Please select your home edition
Henri-Lloyd 2022 December - YY LEADERBOARD

IOM Unicorn Trophy and Round 1 Met & Southern Championship at Chipstead Sailing Club

by Dave Allinson 11 Feb 2022 13:34 GMT 6 February 2022
IOM Unicorn Trophy and Round 1 Met & Southern Championship at Chipstead © Stuart Ord-Hume

Sixteen sailors arrived at Chipstead SC on a very breezy Sunday morning to contest round one of the Met & Southern IOM championship and the club Unicorn trophy. Whilst there was a light drizzle, the breeze was westerly mid-twenties mph gusting into the high thirties mph.

As many sailors rigged in the comfort of the large clubhouse, the race team laid a 130 metre windward leeward course.

Following the briefing, racing commenced with all but one boat sporting rig-3. All the sailors were, eager to race and this resulted in three general recalls before the fleet got under way.

Race one was taken by Peter Stollery, chased home by Trevor Binks and Nigel Barrow. Peter was sailing his Isotonic as a pre-Nationals setup exercise for his son Oliver. Race two was gusty and was taken by Vernon Appleton followed by Dorian Crease and Julia Hancock.

Julia took race three with Dave Cockerill just a couple of metre behind. Vernon was back on form for race four and it was John Taylor sailing his immaculate wooden Rubix who took race five.

Seven races were accomplished before lunch was taken at 12:20hrs. Garven Mckie, assisted by Robin Aldcroft, served up a delicious hot chilli con carne with rice and French bread.

At the lunch halt, positions at the front of the fleet were tight. Vernon took the lead with 24 points closely followed by Peter and Martin Wilson on 25 points. Nigel was just behind on 28 points. Three boats were in the thirties and four more in the forties.

Racing recommenced at 13:30 hrs with several sailors changing up to rig-2. This was a brave and challenging move as the gusts were comfortably in the nose diving range. Nigel was quick to take race 8, followed by Dorian. Trevor took race nine with home club sailor Peter Crisp in second place. Peter Stollery now found his pace winning four of the next seven races. Dorian and Vernon also had consistent afternoon sessions.

A very special thanks must go to Chipstead club sailor Stuart Ord-Hume who manned the rescue boat all day and was kept busy collecting boats which had ceased to respond or had locked together with another boat. A great job in winds gusting into the low forties.

Sailing came to an end around 15:30 hrs after sixteen races had been sailed. Sailors packed away their boats and sails and adjourned to the clubhouse for a welcome hot drink and cake whilst results were being calculated.

PRO and club radio lead Dave Allinson presented the prizes down to sixth place with a bottle of wine.

Peter Stollery thanked the Chipstead race team for the days racing praising the club facilities, the hot lunch and the great racing.

Many thanks to Chris Heath, Garven Mckie and Stuart Ord-Hume and Robin Aldcroft for their help in running this event.

Overall Results:

First Chipstead boat prize - Peter Crisp
First lady - Julia Hancock

PosSail NoHullSkipperClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9R10R11R12R13R14R15R16Pts
139IsotonicStolleryGuildford MYC14332121764151412132
273BritpopAppletonDatchet Water RSC91517111362110257344
379CheinzeCreaseTwo Islands RYC7269369295103331454
429BritpopBarrowFrensham Ponds RSC361186141138421048762
572BritpopBinksEastbourne MYC21714448271621251111568
624BritpopHancockHampton Court MYC43110517179597466131079
7174Kantun‑2ColeHampton Court MYC61075149714333911217984
887BritpopCockerillEmsworth RSC12721292651717176893889
928RubixTaylorFleetwood MY & PBC17997117547136517175290
1010Kantun‑2WilsonEmsworth RSC8542153312848131717101292
1174Kantun‑2MarshallHove Lagoon RSC17111061751010117914724698
1252BritpopCrispChipstead SC131312171117128211177981211129
1351KantonCopseyEmsworth RSC111716111271711101017111110617143
14107BritpopWatsonEmsworth RSC581517848171717171717171717167
1657BritpopLa RocheCoal House Fort1014817101011171712171717171717177
176BritpopGuerrierDatchet Water RSC17242424242424242424242424242424305
1712VentiHopeChelmsford MYC17242424242424242424242424242424305
1730Widget‑2AldcroftChipstead SC17242424242424242424242424242424305
1746V9O'DonnellChipstead SC17242424242424242424242424242424305
1750V11GuerrierThree Rivers RSC17242424242424242424242424242424305
1775BritpopEvansGosport MYC17242424242424242424242424242424305

