Please select your home edition
Fever-Tree 728x90

In search of the Sailing Heroes of 2017

by Yachting Journalists' Association 4 Dec 2017 18:30 GMT 4 December 2017
The coveted Yachtsman of the Year trophy © Sam Kurtul /

It is truly a case of little and large in the run up to the annual presentation of the Yachting Journalists' Association's prestigious Yachtsman of the Year and Young Sailor of the Year Awards with Laser Radial Girls Champion 16-year-old schoolgirl Matilda Nicholls from Durley, near Southampton among the shortlisted candidates for the Young Sailor Award, while Solo Round the World Sailor Alex Thompson is one of three competing nominees for the prestigious Yachtsman of the Year Trophy.

The other shortlisted nominees for the Young Sailor of the Year Award are Montel Fagan-Jordan, who took Cowes Week and the Fastnet Race by storm with a whole host of achievements, a tally that gave the 17-year-old secondary school pupil from Tottenham his shortlisted spot. Meanwhile the 29er championship winning crew of Crispin Beaumont and Tom Darling will return to the podium hot on the heels of their place in the final three in 2017.

Lined up against Thompson in the battle to get their hands on the stunning Yachtsman of the Year Trophy, previous winners of which are a virtual "Who's Who" of British Yachting and include Sir Francis Chichester, Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Sir Chay Blyth, Sir Max Aitken (who first presented the Trophy in 1955), Dame Ellen MacArthur and Sir Ben Ainslie, are Moth World Champion Paul Goodison and 49er pair Dylan Fletcher and Stuart Bithell.

The Winners of the Awards, which are voted for by the 250 strong members of the Yachting Journalists' Association in a secret ballot, will be once again be announced at a presentation in the spectacular surroundings of Trinity House, London at Midday on Tuesday, January 9, 2018.

Related Articles

YJA to partner with Yacht Racing Forum
Cliff Webb and Bernard Schopfer announced a partnership between their respective organisations The Yachting Journalists' Association, of which Cliff Webb is chairman, will become an official media partner of the Yacht Racing Forum. Posted on 9 Jul
New Chairman for Yachting Journalists' Association
Clifford Webb to lead the way to modern, thriving and forward looking organisation The Yachting Journalists' Association has a new Chairman at the helm, as Clifford Webb, head of a TV broadcast production company, takes over with the aim of leading the Association into a modern, thriving and forward looking organisation. Posted on 11 Jun
YJA Young Blogger of the Year 2017
Monique (15) and her brother Ollie Vennis-Ozanne (13) the worthy winners The judges determined that this young brother and sister team, who are looking to make a first break into sailing journalism. showed remarkable professionalism, mixing drone footage with crew interviews and running commentary. Posted on 5 Mar
YJA Young Blogger of the Year 2017
A quartet of talented youngsters shortlisted A quartet of talented youngsters have been shortlisted from a massive entry for the first ever YJA Young Blogger of the Year Competition which was launched on the Premier Marinas stand at last year's Southampton Boat Show. Posted on 22 Feb
Round the world tenacity honoured
In Yachtsman and Young Sailor of the Year Awards British round the world sailor Alex Thomson has been named the 2017 Yachtsman of the Year winner for his remarkable performance in last year's Vendée Globe solo round the world race. Posted on 10 Jan
Neil Mallard - A personal tribute
Bob Fisher details a career in journalism and sailing Neil Mallard died three days short of his 87th Birthday. A career in journalism began with the Wembley News in 1946 and was interrupted by National Service two years later. Posted on 6 Jan
Dennis Skillicorn passes away
A life in sailing and BBC broadcasting Broadcaster Dennis Skillicorn was the first journalist to be embedded on a round the world race yacht, bringing alive the trials, triumphs and tribulations of watch routines and rushing downwind through plumes of spray. Posted on 4 Jan
YJA Young Bloggers Competition
Looking for a first break in yachting journalism? Looking for a first break in yachting journalism? Are you under 21? Here's a golden opportunity to get your work published... and noticed by leading editors and producers across the Globe. Posted on 27 Sep 2017
YJA Nominations Open
For Yachtsman of the Year and Young Sailor of the Year Nominations for the 2017 YJA Yachtsman of the Year Awards open today to start the selection process of finding Britain's top Yachtsman and Young Sailor of the Year. Posted on 15 Sep 2017 Special Award for Sparky
Britain's former Olympic sailing coach Stephen 'Sparky' Park has been presented with a Special Award for services to the sport of sailing. The award was presented by Barry Pickthall, Chairman of the Yachting Journalists' Association and former Chairman Bob Fisher. Posted on 6 Apr 2017