Please select your home edition
2024 fill-in (top)
Product Feature
Rooster Men's Supertherm® Longjohns and Tops
Rooster Men's Supertherm® Longjohns and Tops

2021 Queensland Impulse State Championship at Humpybong Yacht Club

by Queensland Impulse Association 8 Oct 2021 16:59 BST 2-3 October 2021

It has been a remarkable year of sailing for Andrew Turnbull-Miller, he has taken out the 2021 Queensland Impulse State Championships, which were soundly conducted by the Humpybong Yacht Club, Woody Point, on the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd of October 2021.

The year has been remarkable for Turnbull-Miller, as he was also part of this year's winning crew of "Wistari" which was the overall winner of the 2021 Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht race, and also was a crew member of "Sea Bass" which placed second in the PHS division of the Airlie Beach Race week. Not bad for a year of lockdowns!

Despite some last minute cancellations due to fear of a lockdown in South East Queensland, a healthy fleet of 21 boats contested the championships and competitor's traveled from as far north as Yeppoon, with seven different sailing clubs being represented in the regatta.

Day 1 of the regatta was held in very testing conditions, with veteran race organizers saying they had never seen conditions like it. Despite the tricky conditions, the Humpybong Yacht Club did well to get three races in. After the first day of racing, Andrew Triggell from RQYS, held a slender lead over Darling Points Brett Buckley.

Day 2 of the regatta was held in more favorable conditions in which a light sea breeze built up as the day progressed.

Racing was extremely tight across the fleet and this was demonstrated in that only three points separated second to sixth placing.

Turnbull-Miller took out the regatta with four heat wins from the six races contested. In second place was the ever popular ex-505 national champion Phil Gray in his multi-coloured Impulse "the jester".

Rounding out the top three was well respected Brisbane sailmaker and ex-cherub champion Andrew Triggell in "the stink".

The 2021-2022 Impulse National Championships are scheduled to be conducted at the South Lake Macquarie Sailing Club, NSW over the Christmas-New Year period. There are concerns that the regatta maybe delayed due to Covid lockdowns, hence the NSW Impulse association has sensibly proposed later dates in the year in an attempt to get some racing in.

Next year's QLD Impulse State Championships are proposed to take place at the Hervey Bay Sailing Club.

Overall Results:

PosSail numberBoat NameHelmR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st701Boaty McBoatfaceAndrew Turnbull‑Miller1‑915119
2nd732JesterPhil Gray51‑717317
3rd682the stinkAndrew Triggell4232(OCS)617
4th627SlipknotJoshua Young3‑6563219
5th638bedrock fundamentalsBrett Buckley236‑82720
6th570CosmosoarusDavid Harrison7‑8234420
7th710FbsBrent Pearson8(OCS)4410531
8th643PlymouthMichael Robinson67‑18125838
9th634SapphireKeith Briers115‑141061244
10th703Triple TTony Hannan101087(OCS)944
11th563plutoJohn Price‑141291191455
12th575Good VibesRicky Hoe15411‑19141357
13th579SolutionJames Stone9‑181314111158
14th554Strangely EnoughGrant Steinback16‑19101781061
15th471WackoTim Robinson121315912‑1861
16th669another problemRay Hobbs13141218(OCS)1673
17th667BillycartMarshall Nuttall‑19171613131574
18th208WirrawayRebecca Woodbury1711‑1916151978
19th514WindspielMaria Mohrholz181617‑20171785
20th657SeoladhMichael Hewson201520‑21182194
21st641May Contain NutsTony Slater(DNC)DNCDNC15162099
22nd603CowabungaAndy Patrick(DNC)DNCDNCDNCDNCDNC120
22nd661Out of the BlueSheldon Haines(DNC)DNCDNCDNCDNCDNC120

For more information about the Impulse and the proposed and alternate dates for the 2021-2022 National Championships please visit here.