Please select your home edition
Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club LEADERBOARD

Final day at the EFPT Theologos 2021

by EFPT 12 Sep 2021 12:36 BST 8-12 September 2021
Vrieswijk claims his victory - 2021 EFPT Theologos © PROtography Official

Finals day at the EFPT Theologos 2021! With conditions forecasted to be similar to the day before it was clear that a good show was cooking up.

What was on the menu? Finishing the Men's double elimination and if possible run another single elimination for the Women's and Junior's. In the end it was Amado Vrieswijk (FutureFly/Severne) who claimed the victory, but it was not easy for him as another rider was storming up the ladder to challenge him in the final...

The day started with an attempt at running another single elimination for the Junior's. With the wind picking up later than expected they were on standby for a while. When the youngsters finally got started it was immediately clear that the conditions were still too light. Even though Primus Sörling (Starboard/Severne) caused quite an upset, defeating Tigo Kort (JP/NeilPryde), the results were abandoned and the Juniors went back on standby. Half an hour later they were released for the day as the racing team prioritised the Men's division which had no double elimination result yet.

At 15.15 local time the conditions were finally sufficient for the ultimate showdown of freestyle windsurfing. Antoine Albert (Goya) went out first to test the conditions, and after returning to the beach to take a smaller sail the green light was given for the start of his heat against Sam Esteve (JP/NeilPryde). With a Kabikuchi on each tack, the New Caledonian took out Esteve and advanced to the next heat. In the other heats of this round it was Lennart Neubauer (Starboard/Severne) who stopped Matteo Testa's impressive progression through the double elimination, and Gollito Estredo who took out an otherwise on form Youp Schmidt. In the final heat of the top 12, Yentel Caers (JP/NeilPryde) swiftly took care of Marco Vinante (JP/Point-7) in what was the beginning of a very long day for the Belgian.

Caers went on a rampage through the field taking out the likes of Gollito Estredo (in a very close heat) and Lennart Neubauer. Due to technical difficulties with the scoring system, he then had to sail his heat against Dieter van der Eyken (Severne) twice. Coming out on top once again, it was up to Steven van Broeckhoven (Starboard/Gun Sails) to defend his podium position. In a close matchup, Yentel had to put down one of the highest heat scores of the event to advance once again. Having seen what Caers was up to, Jacopo Testa (AV-Boards/Point-7), who was defending his second spot, had to go all out. With a massive one handed Pasko, a variation on the move we don't see often, the Italian made his final stand. The two riders were so focused that at some point they almost crashed into each other while exchanging moves. Nevertheless, Caers defeated Testa and went on to the final with Amado Vrieswijk.

With 7 heats under his belt already, Yentel's exhaustion was starting to emerge. It also did not help that the fresh Amado already got up to 40 points within the first 3 minutes of his heat. Although the Belgian defended really well on his incoming moves it was the big jumps where Vrieswijk dominated. Yentel finished his heat with a double Forward Loop attempt, hoping to catch up, but unfortunately crashes. In the end it was the Bonaireian who defended his first position, relieving Caers from having to sail another heat in the super final. Amado Vrieswijk wins the double elimination, and the event, in a spectacular fashion.

As the Men's final progressed, the Women sailed another single elimination. The final result did not differ from the result of the double elimination, but it was great to see the girls improving in these difficult conditions, with Sterre Meijer (Severne) making Hanna Poschinger's (Starboard/Severne) life a lot harder in the small final. Maaike Huvermann (Severne) took the win once again with Olya Raskina (JP/NeilPryde) holding onto her second position.

Depending on the conditions, the last day will hopefully be filled with either the second double elimination for the Women or second single elimination for the Juniors. Furthermore there will be a signing session with the top riders and at 20.00 in the evening there will be an official prize-giving ceremony.

Final Results Men's Double Elimination:

1 Amado Vrieswijk
2 Yentel Caers
3 Jacopo Testa
4 Steven Van Broeckhoven
5 Dieter Van der Eyken
6 Lennart Neubauer
7 Gollito Estredo Perez
7 Antoine Albert
9 Youp Schmit
9 Sam Esteve
9 Marco Vinante
9 Matteo Testa
13 Felix Volkhardt
13 Julian Wiemar
13 Yegor Popretinskiy
13 Bodhi Kempen
17 Giovanni Passani
17 Eugenio Marconi
17 Taty Frans
17 Dudu Levi
17 Ilay Bamnolker
17 Manolis Chrysopoulos
17 Tony Mottus
17 Antonio Forssell Doukellis
25 Paul Simmerl
25 Tigo Kort
25 Maurizio Moritz
25 Alexandr Sorokin
25 Marc Pesman
25 George Grisley
25 Vladimir Yakovlev
25 Raphael Bauer
33 Lukas Schill

Results Women's second Single Elimination:

1. Maaike Huvermann
2. Olya Raskina
3. Hanna Poschinger
4. Sterre Meijer
5. Olga Pytharouli

Related Articles

2023 PWA IWT Unified Wave Tour
The biggest wave tour calendar in windsurfing history With over 40 events, across 30 countries, the 2023 PWA IWT Unified Wave Tour will create the largest single coordinated tour of windsurfing wave events, since humankind first put sail to board and took to the oceans! Posted today at 11:52 am
FPT Awards public vote finals are on now
Help us decide the best move of 2022 for both men and women The culmination of the 2022 FPT Awards is approaching steadily! On the 31st of January at 20:00 CET we will celebrate the best that Freestyle Windsurfing had on offer in 2022. Posted on 26 Jan
Cape Town Freestyle Pro Tour season kicks off
The waiting period is running, and the first possible action might be this Thursday already! The waiting period is ON! In the upcoming week our crew in Cape Town is studying the forecasts meticulously to run the first ever Freestyle Pro Tour event in South Africa. Posted on 25 Jan
Help decide the winner of the 2022 FPT Awards
It's time for you to get involved! It's time for you to get involved! As part of the 2022 FPT Awards, the best move category for both the men and women will be influenced by the public. Posted on 21 Jan
Burton Blizzard 2023
Hardy sailors and windsurfers rock up for Midlands Mini Series Round 1 Burton Sailing Club brought in the new year by hosting the first of the Midlands Mini Series, The Burton Blizzard. Posted on 18 Jan
2023 Freestyle Pro Tour Calendar Announcement
20 years, 20 events, 2023 Freestyle Pro Tour The Freestyle Pro Tour is excited to announce the official 2023 event calendar for it's 20th year anniversary. Posted on 15 Jan
The Unified PWA IWT Wave Tour
Together they will crown the 2023 Wave World Champions The PWA (Professional Windsurfing Association) and IWT (International Windsurfing Tour) unite in a groundbreaking move that will create the greatest wave sailing tour in the 50 year history of the sport. Posted on 11 Jan
The latest Freestyle Pro Tour features
Catch up with the latest in the Freestyle Windsurfing world! In this newsletter we'll get you up to speed with the best action clips from December, catch up with Adrien Bosson about his newest video NOVEMBRE and share a couple of exciting dates related to our 2023 calendar as well as the FPT Awards. Posted on 10 Jan
Last call for 2022 FPT Awards submissions!
Send in your best clips! You've got one more day to show us your best 2022 moves to become part of the award show that celebrates the best our sport has to offer. Posted on 31 Dec 2022
The best freestylers share their thoughts
About their 2022 Freestyle Pro Tour journey As the year comes to an end, we caught up with the best freestyle windsurfers who managed to obtain a podium place on the 2022 Freestyle Pro Tour. Posted on 30 Dec 2022