Please select your home edition
Craftinsure 2021 - LEADERBOARD

18ft Skiff Club Championship on Sydney Harbour - Race 1

by Frank Quealey 25 Oct 2020 08:45 GMT 25 October 2020

The Australian champion tech2 team of Jack Macartney, Charlie Wyatt and Lewis Brake mastered the 25-knot Southerly wind, which battered the 18ft Skiff fleet, to score a brilliant victory in Race 1 of the Australian 18 Footers League Club Championship on Sydney Harbour today.

After trailing the early leader Winning Group (Will Phillips, Seve Jarvin, Sam Phillips) over the first two legs of the course, tech2 took control of the race before crossing the finish line in what may be record time for the long Southerly course.

Winning Group capsized while tacking on the windward leg into Rose Bay but the talented young crew recovered well to finish the race in second place, 4m20s behind the winner.

With tech2 dominating the race, there was great interest in the battle for the next four placings.

The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Aron Everett, Courtney Mahar, Charlie Gundy) challenged Winning Group, for second place, over the final lap of the course, but had to be satisfied with third placing 19s behind Winning Group.

Smeg, skippered by former Giltinan world champion Michael Coxon, tacked soon after the start and was pressing strongly for the lead as the fleet approached the first windward mark off Clark Island before the team suffered the first of three capsizes during the race.

Winning Group led Bird & Bear (Tom Clout), Noakesailing (Sean Langman) and Andoo (Marcus Ashley-Jones) as the fleet 'took-off' on a long, wild spinnaker run from Clark Island to Obelisk Bay.

tech2 had gybed earlier in the run and gained on the leader as the fleet raced at top speed ahead of the 25-knot Southerly wind.

After Winning Group capsized in Rose Bay on the first lap of the course, Shaw & Partners Financial Services (Dave O'Connor) grabbed second place just ahead of Bird & Bear, followed by The Oak Double Bay-4Pines, Finport Finance (Keagan York), the recovering Winning Group and (Simon Nearn).

Over the next lap of the course the race amongst this group was absorbing and exciting as the placings changed regularly in the tough conditions.

The second spinnaker run from Clark Island to Obelisk Bay was just as brilliant as the first as the skiffs still left afloat were 'flying'.

Winning Group's recovery had been impressive as the team narrowly took second place away from The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines at the Shark Island mark in Rose Bay.

Bird & Bear's jib carried away and the skiff was forced to retire.

Finport Finance came home in fourth place, followed by Shaw & Partners Financial Services and Andoo.

Race 1 Results:

PosBoat NameFinishElaspedHandicapCorrectedCorrected Pos
1Tech2 (Jack Macartney / Charlie Wyatt / Lewis Brake)16:01:3101:10:31001:10:312
2Winning Group (Will Phillips Seve Jarvin / Sam Newton)16:05:5101:14:51201:12:514
3The Oak Double Bay / 4 Pines (Aron Everett / Courtney Mahar / Charlie Gundy)16:06:1001:15:10501:10:101
4Finport Finance / Breene & Breene Solicitors (Keagan York / Rory Cox / Phil Marshal)16:06:2401:15:24301:12:243
5Shaw & Partners Financial Services (Dave OConnor / Harry Bethwaite / Shaun Conner)16:09:0501:18:05401:14:055
6Andoo (Marcus Ashley Jones / Cam Gundy / Jeronimo Harrison)16:15:3801:24:38501:19:388 (Simon Nearn / Beau Junk / Cameron McDonald)16:16:3801:25:38801:17:386
8Yandoo (John Winning Snr / Jasper Warren / Mike Kennedy)16:17:2201:26:22801:18:227
9Smeg (Michael Coxon Jnr / Ricky Bridge / Trent Barnabas)16:23:4601:32:46401:28:469
DNCBirkenhead Point Marina (Tim Westwood / Andrew Iles / Ben Psaltis)     
DNCVintec (Tom Cunich / Alex Marinelli / Flynn Twomey)     
DNFBird and Bear (James Dorrpn / Tom Clout / John Walton)     
DNFLazarus Capital Partners (Lachlan Steel / Jerome Watts / Matt Doyle)     
DNFIlve (Pedro Vozone / Josh Marks / Otis Myles‑Malone)     
DNFNoakes Blue (Yvette Heritage / James Turner / Nathan Edwards)     
DNFNoakesailing (Sean Langman / Ed Powys / Josh Porebski)     
DNFRag & Famish Hotel (Anthony Young / Dan Phillips / Pere Nicholson) (Jordan Girdis / Lachlan Doyle / Tom Quigley)     

Race 4 of the Spring Championship series will be conducted next Sunday, November 1.

Spectators can follow the racing on board the club's spectator ferry, however due to the COVID-19 policy, numbers are limited.

Booking online through the club's website is essential. See

Related Articles

Record Breaking Boat, Record Breaking Team
Michael Walsh, Phil Barnett and Neil Paton: an intriguing story of boat and skipper When Michael Walsh, Phil Barnett and Neil Paton teamed in the 18ft Skiff Prudential and won the 1989 JJ Giltinan on Sydney Harbour, they equalled the 1981 record set by the legendary Color 7 team of Iain Murray, Andrew Buckland and Don Buckley. Posted on 6 May
Smeg: 25 Years of Champion Sponsorship
2021 JJ Giltinan win a fitting reward to another long-term sponsor Whether it's a high-performance sport or a small, local sporting club, to be successful, the organisation needs the support of commercial sponsorship or, at least, one major benefactor. Posted on 2 May
Live the dream - Sail an 18 Footer
Now more than ever is the time to get involved in sailing an 18' skiff The boats, crews, and sponsors for next season are already mostly in place. Planning and organising pre-season is no trivial task, but interest is high and we are in a great position to make next season the best yet. Posted on 1 May
18ft Skiffs: Julian Bethwaite, Did It All
An incredible record of achievement as a designer, builder and competitor Julian Bethwaite has an incredible record of achievement in 18ft Skiff Racing as a designer, builder and competitor in both the northern and southern hemispheres. Posted on 21 Apr
Bob Holmes, a truly great champion
Five times JJ Giltinan world champion and five times Australian champion The recent death of Robert Joseph (Bob) Holmes was the passing of one of the truly great Australian 18ft Skiff champions. Bob was five times JJ Giltinan world champion and five times Australian champion over a ten year career in the class. Posted on 8 Apr
Ian Humphries views on 18ft Skiff
Still the most spectacular fleet on the Harbour I loved John Curnow's article on the 18s last week with the spotlight on Michael Coxon. I agree the 18s are still the most spectacular fleet on the Harbour too. Posted on 2 Apr
Whispering Jack
Unabashedly, this title does refer to the Aussie singing icon, John Farnham Unabashedly, this title does wholeheartedly refer to the Aussie singing icon, John Farnham. Not that our subject does in any way whatsoever warble in the same category. Posted on 22 Mar
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour
Tatiana Cardoso crowned in the annual event on Sydney Harbour In a thrilling finish, Tatiana Cardoso became the 18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour when The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone team of Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle and Cameron McDonald came back strongly over the final lap of the course. Posted on 21 Mar
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour preview
One of the most important events for the Australian 18 Footers League The annual Queen of the Harbour (originally known as the 'Queen of the Waves') is one of the most important events to the Australian 18 Footers League and has a history almost as long as the League itself. Posted on 17 Mar
2021 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship overall
More than enough interest to entertain the spectators on the final day The Smeg team of Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge and Trent Barnabas was unbeatable for the title of 2021 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff champion after yesterday's Race 8 of the championship Posted on 14 Mar