Please select your home edition
MS Amlin 2019 - 728x90
Boat Insurance from Noble Marine

Full racing risks
New for old cover
Product Feature
Gul Code Zero Longjohn & Longjane
Gul Code Zero Longjohn & Longjane

18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship - Race 8

by Frank Quealey 9 Mar 08:59 GMT 1-10 March 2019

The New Zealand champion ASCC team of Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson, Dave Hazard, produced a brilliant performance to win Race 8 of the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour.

Despite the brilliance of the ASCC victory, the defending champion Honda Marine team (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven, Brad Collins) sealed the overall championship victory with an amazing 17 points (15 points, net) from the eight races sailed to date.

ASCC won the start and quickly dominated the fleet, in the light South wind, to lead by 45s after a short beat across the harbour to the windward mark off Clark Island.

The skill of the ASCC team was on display throughout the race as each challenge was repelled before ASCC crossed the finish line 2m3s ahead of Honda Marine, with Finport Finance (Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Charlie Gundy) just 6s further back in third place.

The consistent Winning Group (John Winning Jr.) finished in fourth place, followed by the Australian champion Asko Appliances (James Dorron), and Smeg (Michael Coxon).

With only tomorrow's race still to be sailed to complete the championship, Honda Marine leads with a net 15 points, followed by Winning Group on 22, Smeg on 25, ASCC 31, Asko Appliances 32, and Finport Finance on 53 points.

ASCC maintained the lead on the long spinnaker run to the Obelisk Bay mark, ahead of Honda Marine, Asko Appliances, Finport Finance, Winning Group, C-Tech (Alex Vallings), Vintec (Kirk Mitchell), Birkenhead Point Marina (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Brisbane 18s (Dave Hayter).

The long work back from Obelisk to Rose Bay produced a close battle in the leading group but the ASCC crew were always in control and maintained a 40s advantage over Honda Marine. Finport Finance was now in third place, however Finport was more than 2m behind the leader.

Positions at the front of the fleet didn't change over the next two legs of the course before Finport Finance made a move which saw her trail ASCC by just a couple of boat-lengths on the second run to Obelisk.

Once again the skills of the ASCC crew was evident as they held off both Finport Finance and Honda Marine and still led by 15s after the fleet reached the Rose Bay mark.

The battle between Honda Marine and Finport Finance continued over the final two legs of the course but ASCC was in a race of her own as she powered away for a great victory.

Early wind predictions for tomorrow are for 18-20 knot NE winds which should some of the most spectacular racing of the entire championship.

The Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship concludes tomorrow, Sunday, March 10.

Results after Eight Races: (One Discard)

2Winning Group (JOHN WINNING Jr / SEVE JARVIN / SAM NEWTON)3342633422
6Finport Finance (KEAGAN YORK / MATT STENTA / CHARLIE GUNDY)9851110823354
10The Oak Double Bay / 4 Pines (ARON EVERETT / COURTNEY MAHAR / HARRY HALL)137119813161273
12Noakesailing (SEAN LANGMAN / ED POWYS / NATHAN EDWARDS)1711912414132080 (JORDAN GIRDIS / TOM QUIGLEY / LACHLAN DOYLE)1014151754172282
15Maersk Line (PERON PEARSE / HARRY CLARK / ELI LIEFTING)262217822761597
16Birkenhead Point Marina (TOM ANDERSON / NICK DALY / JOHN WALTON)6122626141614997
17Rag & Famish Hotel (BRYCE EDWARDS / JACOB BROOM / RORY COX)12131920169102699
18RMarine Pittwater (SIMON NEARN / ALEX GOUGH / BRANDON BUYNIK)20514222120198107
19Marinepool (HEINRICH BAYERN / TOM MARTIN / ANDY MARTIN)161616182323517111
20Ilve (JONO WHITTY / PEDRO VOZONE / MUSTAFA INGHAM)1521261612102521120
21Black Dog (JARROD SIMPSON / CAM MCDONALD / NICK MURRAY)2218221319221216122
22Brisbane18Footer (DAVID HAYTER / ALEX WATSON / ELLIOTT MAHAR)2419201426251118131
23Lumix (KATIE LOVE / CHAD FREITAS / MATT DOYLE)2324181015192423132
24Dal Zotto (JACK SPRAGUE / TIM NARBOROUGH / JOSH FELDMAN)1823211926241819142
25Quality Marine Clothing (YVETTE HERITAGE / MARK MUIRHEAD / DANIEL McLACHLAN)1920232320211924145

The club will have two spectator ferries following the racing.

The ferries will be leaving Double Bay Public Wharf.

Those wanting to go on the ferries to view the racing should make sure they don't leave it too late to purchase their tickets.

For those who can't make it onto the water Live streaming is available on 18FootersTV.

Related Articles

18ft Skiff Spring Championship Race 2
Another brilliant exhibition from the Noakesailing 18ft Skiff team The Noakesailing 18ft Skiff team of Sean Langman, Ed Powys and Nathan Edwards produced another brilliant exhibition to score their second consecutive win in Race 2 of the Australian 18 Footers League's Spring Championship on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 20 Oct
The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone set for big season
Off to an impressive start in Sydney Harbour Since the young The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone team of Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle and Tom Quigley came together last year, their progress in the highly-competitive Australian 18 Footers League fleet has been spectacular Posted on 18 Oct
Latest high performance sailing film
The 18ft Skiff class has always been a passion for Hartas Productions The 18ft Skiff class has always been a passion for Hartas Productions, with our director, Ollie, steering and in Sydney for six consecutive seasons, helming the now famous ILVE Silver Bullet!. Posted on 15 Oct
18ft Skiff Spring Championship Race 1
The Noakesailing team come from behind over the final lap The Noakesailing team of Sean Langman, Ed Powys and Nathan Edwards had to come from behind over the final lap of the course to grab a narrow victory in Race 1 of the Australian 18 Footers League's Spring Championship on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 13 Oct
Livestreaming 18ft Skiff Racing on Sydney Harbour
Viewers around the world taken up close to the racing Livestreaming of 18ft Skiff Racing on Sydney Harbour reached a new high during the 2018-2019 Australian Season when the talented video team produced sensational coverage of all local club events and every race of the JJ Giltinan (world) Championship. Posted on 11 Oct
18ft Skiffs: New Noakes Blue Team
Noakes Blue becomes Sean Langman's latest team in the 18s When Yvette Heritage and her Noakes Blue 18ft Skiff team line up next Sunday (October 13) for the opening race of the Australian 18 Footers League's 2019-2020 Season Posted on 7 Oct
Going really quickly in big boats
And then there were four - and they are pretty different too And then there were four. And they are pretty different too. They are a little like two pairs, if cards are your thing, but by the time the second hulls appear, you wonder Posted on 6 Oct
Australian 18 Footers League Season Preview
Spring Championship starts on 13th October The Australian 18 Footers League's 85th season of continuous 18ft Skiff Racing on Sydney Harbour will commence on Sunday, October 13 when 17 of the world's fastest racing boats will line up to contest Race 1 of the 2019 Spring Championship. Posted on 27 Sep
18ft Skiffs at Calshot
Allspars Solent Grand Prix Series & European Grand Prix Series Finale Crews have just about got over the aches and pains after this weekend's skiff racing at Calshot, Solent. Three days of racing were planned with a strengthened fleet of skiffs from travelling European boats. Posted on 26 Sep
Getting serious
As American Magic get their initial AC75 up and foiling first over the Defenders... As American Magic get their initial AC75 up and foiling first over the Defenders, a vessel known as K8 sat in the pond at the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia. Posted on 22 Sep