Please select your home edition
Zhik 2024 March - LEADERBOARD

EAORA 2022 round up with plans for RORC for 2023

by Claire Scott 2 Nov 2022 06:39 GMT
EAORA 2022 © Claire Scott

The 2022 East Anglian Offshore Racing Association sponsored by DXB Pumps had their Prize Giving in the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Burnham on Crouch on Saturday 22nd October.

The Prize Giving had a slightly different format, without the AGM prior to the presentation, as plans for the 2023 programme are still being discussed. We at East Anglian Offshore are looking for ways to increase the numbers of yachts competing, which may include slightly different safety regulations for coastal passage races but continuing with RORC Safety requirements for races across the North Sea for the EAORA Fastnet qualifying races.

Also, within the Thames estuary there are some other racing fleets, so discussions have started to find some common ground with the other organizing authorities to see if we can all work together. This may include getting boats to Ramsgate Week of the IRC nationals, or adding an extra race from Harwich. It isn't the first time that EAORA have linked up with other organisations.

Historically, we have always been involved with two RORC races for yachts to qualify for the Fastnet. Regular RORC supporters should really consider doing the East Coast Race in June, it will be 120 miles and normally very few boats attend from the south coast, so it is a great point scorer if someone is keen for a good overall position with RORC series.

This prize-giving there was the normal array of trophies. The prestigious Blackwater Cup for the overall winner was first presented back in 1950, this year it went to Woozle Hunter a Sigma 33, it is the first time in our history that a boat has won this trophy twice but under different ownership. Well done to Philip Hammond, D Harrington-Lynn, A Pentelow & Alex Thomas. They also won Gunfleet Cup for class 3. Class One was won by Stephen Hendry from the Medway Yacht club onboard his Beneteau 40.7 Flying fish, Class two was won by Paul Scott with his Sigma 38 from Haven Port Yacht Club.

It was a successful year for Pelham and Andy Etherington onboard the other Sigma 33 Magic Moments. They won the RBYC's David Geaves Trophy (most miles within RORC, EAORA and the RBYC's Williwaw Series) also the Libya Cup (maximum points no discards) and the Star Trophy being awarded by the committee for outstanding commitment to EAORA for 2022.

Michael Wheeler with Golden Fleece made it on to the podium with a win in the WMYC's Buckley Goblets in September, and they also picked up the Colonel's Trophy for a combined result in the WMYC's Pattinson Cup and Buckley Goblets, Phil Wood onboard Golden Fleece also won the Navigators Cup again.

Chris Lynch onboard Spirit is EAORA's Cadet of the Year, he successfully completed many miles onboard Spirit and has great plans for many more in 2023.

So another year for EAORA has come to an end, but keep an eye on the website and social media as we are making some slight changes to the format for 2023.

Related Articles

Sheltered racing in South Holland returns for 2024
The revived EAORA Week takes place 6-12 July Organised by the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association, the first EAORA Week was held in 1981. It set a new style of regatta: a week of sailing and socializing abroad during which skippers and crews live aboard, racing from port to port. Posted on 2 Jan
End of season report for EAORA
Magic Moments for everyone at the East Anglian Prize giving and AGM EAORA's end of season prize-giving took place on Saturday 11th November at Haven Ports Yacht Club. There was an impressive array of trophies to be divided up amongst the competitors. Posted on 15 Nov 2023
1,2 for S&S classics in WMYC Buckley Goblets
Annual EAORA 90 mile race from West Mersea to Ostend On Friday 22nd September at 7am, eight IRC yachts and one MOCRA Trimaran raced in the annual 90 mile race from West Mersea to Ostend. The Glass Goblets were first presented to the West Mersea Yacht Club in 1968 by J.C. Buckley. Posted on 26 Sep 2023
A magic weekend at Ramsgate for Magic Moments
Brave Trophy in Round the Goodwins after a retirement in the Fastnet! East Anglian Offshore Racing Association had 10 of their regular competitors race in this year's challenging Fastnet. Only three yachts completed the course. One being Woozle Hunter who was second in class IRC 4B. Posted on 10 Aug 2023
EAORA Offshore Regatta
East Coast Race / RORC Fastnet Qualifier, Cannon Ball Race & Graham Wallis Trophy On Thursday 15th June it was the RORC East Coast Race, the IRC yachts faced tricky conditions as the forecast was very mixed. There was a total of 23 yachts on the start line, racing from Harwich to Ostend. Posted on 23 Jun 2023
Busy weekend for Royal Temple Yacht Club
EAORA Cannonball Trophy and Link Cup take place The Royal Temple Yacht Club were delighted to host two race fleets on Saturday, the EAORA - the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association who were competing in the Cannonball Trophy racing from Ostend to Ramsgate. Posted on 19 Jun 2023
EAORA and the RORC North Sea Race
Oystercatcher XXXV taskes second overall and Charlie Mills memorial trophy Any passionate Offshore sailor based on the East Coast of England, knows the 180 mile RORC North Sea race is not one to miss. When we plan the season, we always try to arrange two shakedown races. Posted on 23 May 2023
EAORA & DXB Pumps Ralph Herring & Pattinson Cup
It was an 8am start for the competitors at West Mersea It was an 8am start for the competitors with the line just off the Nass Beacon at West Mersea. The yachts representing their clubs came from Haven Ports, Royal Harwich, Pin Mill, Royal Burnham and West Mersea. Posted on 13 May 2023
Countdown to the 2023 EAORA season
Starting with RBYC's Ralph Herring Race on 7th May On Sunday 7th May the EAORA season starts with the traditional race from Mersea to Burnham being the RBYC's Ralph Herring Race, followed by the WMYC's Pattinson Cup race back to Mersea on Monday 8th. Posted on 20 Apr 2023
EAORA 2023 Race Programme
Including Fastnet / RORC qualifiers East Anglian Offshore Racing Association sponsored by DXB Pump & Power have dates for 2023 including Fastnet / RORC qualifiers. The programme for 2023 has been published. Posted on 19 Dec 2022