Please select your home edition
Edition app (top)

Who will be crowned RYA Club of the Year 2013 at the RYA Dinghy Show?

by Emma Slater, RYA 15 Feb 2013 10:52 GMT 2 March 2013

On Saturday 2nd March the overall winner of the prestigious RYA Club of the Year Award 2013 will be announced at the RYA Dinghy Show.

The five shortlisted clubs will travel to the show held at Alexandra Palace, London to collect their finalist awards before the overall winner is announced by Skandia Team GBR's Kate Macgregor at 4:00pm on the Main Stage.

This year's five finalists are:

  • Felpham Sailing Club, West Sussex
  • Holywood Sailing Club, Co Down
  • Notts County Sailing Club, Nottinghamshire
  • Papercourt Sailing Club, Surrey
  • Staunton Harold Sailing Club, Derbyshire
The five clubs were selected by the RYA Honours and Awards Panel who judged them on how well they promote the sport, encourage people onto the water and make their activities varied and available to their community.

RYA Volunteer Development Officer Jackie Bennetts, who coordinates the awards comments: "We are delighted to announce the finalists for 2013 RYA Club of the Year Award which recognises and promotes the outstanding achievements of the people who work together to create vibrant clubs in the UK.

"Without the on-going support and commitment from individual members, clubs would not exist and certainly would not offer the range or quality of activities which is crucial to the continued success of both clubs and our sport".

For more information on the awards visit

To find out more about the show and to book your tickets visit or call the ticket hotline on 0844 811 0409.

Special thanks to Gallagher Heath Insurance Services who support the RYA Club of the Year Award.