Please select your home edition
McConaghy 2022 - MC63p & MC75 LEADERBOARD

Final awards at 51st edition of Transpac

by Transpacific Yacht Club 28 Jul 2021 08:55 BST From July 13, 2021


Transpacific YC Commodore Jim Eddy led the crowd of Transpac sailors and their friends and family with this traditional greeting that has so many meanings in Hawaiian: Hello, Welcome, Goodbye, or as an expression of love and affection.

On the upper deck of the Hawaii Yacht Club this group gathered for the final of three ceremonies of awards to celebrate this year's 51st biennial edition of the 2225-mile Transpac race from LA to Honolulu.

The podium finishers in Divisions 7 and 8 were given their awards today, along with winners of several specialty trophies in this year's race. Winning Division 7 in corrected time for the Eugene Overton Trophy was Greg Dorn's Dehler 46 Favonius, and winner of Division 8 for the Los Angeles YC Glass Boat Trophy was Cecil and Alyson Rossi's Farr 57 Ho'okolohe, a local favorite for its numerous Hawaii-based crew aboard. Each winner's award was accompanied with an award recognizing the winning navigator as well.

The next award went to Bob Lane's Andrews 63 Medicine Man, who won the Nash Family Corinthian Crew Award for the best corrected time finish of an all-amateur crew. The Mark Rudiger Celestial Navigation Trophy, a beautiful antique brass 1905-built T. Hemsley & Son silver-vernier A-frame sextant donated by Stan Honey, is awarded to the navigator who presents celestial navigation worksheets or evidence of traditional navigation that is judged by a panel of other navigators appointed by TPYC. Vice Commodore Tom Trujillo announced the winner of this ward will not be announced until Saturday, July 31st.

The next award given was the Storm Trysail Team Trophy, where entries could form a 3-boat team of any affiliation and be scored as a team.

"Storm Trysail Club's mission is to promote offshore racing and a big part of the offshore experience is the camaraderie with shipmates and competitors," said STC Commodore Ed Cesare. "We are pleased to sponsor the team trophy for the Transpac in order to foster that camaraderie." This year the winning team spread across entries in three classes was the St Francis YC Team of Dave MacEwan's Rogers 46 Lucky Duck in Division 5, Michael Moradzadeh's Santa Cruz 50 Oaxaca in Division 6, and Ho'okolohe from Division 8.

The STC Team Trophy made its debut in 2019, as did the final trophy awarded today, the Ronald L. Burla Trophy for Media Excellence. This award goes to the submission of a media product (photos, videos, etc.) from a team entered in the race based on material gathered during the race. Submissions were made from Mike Sudo's Beneteau First 47.7 Macondo, Kate and Jim Murray's Pac 52 Callisto, and Marek Omillian's TP52 Sonic.

"All were creative and original videos, and had good elements of technical and storytelling merit," said Dobbs Davis of the TPYC Media team. "However our panel felt the submission from a fourth team was the best at capturing the essence of this race, its experience for those on board, and as an inspiration to others to want to come and participate in the Transpac. This year's winner is from Mike Fratantoro on Tom Camp's Santa Cruz 50 Trouble."

"Its an honor to receive this award," said Fratantoro. "In 2019 we had rudder bearing problems that forced us back to the coast, so this year we were determined to make it to Hawaii. It was a challenge to both do the bow and gather the footage needed for the piece, but I thank the entire team for their help." The winning video is at, along with all other submissions uploaded to the TranspacRace YouTube channel.

Also uploaded to YouTube today is the final Transpac 20201 race analysis video recorded by Dobbs Davis, with world-class navigator Peter Isler as a special guest to explain the race from his perspective on Roy Disney's turbo-Volvo 70 Pyewacket, but also in more general terms on what made this a fast race for all.

In other TPYC activity, the Navigator's Debrief meeting this morning had interesting discussions on topics related to position reporting protocols, ratings, scoring, staggered start dates, tracker reporting delays and other technical topics. This input is valuable for TPYC planning the next Transpac to be run in July 2023.

For more information visit

Related Articles

Entries open for Transpac 2023
First entry is Fast Exit II for the Los Angeles to Honolulu race The Transpacific Yacht Club is pleased to announce that the entry process is now open for the 2023 edition of the Los Angeles to Honolulu Transpacific Yacht Race. Posted on 27 May
Transpac 2023 - Save the dates
The longest and oldest among the world's classic ocean races The Board of Directors of the Transpacific Yacht Club are pleased to announce that start dates are now chosen for the 52nd biennial running of the Los Angeles to Honolulu Transpacific Yacht Race, better known as the Transpac. Posted on 26 Feb
Jesse Osborn is Rudiger Award winner
Osborn wins Mark Rudiger Award After careful review of the materials submitted to support his application, a review panel from the Transpacific Yacht Club have determined that Jesse Osborn wins the Mark S. Rudiger Celestial Navigation Trophy for the recently completed 2021 Transpac. Posted on 22 Aug 2021
Transpac Trophy haul for Warrior Won
TPYC also recognizes the historic importance of navigators in this race An enduring service provided by the Transpacific Yacht Club is maintaining one of the largest and most impressive perpetual trophy collections in the ocean racing world. Posted on 28 Jul 2021
Division 1 and 2 winners crowned at Transpac
Record runs coming into the docks are starting to sound routine By now the stories of massive waves, sustained high speeds, and record runs coming into the docks at this year's Transpac are starting to sound routine. Posted on 26 Jul 2021
Waves of teams are finishing strong in Transpac
Waves of competitors coming across the finish line at Diamond Head Having start dates staggered this year over five days and near-perfect strong breeze over the 2225-mile course has resulted in the first big wave of competitors coming across the finish line at Diamond Head today in the 51st edition of Transpac. Posted on 25 Jul 2021
Pyewacket wins Barn Door Trophy
Setting 24 hour record in the Transpac Five days, 16 hours, 53 minutes and 20 seconds since starting off San Pedro in Los Angeles last Saturday, the team on Roy Disney's turbo Volvo 70 Pyewacket crossed the finish line at 2:53 AM at Diamond Head to be first to finish in this year's Transpac. Posted on 24 Jul 2021
Transpac first finishers on final approach
All eyes are on the YB trackers now to anticipate the arrival of the first finishers All eyes are on the YB trackers now to anticipate the arrival of the first finishers in the 2021 Transpac. Posted on 23 Jul 2021
All Transpac teams past the halfway point
Predictions of a fast race appear to be holding true The predictions of this year's 51st edition of biennial Transpac race from LA to Honolulu as being a fast race appear to be holding true: all teams that left the mainland starting about a week ago through the end of last week are past the halfway point Posted on 22 Jul 2021
Ho'okolohe passes halfway point in Transpac
With less than 1000 miles to go to Honolulu With less than 1000 miles to go at 0800 Hawaii Standard Time today, Cecil and Alyson Rossi's Farr 57 Ho'okolohe is the first in the 40-boat fleet to pass the halfway point in this year's 2225-mile Transpac race from LA to Honolulu. Posted on 20 Jul 2021