Related Articles

IOMs at Hunts
13 visitors from as far as Surrey and Lincolnshire join locals at new venue Huntingdon Radio Yacht Club was delighted to welcome 18 competitors to their first IOM Open event at their new venue of Hunts Sailing Club in St Ives Cambridgeshire. The day started and continued with bright blue skies and a decent northerly breeze. Posted on 21 May
MYA Scottish IOM Travellers at Greenock
Including 3D printed and wooden hulls Eleven skippers from throughout Scotland assembled at Greenock Murdieston Dam on Saturday 13th May for the MYA SD IOM Travellers 2. Amongst the fleet, there was a 3D printed and five wooden hulls participating. Posted on 17 May
MYA Scottish IOM Championship at Kinghorn Loch
13 skippers brought along a range of One Metre design hulls The 2023 MYA Scottish District IOM Championship took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday the 22nd April 2023. The event was hosted by the Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club, with Richard Ennos as the Race Officer. Posted on 27 Apr
Mervyn Cook : 1942-2022
Designer of the Magnum series of International Moth, and much more Mervyn passed away peacefully at his home on Hayling Island on Monday 14th of November after a long illness. He was a lovely modest and quietly spoken man with a lifetime interest in sailing boats. Posted on 21 Nov 2022
MYA Scottish IOM Travellers at Kinghorn Loch
12 skippers bring a wide range of designs to Fife The Scottish District International One Metre T3 event took place on Kinghorn Loch on Saturday 15th October hosted by Kinghorn Radio Sailing Club. The race team was comprised of Richard Ennos as the Race officer with Stuart Teasdale assisting. Posted on 23 Oct 2022
Clive Hand Memorial Trophy 2022
What a day of radio racing Wow, what a day of radio racing. Quiet and still at 7.30am, Scotland Farm was looking its best. The freshly mown grass and Mediterranean blue water welcomed 34 skippers who had entered the 2022 Clive Hand Memorial Trophy. Posted on 12 Oct 2022
HP Trophy at Emsworth Radio Sailing
20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond 20 competitors were welcomed at the Emsworth Mill Pond for the first running of the HP trophy sponsored by Rooster Sailing. Amongst the visitors the home team welcomed Derek Priestley, the MYA President, who had travelled from Fleetwood for the day. Posted on 2 Oct 2022
Scottish District 2022 Travellers 2 at Buchanness
Strong winds ease as the day goes on Eight skippers from various club across Scotland entered the event. They represented, in the west Paisley MYC, in the east Kinghorn RSC and Tayside RSC in the northeast Aberdeen MYC and Buchanness RYC. Posted on 19 Jun 2022
UK IOM National Championship
57 entries from the UK and 8 from overseas race at Castle Semple Loch Hosted by the MYA Scottish District at Castle Semple Loch, there were 65 entries comprising 57 from the UK and eight overseas (four from Sweden and one each from Ireland, Norway, Turkey and the USA). Posted on 6 May 2022
2022 UK IOM Nationals Form Guide
68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers set for Castle Semple Loch This weekend (30th April – 2nd May) 68 of the country's best radio sailing skippers will descend on Castle Semple Loch near Lochwinnoch, south-west of Glasgow to battle for the 2022 International One Metre UK National Championship. Posted on 26 Apr 2022