Please select your home edition
Zhik 2024 March - LEADERBOARD
Product Feature
Allen Catamaran Mainsheet System
Allen Catamaran Mainsheet System

1,2 for S&S classics in West Mersea Yacht Club EAORA Buckley Goblets

by Paul Wood 26 Sep 2023 09:50 BST 22-24 September 2023

On Friday 22nd September at 7am, eight IRC yachts and one MOCRA Trimaran raced in the annual 90 mile race from West Mersea to Ostend. The Glass Goblets were first presented to the West Mersea Yacht Club in 1968 by J.C. Buckley.

It was agreed back then that minimum waterline length could be reduced from 24ft to 18ft so that smaller EAORA yachts were not debarred from the overall points series, obviously these days we have a different set of rules governing who can or cannot race EAORA.

Jon McColl with shockwave the Mocra Tri started at 7.10, this time with a couple of other Mocra owners onboard which is very encouraging for the growth of our Mocra Fleet for 2024.

Photos were soon out on social media showing a slow start with yachts under spinnaker amongst a very low cloud base. For most it was a fetch across the channel, but many yachts were caught in a wind free zone which made it challenging for trimmers and navigators heading towards the buoy called Twin just East of the Shipping lanes. Richard Matthews with Oystercatcher XXXV parked up for almost half an hour within this zone. But the wind soon filled in and they finished at 17.07 (UK time). Being the first boat to arrive they did however benefit from missing the thunder, lightning and squally conditions that the rest of the fleet endured just off the Belgium coast in the dark between 9pm & midnight.

Just after 2200 hours Will & Jenny Talyor-Jones onboard Sunstone the S&S 39 were greeted with a rapturous applause from the Royal North Sea Club. The race Committee and everyone who raced over on Oystercatcher XXXV were there on the Balcony, Richard Matthews had already figured out that they may had been beaten on handicap, Sunstone experienced a very warm EAORA welcome especially as they had Shockwave in tow.

All yachts arrived by midnight and the Royal Northsea Yacht Club kept the bar open to 1.30 so all competitors could share the experiences, drink beer, and compare stories of the closeness of the lightening strikes. As the competitors came up the stairs in the RNSYC they looked like "drowned rats sniffing out beer and food"

At the prize-giving the following day, it was confirmed that Will & Jenny Talyor-Jones with Sunstone from RHYC had won Class III the Lawson Trophy and Overall. Very popular winners with a family run boat with their children onboard Issy & Sam aged 19 & 21 and Josh Beck & Ben Rowland who may all now qualify for prizes at the end of the season for the Youth series sponsored by Foxes Chandlery. Will Taylor-Jones had last won this race in 1991 with his father onboard Deerstalker.

Second overall was Michael & Jason Wheeler with Golden Fleece from WMYC and a former winner of the Buckley Goblets three times before. Golden Fleece also a classic S&S which proves again that these classic displacement yachts can still be on the podium.

3rd - Oystercatcher XXXV. Richard Matthews. 43rd Light Infantry Trophy (1st CLASS 1)
4th - Woozle Hunter. P Hammond, D Harrington-Lynn & A Pentelow
5th - Sweet Caroline. William Sunnocks
6th - Spirit. Paul Scott. RNSYC Challenge Cup (1st CLASS 2)
7th - Magic Moments. Andy & Pelham Etherington

Related Articles

Sheltered racing in South Holland returns for 2024
The revived EAORA Week takes place 6-12 July Organised by the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association, the first EAORA Week was held in 1981. It set a new style of regatta: a week of sailing and socializing abroad during which skippers and crews live aboard, racing from port to port. Posted on 2 Jan
End of season report for EAORA
Magic Moments for everyone at the East Anglian Prize giving and AGM EAORA's end of season prize-giving took place on Saturday 11th November at Haven Ports Yacht Club. There was an impressive array of trophies to be divided up amongst the competitors. Posted on 15 Nov 2023
A magic weekend at Ramsgate for Magic Moments
Brave Trophy in Round the Goodwins after a retirement in the Fastnet! East Anglian Offshore Racing Association had 10 of their regular competitors race in this year's challenging Fastnet. Only three yachts completed the course. One being Woozle Hunter who was second in class IRC 4B. Posted on 10 Aug 2023
EAORA Offshore Regatta
East Coast Race / RORC Fastnet Qualifier, Cannon Ball Race & Graham Wallis Trophy On Thursday 15th June it was the RORC East Coast Race, the IRC yachts faced tricky conditions as the forecast was very mixed. There was a total of 23 yachts on the start line, racing from Harwich to Ostend. Posted on 23 Jun 2023
Busy weekend for Royal Temple Yacht Club
EAORA Cannonball Trophy and Link Cup take place The Royal Temple Yacht Club were delighted to host two race fleets on Saturday, the EAORA - the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association who were competing in the Cannonball Trophy racing from Ostend to Ramsgate. Posted on 19 Jun 2023
EAORA and the RORC North Sea Race
Oystercatcher XXXV taskes second overall and Charlie Mills memorial trophy Any passionate Offshore sailor based on the East Coast of England, knows the 180 mile RORC North Sea race is not one to miss. When we plan the season, we always try to arrange two shakedown races. Posted on 23 May 2023
EAORA & DXB Pumps Ralph Herring & Pattinson Cup
It was an 8am start for the competitors at West Mersea It was an 8am start for the competitors with the line just off the Nass Beacon at West Mersea. The yachts representing their clubs came from Haven Ports, Royal Harwich, Pin Mill, Royal Burnham and West Mersea. Posted on 13 May 2023
Countdown to the 2023 EAORA season
Starting with RBYC's Ralph Herring Race on 7th May On Sunday 7th May the EAORA season starts with the traditional race from Mersea to Burnham being the RBYC's Ralph Herring Race, followed by the WMYC's Pattinson Cup race back to Mersea on Monday 8th. Posted on 20 Apr 2023
EAORA 2023 Race Programme
Including Fastnet / RORC qualifiers East Anglian Offshore Racing Association sponsored by DXB Pump & Power have dates for 2023 including Fastnet / RORC qualifiers. The programme for 2023 has been published. Posted on 19 Dec 2022
EAORA 2022 round up with plans for RORC for 2023
Prize Giving in the Royal Corinthian YC, Burnham on Saturday night The 2022 East Anglian Offshore Racing Association sponsored by DXB Pumps had their Prize Giving in the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Burnham on Crouch on Saturday 22nd October. Posted on 2 Nov 2022