing Regatta
To be held from Humpybong Yacht Club on Redcliffe Peninsula in May An inaugural Women and Girls only regatta will be held in May at Humpybong Yacht Club, Woody Point. Posted on 30 Mar 2021
Humpybong Yacht Club WinterBash preview
Brisbane's WinterBash regatta attracts record fleet Sailors from Ballina to Maryborough, Bundaberg, Gladstone, and west to Toowoomba are preparing to attend the Humpybong Yacht Club WinterBash regatta at Woody Point, Redcliffe on 25 & 26th July 2020. Posted on 8 Jul 2020
WinterBash Regatta attracts record fleet
A huge two days of action for sailors from Ballina to Bundaberg and west to Toowoomba Sailors from Ballina to Bundaberg and west to Toowoomba have packed out a huge two days of sailing action at the Humpybong Yacht Club WinterBash regatta at Woody Point, Redcliffe on 27 & 28th July 2019. Posted on 31 Jul 2019
WinterBash Regatta at Humpybong YC preview
This is real sailing - take on the sea and the weather in a true test of your seamanship Day One, the Three Can Bash sets you the challenge of sailing a course without it being set up to suit the winds - you sail the course as is - tides, seas and wind are your challenge. Posted on 21 Jul 2019
42nd 125 Australian Championship at Humpybong
Highly competitive regatta sailed in mainly light to moderate conditions The 42nd 125 Australian Championships were held by Humpybong Yacht Club, Queensland, between the 29th of December 2018 and the 4th of January 2019. Posted on 4 Feb 2019