Please select your home edition

J/24 Midwinter Championship at Shake-A-Leg in Miami, FL - Day 1

by Julie & Christopher Howell 27 Feb 06:12 GMT February 26-28, 2021

The J/24 Midwinter Championship kicked off for 29 boats at Shake-A-Leg in Miami, FL with four races completed.

Teams reveled in the pristine conditions on Biscayne Bay with winds at 8-10 knots, sunny skies and temperatures in the 80s. Carter White on Wind Monkey shot out to the early advantage with all top four finishes for 8 points. Helming Jesus Lizard, John Mollicone stands in second place with 16 points. Floridian Robby Brown's Angel of Harlem is in third with 28 points.

White's Wind Monkey earned their first bullet of the day in race one, ahead of James Freedman's Miss Conduct and Mollicone's Jesus Lizard. Brown's Angel of Harlem grabbed the next win, with White and Mollicone again cracking the top three. Trailing White's second victory in race three were Nadia Daggett's Mustache Ride and Val Shestopalov's Victoria. Mollicone secured his silver position for the day with a victory in Friday's final battle, followed by Aidan Glackin's Mental Floss and Freedman.

Racing continues through Sunday.

Results after Day 1:

PosBow NoSail NoYacht NameSkipper / CrewR1R2R3R4Pts
120  USA 2720Wind MonkeyMarcus Rogers / Carter White / Chris Lombardo / Kelly Franklin Colby / Molly White12148
279  USA 3379Jesus LizardJohn Mollicone / Paul Abdullah / Mike Marshall / Nick Turney / Dan Borrer339116
399  USA 799Angel of HarlemRobby Brown / Richard Shellow / Steve Lowery / Kevin Ratigan / Beaujeaux Delapouyade11110628
457  USA 5257Mental FlossAidan Glackin / Bruce Nash / Chris Fischer / Kris Werner / TBD5419230
532  USA 3235Mustache RideNadia Daggett / Kathryn Booker / Kate O'Donnel / Rachel Green / Geoff Becker9152531
68  USA 5208HoneybadgerTravis Odenbach / Patrick Wilson / Chris Stocke / Brad Braddon / Monica Morgan10841032
775  USA 3775BlitzAl Constants / Dave Constants / Mike Constants / Steve Constants / Dave Hammond41181134
837  Usa 5237TyrusKirk Reynolds / Kira Munger / Mike Wilde / Mike Stasko / KJ Wolaver8711935
934  USA 3734Miss ConductJames Freedman / Angel Shellenberger / Chris Corley / Theo Hasse21813336
1028  PUR 2928UrayoGilberto Rivera / Jaime Balzac / Pablo Mendez / Melvin Gonzalez / Efrain Logo71371239
1196  JAM 3696Main squeezeEammon Delisser / Luke lawrence / tim banks / Ed cabassa66151441
1226  USA 4862VictoriaVal Shestopalov / Alex Birukoff / Alexey Vasiliev / Victor / Ivan Shestopalov14193743
1335  USA 5235CaramellaFrederick Wiedeke / Eric Wiedeke / Glenn Brown / Keith Hankins / Michelle Handy125221554
1484  USA 5484RoadieDan Busch / Nikki Bruno / Rob Rauf / Tom Wells / Kelly Busch201018856
153  USA 2391Bad NeighborMatt Gibbs / Kaci Gibbs / Ginjer Yachechak / Brian Tyrrell / Valerie Bucholtz1317161359
1633  USA 5333Team Exit StrategyRick Jarchow Jr / Jason Chavez / Erick Rodriguez / Brian Schultz1514141659
1723  USA 423Kelly Holmes‑Moon Boat GrantErica Trejo / Kurban Ali / Rich Graef / Mateo Rodriguez / Katie Nelson169231866
1816  USA 3416Scouts' HonorMark Pincus / Scott Giering / Nick Doyle / Corrie Allen / Jillian Aydelotte222062472
1942  USA 4208ShadowplayStephen Carr / Robert Sengberg / Steven Sengberg / Peck Sukphisit1912241772
2062  USA 3262DazeoffJohn Hirsch / Michael Beattie / Jacob Fisker‑Anderson / Arjola Miruku / Ian Hunter1816122874
2198  USA 2998ShockwavePeter Fischel / Logan Pfeifer / John Skinner / Zak McCloud1721212079
2294  USA 2843Muy MuyErnesto Mendoza / Richard Kauffman / Andreas Flebbe / Cris Garcia / Alejandro CarreraDNF2452786
2355  USA 555USA‑555Charles Bumgardner / David Manley / Eilis McLaughlin / Jarad Cronin / Jack Drury2426202292
242  USA 2502SSR DSSeth Rosenthal / Chris Jackson / Mya Kwasniewski / Sandy Thayer / Ansley Turner2123DSQ2195
2591  USA 4591JibaroAlfredo & Dorian Sambolin / Atilio Renon / Cathy Buller / Rachel Hoffman / Crissy Diaz (alternate)27272819101
2658  USA 1758Andele Andeleoliver Waite / Eduardo Luaces / Patricia Murphy / Viviane Savorin / Joaquin Vinaas / Raul Gonzalez25222629102
2717  USA 2217Pigs in HidingBill Wingrove / Tarry Grimsdale / Ed Ruark / Dawn Narramore / Lorelei Sells23282725103
2872  USA 5172Erika IIV. Andres Martinez / Oscar Kramer / Lorie Meser / Elliot Levi / Cristina DeProspero26252926106
2964  USA 4464FortitudeJames Thurlow / Will Kibler / Matt Alburn / Emma Gourain / Michael McCorkendaleDNFDNF2523108

