Please select your home edition
Rooster 2020 - Impact BA - LEADERBOARD

HP Trophy at Emsworth Radio Sailing

by Jonathan Clark 2 Oct 2022 13:18 BST 28 September 2022

20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond for the first running by Emsworth Radio Sailing of the HP trophy sponsored by Rooster Sailing. Amongst the visitors the home team welcomed Derek Priestley, the MYA President, who had travelled from Fleetwood for the day.

In total 9 visitors joined 11 from the home club to make up a capacity fleet for the day. For ease of race management the fleet was spilt into a B and A fleet with 12 boats on the water at any one time.

A 4 up 4 down heat management system was deployed and in expert hands of Rob Tarboton and Tom Lance the fleet was able to move quickly from one race to another.

The fleet was made up of a variety of the currently favoured fast designs Britpops forming the majority but Vickers, Cheinz, Kantun and Dead Reckoning were were amongst the fleet on the water.

John Taylor brought his latest design the Sushi, and this beautiful wooden boat attracted much interest on the boat's first appearance on the water.

The day was one of sun but shifty winds from a tricky direction on this venue and this tested the competitors as much as PRO, Jonathan Clark and the race team.

Whilst there was a brief appearance of a sea breeze the wind was in the main from the North West moving West and North in seemingly random order.

In all 16 races being 8 series were run with no one competitor dominating the racing, indeed event the regatta winner spent some time in the B fleet.

As the last race drew to a close and the second discard was applied it was Nigel Barrow from Frensham Pond sailing his Britpop who came home first.

In second place was another Britpop sailed by Dave Green from Huntingdon RYC and third went to Dorian Crease from Two Islands RYC sailing a Cheinz.

Leading Emsworth sailor was Theo Galyer in sixth sailing a Vickers V9 with team Priestley sharing identical points ahead of him in the final rankings.

The new trophy was duly presented to Nigel Barrow at Emsworth Sailing Club and ERS thank them for hosting this event and providing excellent refreshments during the day.

Overall Results:

154Nigel BarrowFrenshamBritpop14241810214
277Dave GreenHuntington RYCBritpop6713217518
379Dorian CreaseTwo Islands RYCCheinz3335525319
487Shaun PriestleyFleetwood MY&PBCBritpop5691439827
567Derek PriestleyFleetwood MY&PBCDead Reckoning228123106627
637Theo GalyerEmsworth Radio SailingV9713176773131
7187Dave CockerillEmsworth Radio SailingBritpop715491642733
823David LindsayHampton Court MYCV112101215854433
9107Hugh WatsonEmsworth Radio SailingBritpop9141813661944
1020Steve CockerillEmsworth Radio SailingKantun K281118911151047
1166Clive CokayneEmsworth Radio SailingKMR412571113161150
1284David Campbell‑JamesEmsworth Radio SailingBritpop387101412181454
13100Paul TicknerGuildford MYCChase456111720141656
1428John TaylorFleetwood MY&PBCSushi1121142139191362
1542Wayne StobbsGosportKMR11115142014131868
1619Guy KnightEmsworth Radio SailingAlternative5181917131581270
170John CleaveRyde MYCKantun K28916201016111970
1810Martin WilsonEmsworth Radio SailingKantun K291713181918121786
1951Peter CopseyEmsworth Radio SailingMX20112110191817171588
2074Simon DwyerEmsworth Radio SailingBritpop61620161519212192

Related Articles

Mervyn Cook : 1942-2022
Designer of the Magnum series of International Moth, and much more Mervyn passed away peacefully at his home on Hayling Island on Monday 14th of November after a long illness. He was a lovely modest and quietly spoken man with a lifetime interest in sailing boats. Posted on 21 Nov 2022
MYA Scottish IOM Travellers at Kinghorn Loch
12 skippers bring a wide range of designs to Fife The Scottish District International One Metre T3 event took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday 15th October hosted by Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club. The race team was comprised of Richard Ennos as the Race officer with Stuart Teasdale assisting. Posted on 23 Oct 2022
Clive Hand Memorial Trophy 2022
What a day of radio racing Wow, what a day of radio racing. Quiet and still at 7.30am, Scotland Farm was looking its best. The freshly mown grass and Mediterranean blue water welcomed 34 skippers who had entered the 2022 Clive Hand Memorial Trophy. Posted on 12 Oct 2022
Scottish District 2022 Travellers 2 at Buchanness
Strong winds ease as the day goes on Eight skippers from various club across Scotland entered the event. They represented, in the west Paisley MYC, in the east Kinghorn RSC and Tayside RSC in the northeast Aberdeen MYC and Buchanness RYC. Posted on 19 Jun 2022
UK IOM National Championship
57 entries from the UK and 8 from overseas race at Castle Semple Loch Hosted by the MYA Scottish District at Castle Semple Loch, there were 65 entries comprising 57 from the UK and eight overseas (four from Sweden and one each from Ireland, Norway, Turkey and the USA). Posted on 6 May 2022
2022 UK IOM Nationals Form Guide
68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers set for Castle Semple Loch This weekend (30th April – 2nd May) 68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers will descend on Castle Semple Loch near Lochwinnoch, south-west of Glasgow to battle for the 2022 International One Metre UK National Championship. Posted on 26 Apr 2022
Scottish District Wooden Hull IOM Championship
Uniquely Scottish event held on Forfar Loch This uniquely Scottish IOM event was hosted by Tayside Radio Sailing Club at their home venue of Forfar Loch. The boats entered are home built with 75% of the fleet to designs largely developed by Ian Dundas (Corbie) and Brian Summers (Buzz). Posted on 21 Apr 2022
MYA Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 at Ayr Bay
Great to be back to District sailing following the disruption over the last two years The Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 event which was hosted by Ayr Bay Radio Yacht Club at the Irvine Beach Park Pond on Saturday 26th March 2022. Posted on 29 Mar 2022
IOM Unicorn Trophy at Chipstead
Plus Met & Southern Championship round 1 for One Metre radio sailors Sixteen sailors arrived at Chipstead SC on a very breezy Sunday morning to contest round one of the Met & Southern IOM championship and the club Unicorn trophy. Whilst there was a light drizzle, the breeze was westerly mid-twenties mph. Posted on 11 Feb 2022
Strebor IOM Open & ND Championship at Birkenhead
A quality fleet of 14 skippers includes 3 IOM World Champions Saturday 6th November saw 14 skippers from 5 different clubs competing for The Strebor Trophy and Northern District Championship, the 14 skippers also included 3 IOM World Champions. Posted on 8 Nov 2021