Please select your home edition
Leaderboard FD July August September 2023

The Cruising Club of America names Kirsten Neuschäfer winner of Blue Water Medal

by Cruising Club of America 3 Jan 13:03 GMT
Self portrait at sea at the back of her 36-foot sloop, Minnehaha © GGR2022 / Kirsten Neuschäfer

Kirsten Neuschäfer, of Port Elizabeth, South Africa, is awarded the Blue Water Medal for 2023 in recognition of the tremendous effort, determination, and skill she exhibited during her 235-day solo circumnavigation in Minnehaha, a Cape George 36 sailboat.

Out of 17 starters, she was first among only three finishers of the Golden Globe Race; this singlehanded race around the world limits competitors to using sailboats and technology that was available when the first race was held, in 1968.

The Blue Water Medal was originated by the founding members of the Cruising Club of America (CCA) and first awarded 100 years ago to "reward examples of meritorious seamanship and adventure upon the sea, displayed by amateur sailors of all nationalities..." In her comprehensive preparation for the race and her determined persistence throughout the eight-month marathon, Neuschäfer demonstrated she belongs on the very distinguished list of previous medalists including previous Golden Globe winners Sir Robin Knox-Johnston and Jean-Luc Van Den Heede. She also takes her place alongside other solo circumnavigators such as Sir Francis Chichester and Bernard Moitessier.

As an example of her determination, during one week in January while crossing the Southern Ocean, Neuschäfer spent several hours scraping speed-robbing barnacles off the bottom of her boat. She reported to race headquarters, "I discovered that the port side was like a reef: old barnacles and millions of new ones. Thankfully the starboard side was not that bad. I spent several hours cleaning ¾ of the hull so far with the scraper. It was cold, exhausting, but very gratifying to watch clusters of millions of tiny barnacles sink into the deep!

In winning what was only the third Golden Globe Race held, Neuschäfer became the first woman to win the race, and the first woman to win any singlehanded race around the world. Along the way, she also stopped competing temporarily to rescue fellow competitor Tapio Lehtinen after his boat sank; she helped him safely aboard a passing ship and then continued the race. (Neuschäfer received the CCA's Stephens Seamanship Trophy last year for making that rescue.)

When she learned of her selection as Blue Water Medal winner, Neuschäfer said, "I was already so incredibly honored to receive the Rod Stephens Award. Now I am again so honored as to be receiving the Blue Water Medal from the CCA! This is an honor I never dreamed of—a medal, which in my mind is due only to the caliber of the most legendary of sailors, such as Sir Robin Knox Johnston and Moitessier themselves. I am truly humbled!"

When she finished the Golden Globe last April, Neuschäfer was still ready to go. She said, at the time, "You know, I've still got plenty of food and water. I'm still enjoying myself. I'd have no issue to just keep sailing." We believe she will continue to do that and continue to set an example for all sailors, women and men.

"She is the real deal—a sailor who stands out in a crowd of historic sailors," said CCA Commodore Chris Otorowski. "We are proud to be able to award the Blue Water Medal to her."

The CCA will present the 2023 Blue Water Medal to Kirsten Neuschäfer in person at its annual awards event on March 1, 2024 in New York City.

Related Articles

Change of watch at the Cruising Club of America
John “Jay” Gowell and Chace Anderson elected Commodore and Vice-Commodore of 102-year-old club The Cruising Club of America (CCA) installed new flag officers and governors at its annual meeting in March. John "Jay" Gowell, of Jamestown, R.I., took the helm as Commodore of the Club, succeeding Chris Otorowski, of Seattle. Posted on 29 Apr
Cruising Club of America Awards at NYYC
Highlighted by Blue Water Medal presentation to Kirsten Neuschäfer The 2023 Cruising Club of America (CCA) awards ceremony was held at the New York Yacht Club on Friday, March 1, highlighted by the presentation of the Blue Water Medal to solo round-the-world sailor Kirsten Neuschäfer. Posted on 12 Mar
2024 Northeast Ocean Race Symposium
A quick reminder to register before January 15 The 2024 version of the Northeast Ocean Race Symposium is returning on March 16, 2024, at the same location at Bentley University. Posted on 12 Jan
2023 Cruising Club of America Awards announced
Blue Water Medal goes to Kirsten Neuschäfer The announcement by the Cruising Club of America (CCA) of the Blue Water Medal winner and other awards for adventurous use of the seas has taken place nearly every year since the Club was founded in 1923. Posted on 3 Jan
Max Campbell receives Young Voyager Award
A young man set out to sea, searching for adventure, and found a way of life The Cruising Club of America (CCA) has named Max Campbell, of Falmouth, UK, as the recipient of the 2023 Young Voyager Award. The award recognizes "a young sailor who has made one or more exceptional voyages." Posted on 3 Jan
Viking Route Across the Atlantic sailing guide
Created by members of the Cruising Club of America The CCA Essential Passage Guide to the Viking Route, created by members of the Cruising Club of America, provides mission-critical information for the high-latitude crossing between the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Greenland, and Newfoundland. Posted on 7 Jul 2023
2023 Marion Bermuda Race wrap-up
Not for the faint of heart The fleet saw conditions ranging from fast-moving squalls to completely still air; the mostly light winds tested both patience and skill for the 32 skippers and their crew that set sail on June 16th from Buzzards Bay in Marion, Massachusetts. Posted on 26 Jun 2023
Richard Moody's Boudicca Wins Line Honors
Finishing n the early morning light on Monday in the 2023 Marion Bermuda Race In the early morning light on Monday, Richard Moody's Boudicca crossed the Marion Bermuda Race finish line off of St. David's Lighthouse, having sailed a total of 705 miles in just 2 days, 17 hours, 26 minutes, 27 seconds. Posted on 19 Jun 2023
2023 Marion Bermuda Race day 1
The fleet sets sail from just off Marion, Massachusetts Beneath sunny skies and a light breeze, the 32-boat fleet in the 2023 Marion Bermuda Race set sail from just off Marion, Massachusetts on Friday, June 16th. Posted on 17 Jun 2023
Marion Bermuda Race: Weather in the Gulf Stream
W. Frank Bohlen has prepared two documents ahead of the race W. Frank Bohlen, from UConn's Marine Sciences Program, has prepared two documents ahead of the Marion Bermuda Race in regards to the Gulf Stream. Posted on 25 May 2023