Please select your home edition
Crewsaver 2021 Safetyline LEADERBOARD

MYA Scottish District IOM Travellers 3 at Kinghorn Loch

by Malcolm Durie 23 Oct 2022 22:54 BST 15 October 2022

The Scottish District International One Metre T3 event took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday 15th October hosted by Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club. The race team was comprised of Richard Ennos as the Race officer with Stuart Teasdale assisting and boatman, Malcolm Durie was the Event Secretary and scorer whilst David Marrs, Hutch Grant and Tony Mitchell handled the start, finish and observing.

Richard Ennos welcomed the twelve skippers to the event and gave an overview of the setup for the days racing. He outlined the course and introduced the race team to the competitors. The competitors had a quite a range of IOM designs racing (BritPop!, Buzz I, Buzz III, Cheinz, Corbie 1, Kantun 2, Lintel MMX, Lintel, MX, Odyssey and Zig-Zag), with three wooden hulls and the others fiberglass. We had competitors from around Scotland representing six clubs: Aberdeen, Greenock, Kinghorn, Levenhall, Paisley and Tayside.

The course for the event was a windward-leeward with the start line at the east end of the Kinghorn Loch. The westerly beat ended in a starboard rounding of the windward and spreader marks. The downwind run was then sailed back to the east with a starboard rounding of the leeward mark. There were two laps of this course with the finish line on a beat near the middle of the course.

The weather was a bit damp at first but the rain stopped and it brightened up by just after 11.00am. The wind was a strong and gusty breeze from the SSW which gave some problems for the skippers who had all bar one started on their A Rigs. The first three races were very lively with skippers having issues at times with the gusts of wind. Race #1 was won by Brian Summers followed by Ian Dundas and Bob Wilson. In contrast, Brian had problems in Race #2 which was won by fellow Tayside club member Colin McGinnis followed by Richard Rowan and Sandy Mackay. Richard followed-up his 2nd place by winning Race #3 followed by Brian and Sandy Mackay.

After Race 3 there was a pause for skippers to change to their smaller B rigs to help make the yachts more controllable in the conditions. After the change to the B rigs, the boats behaved better down wind and there was very competitive racing with boats changing places throughout the field. Race #4 was won by Davie Stewart followed by Sandy Mackay and Bob Wilson although, for various reasons, four boats did not finish this race.

Races #5 to Race #12 were dominated by Brian Summers who recorded wins in every race except Race #7 in which he came 2nd to Richard Rowan who scored five second places in this period of the event. During the afternoon a few of the skippers changed back to their A rigs as the gusts became less frequent.

There was very close racing throughout the event with five different skippers recorded a win, seven skippers scored a 2nd place and nine skippers scored a 3rd place. It was also noteworthy that there were representatives from six Scottish District clubs with a good mix of new skippers to the Scottish District IOM Travellers events as well as a mix of different wooden and fibre glass IOM designs.

At the end of the event, eighteen races had been sailed. Brian Summers was 1st with a score of 21 points having won ten of the races followed closely by Richard Rowan with a score of 44 points who won two races and came second in seven races. Stewart Campbell was 3rd with a score of 65 points.

Overall Results:

PosSkipperSail NoBoat DesignClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9R10R11R12R13R14R15R16R17R18Pts
1Brian Summers07Buzz IIITayside RSC19261121111132321121
2Richard Rowan85CheinzGreenock MY&PBC621138812222247234444
3Stewart Campbell50Kantun 2Kinghorn RSC556132101313564871112265
4Colin McGinnis45Buzz IIITayside RSC41445533487101051146568
5Ian Dundas88OdysseyAberdeen MYC245564469584634651069
6Sandy Mackay58BritpopKinghorn RSC7332739784371117713372
7David Northridge120Lintel MMXLevenhall RSC13131373955675626853683
8David Stewart30Corbie 1Tayside RSC86131926433655121313131396
9Bob Wilson188Buzz ITayside RSC38734671113111211129681313118
10David Redpath65LintelKinghorn RSC9109131271010710113114101179127
11Gerry Goodfellow17MXKinghorn RSC101313131011881391098851088135
12David Smith89Zig‑ZagPaisley MYC11788111211910129129109997137

Related Articles

Mervyn Cook : 1942-2022
Designer of the Magnum series of International Moth, and much more Mervyn passed away peacefully at his home on Hayling Island on Monday 14th of November after a long illness. He was a lovely modest and quietly spoken man with a lifetime interest in sailing boats. Posted on 21 Nov 2022
Clive Hand Memorial Trophy 2022
What a day of radio racing Wow, what a day of radio racing. Quiet and still at 7.30am, Scotland Farm was looking its best. The freshly mown grass and Mediterranean blue water welcomed 34 skippers who had entered the 2022 Clive Hand Memorial Trophy. Posted on 12 Oct 2022
HP Trophy at Emsworth Radio Sailing
20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond 20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond for the first running of the HP trophy sponsored by Rooster Sailing. Amongst the visitors the home team welcomed Derek Priestley, the MYA President, who had travelled from Fleetwood for the day. Posted on 2 Oct 2022
Scottish District 2022 Travellers 2 at Buchanness
Strong winds ease as the day goes on Eight skippers from various club across Scotland entered the event. They represented, in the west Paisley MYC, in the east Kinghorn RSC and Tayside RSC in the northeast Aberdeen MYC and Buchanness RYC. Posted on 19 Jun 2022
UK IOM National Championship
57 entries from the UK and 8 from overseas race at Castle Semple Loch Hosted by the MYA Scottish District at Castle Semple Loch, there were 65 entries comprising 57 from the UK and eight overseas (four from Sweden and one each from Ireland, Norway, Turkey and the USA). Posted on 6 May 2022
2022 UK IOM Nationals Form Guide
68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers set for Castle Semple Loch This weekend (30th April – 2nd May) 68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers will descend on Castle Semple Loch near Lochwinnoch, south-west of Glasgow to battle for the 2022 International One Metre UK National Championship. Posted on 26 Apr 2022
Scottish District Wooden Hull IOM Championship
Uniquely Scottish event held on Forfar Loch This uniquely Scottish IOM event was hosted by Tayside Radio Sailing Club at their home venue of Forfar Loch. The boats entered are home built with 75% of the fleet to designs largely developed by Ian Dundas (Corbie) and Brian Summers (Buzz). Posted on 21 Apr 2022
MYA Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 at Ayr Bay
Great to be back to District sailing following the disruption over the last two years The Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 event which was hosted by Ayr Bay Radio Yacht Club at the Irvine Beach Park Pond on Saturday 26th March 2022. Posted on 29 Mar 2022
IOM Unicorn Trophy at Chipstead
Plus Met & Southern Championship round 1 for One Metre radio sailors Sixteen sailors arrived at Chipstead SC on a very breezy Sunday morning to contest round one of the Met & Southern IOM championship and the club Unicorn trophy. Whilst there was a light drizzle, the breeze was westerly mid-twenties mph. Posted on 11 Feb 2022
Strebor IOM Open & ND Championship at Birkenhead
A quality fleet of 14 skippers includes 3 IOM World Champions Saturday 6th November saw 14 skippers from 5 different clubs competing for The Strebor Trophy and Northern District Championship, the 14 skippers also included 3 IOM World Champions. Posted on 8 Nov 2021