Please select your home edition
Sea Sure 2021 - RED - LEADERBOARD

The Rag's wild ride to 18ft Skiff victory

by Frank Quealey 2 Jan 06:00 GMT

Harry Price's talent was obvious before he came into the 18s this season as skipper for the long-term sponsor Rag & Famish Hotel, but it's still hard not to be surprised by just how quickly the level of his and his team's ability has been highlighted under very difficult conditions.

The Rag & Famish Hotel team's high standards already achieved were never more evident than during the recent Race 5 of the NSW Championship when the 'rookie 18s' team powered to victory while many experienced teams capsized or retired.

A severe storm hit Sydney on the afternoon of Sunday, December 19, causing major damage across the city, and produced extreme conditions for the teams competing mid-way through the Australian 18 Footer League's race.

The young Rag & Famish Hotel team was one of only a few which survived (without a capsize) when a 25-30 knot squall battered the race course as the fleet was racing downwind on the long leg from Kurraba Point on the northern side of the harbour to the Rose Bay bottom mark in the south.

The official result gave the race to Rag & Famish Hotel by 1m43s from the current JJ Giltinan world 18ft skiff champion Michael Coxon, and his Smeg team.

Current NSW Championship leader, John Winning's Yandoo had led the race to the top mark at Kurraba Point but Michael Coxon's Smeg was only metres behind Yandoo as the pair began a short, but incredibly exciting, spinnaker dash at the peak of the squall.

While many Sydney residents suffered damage in the storm, spectators onboard the League's spectator ferry were treated to a close-up look (just metres from the ferry) at action-packed, high-speed 18ft Skiff racing by some of the world's most talented skiff sailors.

Unfortunately for both the Yandoo and Smeg teams their flying spinnaker runs each ended in capsize only metres apart in the middle of Sydney Harbour.

Each crew could then do little but watch as the then third-placed Rag & Famish Hotel sped past them to ultimately go on and win the race.

It was an amazing result for the Rag & Famish Hotel team of Harry Price, Angus Williams and Harry Hall, but the trio is certainly not new to success as a combination, having won the 2018 Governor's Cup international youth match racing championship together in California.

(A sidelight to the action on December 19 was the fact that New Zealand's Olympic sailor, Leonard Takahashi, skipper of the team Price defeated in the 2018 Governor's Cup final, was a competitor in the race as a replacement crew member on the third placed Noakesailing)

The Rag's victory was made more impressive as Harry Price was having only his first race back in the boat after missing the previous three races following a dislocated shoulder suffered earlier in the season.

Josh McKnight, a regular crew member on The Rag, had been standing in as skipper for Harry during his injury, but was missing on the day of the wild ride due to another commitment related to the Sydney-Hobart race.

Other teams to successfully ride out the squall on the wild ride across the harbour were Noakesailing (Josh Porebski), Burrawang-Young Henrys (Simon Nearn), Fisher & Paykel (Jordan Girdis) and Shaw and Partners Financial Services (Steve Thomas).

With three races in the championship still to be sailed, the progress point scores, after each team's worst performance so far is discarded, have Yandoo in the lead with a total of 8 points, followed by Tech2 on 9, Noakesailing on 10, Fisher & Paykel 20, Shaw and Partners Financial Services 21 and Rag & Famish Hotel on 24 points.

Racing at the Australian 18 Footers League is in recess over the Christmas-New Year holiday period and will return on January 16 with Race 6 of the NSW Championship.

Spectators can follow the race on board the club's spectator ferry, however due to the Covid policy, numbers are limited. Booking online through the club's website is essential.

For those unable to make it out onto the water, the club's live broadcast team will be on Sydney Harbour to capture all the action. Live streaming is available at by clicking on the '18 Footers TV' link.

Related Articles

18ft Skiffs: Gambling on the 18s
A unique part of the sport has been the gambling which has gone hand-in-hand with the sailing The nature of the boats and the men who have sailed them over the past 130 years always made 18-footer racing unique in the sailing/yachting world and one of the unique parts of the sport has been the gambling which has gone hand-in-hand with the sport. Posted on 11 May
Myra Too & Bill Barnett
Two great 18-footer champions Champion 18 footer skipper, designer and boat builder Bill Barnett won the 1948-49 Australian Championship on Sydney Harbour in a 6ft beam boat he designed and built himself, named Myra. Posted on 4 May
Christophe Favreau loves the 18ft Skiffs
French photographer made it down under to cover the world's biggest annual 18 footer event Christophe Favreau believed that he probably wasn't going to make it to Sydney for the JJ Giltinan 18 footer Championship in 2022 because of the Covid restrictions, which were being placed on international arrivals into Australia at that time. Posted on 27 Apr
18ft Skiffs: William 'Bill' Fisher
Master boat builder, champion skipper William 'Bill' Fisher was a foundation member of the League and sailed his boat Australia in the club's first. Posted on 17 Apr
The 2021-22 League 18 Footer Season review
A very successful racing season has come to an end When the Smeg team with Charmaine Hill on board won last Sunday-week's Queen of the Harbour race on Sydney Harbour, it brought a very successful Australian 18 Footers League 2021-22 racing season to an end. Posted on 30 Mar
1995 UK 18ft Skiff Grand Prix at Torquay
Watch this blast from the past with some legendary sailors Back when the 18ft Skiffs were new to the UK, the UK Grand Prix attracted sailors such as Lawrie Smith, Tim Robinson, Dave Ovington, Ian Southworth and Dave Hall. Gareth Evans presents with commentary by Malcolm McKeag. Posted on 25 Mar
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour 2022
Charmaine Hill wins after teaming up with Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge and Zac Barnabas in Smeg Charmaine Hill is the 2022 Queen of the Harbour after teaming with Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge and Zac Barnabas in Smeg to win the Australian 18 Footers League's annual 18ft skiff race on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 20 Mar
18ft Skiff: 'Queen of the Harbour' Race history
The race started in 1936 and was originally known as Queen of the Waves The Australian 18 Footers League's 2021-22 season comes to a close on Sunday when the club will conduct the time-honoured Queen of the Harbour race on Sydney Harbour, when each of the 21-boat fleet will include a female crew member as part of the team. Posted on 17 Mar
18ft Skiff 2022 JJ Giltinan Championship Race 9
The Andoo team of Seve Jarvin, Matt Stenta and Sam Newton officially win The Andoo team of Seve Jarvin, Matt Stenta and Sam Newton officially became the 2022 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff champion, although it was in an unbeatable position before going into today's final race of the championship on Sydney Harbour. Posted on 13 Mar
18ft Skiffs: JJ Giltinan Trophy - Race 9 coverage
The live coverage of Race 9 in the JJ Giltinan 18ft World Championship starts at 2:20pm (Sydney) The Livestream coverage of Race 9 in the JJ Giltinan 18ft World Championship starts at 2:20pm (Sydney time), and the on the water commentary starts at 2:30 featuring Andrew Buckland, Peter Shipway and Jim Bury from SailMedia. Posted on 12 Mar