Please select your home edition
Sailingfast 2018 2 728x90

MYA Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 at Ayr Bay Radio Yacht Club

by Bill Lees 29 Mar 2022 12:07 BST 26 March 2022

The Scottish District IOM Travellers 1 event which was hosted by Ayr Bay Radio Yacht Club at the Irvine Beach Park Pond on Saturday 26th March 2022.

It was great to be back to District sailing following the disruption over the last two years. This was evident by the excellent turnout of fourteen skippers from the East and West Coast clubs. The forecast had been for extremely light airs potentially drifting conditions. However, on the day, we raced in a glorious sunny conditions with light winds that posed challenges for the race team to set a course and the skippers to sail it!

Following Registration, Bill Lees assembled the skippers at 9:45am for the briefing with "Boats on the Water" called at 10:00am. The very light wind was constantly shifting. This posed a significant challenge for the fleet to choose which end of the line was favoured and also to avoid holes in the variable conditions. The trick seemed to be to build a bit of momentum in a zephyr and then allow the boat keep moving across the glassy surface.

After each race the Race Officer had to adjust the courses to suit the wind conditions. In the first three races there were three different winners - Ian Dundas (38), Richard Rowan (85) and John Owens (33). However, Brian Summers (07) was always in the top three boats and had a bullet in the fourth race. Robert Rooney (71) had a string of fourth places and in Races 6 and 7 had back-to-back bullets. In the meantime, Ian Dundas was consistently sailing his new "Fat Boy" design to top three places.

In the latter part of the morning, the "breeze" began to fill-in more. Malcolm Worsley (86) started to return top three places throughout the rest of the day. Richard Rowan was also showing good results. The racing was very competitive with the top skippers equally sharing the results up to lunch time. After lunch the wind settled and eight more races were run with no incidents and good clean racing. As the afternoon progressed, Ian Dundas won three races back-to-back. Pat Johnston (44) was also showing good boat speed. The "older generation" boats such as Robert Rooney's Topiko and Pat Johnston's Pikanto were competitive throughout the day with Robert's worst scores being a couple of sixth places.

Amongst the competitive field, Colin McGinnis (45) and Gordon Allison (62) recorded top four positions and Stewart Campbell (50) scored a bullet. This showed that nobody could relax and a mistake (or bit of bad luck) could be expensive. Throughout this, Ian Davidson (39), David Stewart (30) and Nick Slane (150) kept the fleet honest. Special mention should be made of Arthur Black (185) sailing in his first District event.

With a total of fifteen races, all starts were excellent with only two general recalls which is a credit to the sailing ability of the fleet.

Overall, the winners were all those who took part. Credit must go to Pat Johnston and Malcolm Worsley who pushed the winners all day. However, special congratulations go to:

1st Ian Dundas (Aberdeen MYC)
2nd Robert Rooney (Paisley MYC)
3rd Brian Summers (Tayside RSC)
4th Richard Rowan (Greenock MY&PBC)

Ian Dundas proposed a vote of thanks to the Race Team for running such an excellent event - Race Officer David Belding and his assistant Peter Carr set very good courses and Bill Wylie ran the start line very well. Jim Reid's catering was very welcome. Thanks also to observers Gordon Neil and Andrew Riddle. David Smith once again did the scoring very professionally which he said is training for the 2022 UK IOM National Championship! The weather credit must go to Brian Summers and Bill Lees who choose the date!

Overall Results:

PosSkipperSail NoDesignClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9R10R11R12R13R14R15Pts
1Ian Dundas38Fat BoyAberdeen14332251721118228
2Robert Rooney71TopicoPaisley36444113133435639
3Brian Summers7Buzz 3Tayside232217472146102943
4Richard Rowan85CheinzGreenock51616322442266543
5Malcolm Worsley86Buzz 2Tayside711111534353559212169
6Patrick Johnston44PikantoGreenock629575106156157411381
7John Owens33Corbie 1Aberdeen451111267105971187787
8Stewart Campbell50KantunKinghorn8101015988468123711294
9Gordon Allison62VentiAyr Bay1195121315611131065538104
10Colin McGinnis45Buzz 3CTayside1371385119131113813944115
11Ian Davidson39Corbie 5Greenock91387109139812118131010124
12David Stewart30Corbie 1Tayside141276813128107131211911126
13Nick Slane150LintelAyr Bay1014149111014121211910121514148
14Arthur Black185CheinzPaisley1281210141211149141014141513153

Related Articles

IOMs at Hunts
13 visitors from as far as Surrey and Lincolnshire join locals at new venue Huntingdon Radio Yacht Club was delighted to welcome 18 competitors to their first IOM Open event at their new venue of Hunts Sailing Club in St Ives Cambridgeshire. The day started and continued with bright blue skies and a decent northerly breeze. Posted on 21 May
MYA Scottish IOM Travellers at Greenock
Including 3D printed and wooden hulls Eleven skippers from throughout Scotland assembled at Greenock Murdieston Dam on Saturday 13th May for the MYA SD IOM Travellers 2. Amongst the fleet, there was a 3D printed and five wooden hulls participating. Posted on 17 May
MYA Scottish IOM Championship at Kinghorn Loch
13 skippers brought along a range of One Metre design hulls The 2023 MYA Scottish District IOM Championship took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday the 22nd April 2023. The event was hosted by the Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club, with Richard Ennos as the Race Officer. Posted on 27 Apr
Mervyn Cook : 1942-2022
Designer of the Magnum series of International Moth, and much more Mervyn passed away peacefully at his home on Hayling Island on Monday 14th of November after a long illness. He was a lovely modest and quietly spoken man with a lifetime interest in sailing boats. Posted on 21 Nov 2022
MYA Scottish IOM Travellers at Kinghorn Loch
12 skippers bring a wide range of designs to Fife The Scottish District International One Metre T3 event took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday 15th October hosted by Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club. The race team was comprised of Richard Ennos as the Race officer with Stuart Teasdale assisting. Posted on 23 Oct 2022
Clive Hand Memorial Trophy 2022
What a day of radio racing Wow, what a day of radio racing. Quiet and still at 7.30am, Scotland Farm was looking its best. The freshly mown grass and Mediterranean blue water welcomed 34 skippers who had entered the 2022 Clive Hand Memorial Trophy. Posted on 12 Oct 2022
HP Trophy at Emsworth Radio Sailing
20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond 20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond for the first running of the HP trophy sponsored by Rooster Sailing. Amongst the visitors the home team welcomed Derek Priestley, the MYA President, who had travelled from Fleetwood for the day. Posted on 2 Oct 2022
Scottish District 2022 Travellers 2 at Buchanness
Strong winds ease as the day goes on Eight skippers from various club across Scotland entered the event. They represented, in the west Paisley MYC, in the east Kinghorn RSC and Tayside RSC in the northeast Aberdeen MYC and Buchanness RYC. Posted on 19 Jun 2022
UK IOM National Championship
57 entries from the UK and 8 from overseas race at Castle Semple Loch Hosted by the MYA Scottish District at Castle Semple Loch, there were 65 entries comprising 57 from the UK and eight overseas (four from Sweden and one each from Ireland, Norway, Turkey and the USA). Posted on 6 May 2022
2022 UK IOM Nationals Form Guide
68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers set for Castle Semple Loch This weekend (30th April – 2nd May) 68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers will descend on Castle Semple Loch near Lochwinnoch, south-west of Glasgow to battle for the 2022 International One Metre UK National Championship. Posted on 26 Apr 2022