Please select your home edition
RS Sailing 2019 - Leaderboard
Product Feature
Zhik Men's Superwarm X Skiff Suit
Zhik Men's Superwarm X Skiff Suit
Boat Insurance from Noble Marine

Full racing risks
New for old cover

18ft Skiff Australian Championship on Sydney Harbour - Day 4

by Frank Quealey 10 Feb 08:40 GMT 10 February 2019

The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone and Bing Lee teams shared the spoils of victory in the two races sailed on Day 4 of the Australian 18ft Skiff Championship, on Sydney Harbour today, but Asko Appliances holds the barest of leads going into next Sunday's final two races of the championship.

Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle and Tom Quigley sailed superbly to take out Race 6 of the championship in The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone, then went down by just 6 seconds to Bing Lee (Micah Lane, Peter Harris, Scott Babbage) in the following race.

NSW champion, Asko Appliances (James Dorron, Harry Bethwaite, Trent Barnabas) continued the consistency the team has shown throughout the championship to record a second, then third placing today, to hold a one point lead over the hard-charging The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone and Winning Group (John Winning Jr.).

Asko Appliances has a net total of 14 points, dfollowed by The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone and Winning Group on 15, Bing Lee on 17 and Smeg (Michael Coxon) on 18, and The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Aron Everett) on 27 points.

Today's first race was sailed over a three-lap windward-return course in a 10-12-knots SE breeze, then the following race was over two laps in a 6-7-knots Easterly breeze.

In Race 6, Winning Group held the early lead when she led narrowly from Smeg, The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone, Asko Appliances and (Brett Van Munster) at the windward mark.

Winning Group retained her narrow lead at the bottom mark but The Kitchen maker-Caesarstone was making a charge and soon grabbed the lead on the work back into the Rose Bay windward mark.

The young Kitchen Maker team led over the next lap of the course and only a brief loss of her lead on the final windward leg.

The final spinnaker run from Rose Bay to the finish in Taylor Bay produced an exciting battle between The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone and Asko Appliances.

The more experienced Asko team tried everything in an attemprt to grab a victory, and the pair gybed several times before The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone finally crossed the finish line with only 6s to spare.

Race looked likely to be another victory for Girdis and his Kitchen Maker team when the skiff hels a narrow lead over Bing Lee at the windward mark.

Another close spinnaker battle developed, but this time The Kitchen Maker lost out when the team lost wind off Steele Point and allowed three other teams to go ahead of them.

Winning Group were handicapped by a torn spinnaker but were still with the leading group which included Noakesailing (Sean Landman) and Smeg.

Bing Lee's team held a solid lead at the final windward mark but had to withstand a fast-finishing The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone to take the honours by 6 seconds - a similar winning margin to Race 6.

Race 7 Results:

PosBoat Name (Skipper)FinishElaspedHandicapCorrected
1Bing Lee (MICAH LANE)16:43:0600:30:06100:29:06 (JORDAN GIRDIS)16:43:1200:30:121.500:28:42
3ASKO Appliances (JAMES DORRON)16:43:2300:30:23100:29:23
4Smeg (MICHAEL COXON)16:43:5000:30:50000:30:50
5The Oak Double Bay / 4 Pines (ARON EVERETT)16:43:5100:30:51300:27:51
6Finport Finance (KEAGAN YORK)16:45:1200:32:121.500:30:42
7Noakesailing (SEAN LANGMAN)16:45:1600:32:163.500:28:46
8Winning Group (JOHN WINNING Jr)16:45:5200:32:521.500:31:22 (BRETT VAN MUNSTER)16:45:5700:32:57200:30:57
10Yandoo (JOHN WINNING)16:47:1600:34:163.500:30:46
11Rag & Famish Hotel (BRYCE EDWARDS)16:48:1300:35:13400:31:13
12Vintec (KIRK MITCHELL)16:48:4100:35:413.500:32:11
13Ilve (JONO WHITTY)16:49:3500:36:35500:31:35
14Birkenhead Point Marina (TOM ANDERSON)16:49:4000:36:402.500:34:10
15Quality Marine Clothing (YVETTE HERITAGE)16:50:0400:37:04500:32:04
16RMarine Pittwater (SIMON NEARN)16:54:0300:41:03400:37:03
17Lumix (KATIE LOVE)16:55:5400:42:54500:37:54

NOTE: The final two races of the Australian 18ft Skiff Championship will be sailed next Sunday, February 17. The Australian 18 Footers League's spectator ferry will be there to follow all the action. The ferry will leave Double Bay public wharf at 2pm

For those who can't make it onto the water, live streaming is available on 18FootersTV.

Related Articles

Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R3
Fleet into the groove for the season with some close racing The weekend saw the third round of the Allspars Solent Grand Prix Series which has kept the UK 18ft Skiffs busy and well trained for the first half of the season. Posted on 13 May
Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R2
Weather gods both kind and cruel to the U.K. The weather gods were both kind and cruel to the U.K. 18ft skiffs last weekend for the second round of the Allspars Solent Grand Prix Series. Posted on 27 Apr
Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R1
Two days of great racing from Calshot Last weekend, the U.K. 18ft Skiff fleet launched their 2019 season with two days of racing out of their base on the Solent. Posted on 5 Apr
Allspars sponsor 18ft Skiff Solent GP Series
UK 18ft Skiff fleet build on the success of the Calshot based 2018 events Allspars are delighted to announce that they will be sponsoring the UK 18ft Skiff Grand Prix fleet, for this year's Solent Grand Prix Series. Posted on 2 Apr
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour 2019
Corinne Feldman crowned in traditional Sydney skiff season closer Corinne Feldman today became the 2019 18ft Skiff Queen of Sydney Harbour when she teamed with Jack Sprague, Tim Narborough and her son, Josh Feldman on Dal Zotto to win the Australian 18 Footers League's time-honoured Queen of the Harbour race. Posted on 17 Mar
Buckland and McDiarmid reflect on JJ Giltinans
Seven times winner of the JJ's Andrew Buckland and Honda's David McDiarmid reflect on Kiwi dominance In the 2019 JJ Giltinan series NZ's Honda Marine won the JJ's with a race to spare and dominated the series with five wins from nine races, seven times winner Andrew Buckland, and winning skipper David McDiarmid looks at the reasons why. Posted on 13 Mar
Honda Marine go back to back with a race to spare
Successful JJ Giltinan defence capped off with a win in the final race The New Zealanders on Honda Marine, David McDiarmid, Matt Stevens and Brad Collins were formerly announced as back to back JJ Giltinan trophy winners in the 18ft Skiff after winning the championship with a day to spare. Posted on 12 Mar
18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship race 9
Honda Marine became the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan champions New Zealand's Honda Marine 18ft Skiff team of David McDiarmid, Matt Steven and Brad Collins became the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan champions today, when they successfully defended the title they won last year on Sydney Harbour. Posted on 10 Mar
18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship race 8
A brilliant performance by ASCC team The New Zealand champion ASCC team of Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson, Dave Hazard, produced a brilliant performance to win Race 8 of the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour. Posted on 9 Mar
JJ Giltinan proving to be a regatta for the ages
In Sydney, New Zealand's defence of the JJ Giltinan Championship is progressing well In Sydney, New Zealand's defence of the JJ Giltinan Championship is progressing well with two races left in the regatta. Posted on 8 Mar