Please select your home edition
Grapefruit Graphics 2019 - Leaderboard

MRX Open at Wembley Sailing Club

by Chris O’Neill 17 Oct 2006 10:30 BST 15 October 2006
Morris Cleal and Martin Thompson during the Wembley MRX open © Chris O'Neill

It was early Sunday morning and a descent breeze had began to ascend on the MRX sailors with a few making the trip down with their own boats and others borrowing boats at the Welsh Harp.

The first start was at 11.00, this allowed the wind to pick up to a steady force 3-4 coming from the north-east allowing the race officer Roger Wilson to begin the first start on time and set a nice long beat down to the bottom of the lake, then three downwind legs back to the top end of the lake. The MRX's got off the start with no problems and it soon became apparent that the port end of the line was favoured. Morris Cleal crewed by Martin Thompson took an early advantage and looked to win but unfortunately they got the finish line slightly wrong and allowed Geoff O'Neill/Sophie Adams to win the morning race.

In the afternoon the wind swung to more of an easterly and built slightly to a nice force 4. The first of the two back to back races was won convincingly by Robert O'Neill & Tim Unerman with Colin Brockbank & Richard Eastman taking second.

The third race became the decider and there were four boats in with a chance of winning. Unfortunately Morris Cleal & Martin Thompson where unable to complete the final race and Robert O'Neill & Tim Unerman also had to retire due to boat and crew problems this left two boats to battle it out and Colin Brockbank & Richard Eastmond took the early advantage, if only they had read the course more carefully after completing it incorrectly and having to retire this left the gate wide open for Geoff O'Neill/Sophie Adams to take a well deserved victory.

A great day was had by all and it was good to see nearly all the MRX's crewed by under 18's, hopefully the rest of the classes at the harp will follow the MRX's good example. Finally many thanks must go to the race committee, the travellers from other clubs, the safety team and the galley staff who made the day complete.

Overall Results:

1st Geoff O'Neill & Sophie Adams (Wembley S.C.)
2nd Robert O'Neill & Tim Unerman (Wembley S.C.)
3rd Mark Candelas & Jameel Adams (Wembley S.C.)