Related Articles

J/24 Campeonato del Centro de la Republica
Nico Cubria's RINA and his crew take the win in Argentina As part of their traditional summer series way "down under", our friends in Argentina love to take their boats to the base of the spectacular snow-capped Andes Mountain range to a gorgeous lake in the foothills known as Lago San Roque. Posted on 13 Apr
The Easter Regatta at Columbia Sailing Club
Chris Stone's Velocidad wins by just one point Sailed in J/24s since 1987, The Easter Regatta has been one of the world's most popular and enduring J/24 events. It offers an excellent mix of shore side events and world-class competition. Posted on 12 Apr
J/24 Victoria State Championship
Fleet unusually over-eager and aggressive on the starting line Recently the Sandringham Yacht Club hosted their annual Victoria States J/24 Championship. The fleet was blessed with gorgeous sunny weather, winds ranging from 4 to 18 kts, the breeze starting northwest and shifting to the southwest on both days. Posted on 12 Apr
2022 J/24 Worlds to be held in Texas USA
Corpus Christi Yacht Club to host the event The International J/24 Class Association (IJCA) will hold its 2022 World Championship at Corpus Christi Yacht Club in Corpus Christi, Texas USA on July 14-22, 2022. Posted on 3 Apr
2021 J/24 World Championship cancelled
While great progress has been made, international travel looks uncertain The International J/24 Class Association (IJCA) and the Parkstone Yacht Club in Poole United Kingdom today announced that the 2021 J/24 World Championship scheduled for September 26 - October 1, 2021 has been cancelled. Posted on 24 Mar
Helly Hansen NOOD Regatta San Diego overall
Argyle Campbell repeats as overall winner Etchells sailor Argyle Campbell won the Helly Hansen NOOD Regatta overall title today in San Diego, winning his fleet by a narrow margin and being selected among the regatta's other class winners to represent San Diego at the NOOD Caribbean Championship Posted on 22 Mar
J/24 European Championship schedule adjusted
The Italian J/24 Class will now host the Europeans in Trieste in 2024 IJCA, in cooperation with the Italian Federation of Sailing (F.I.V.) who delegates Yacht Club Adriaco, Triestina della Vela and Yacht Club Porto San Rocco have agreed to cancel the 2021 J/24 European Championship. Posted on 9 Mar
San Diego to start Helly Hansen NOOD Regatta 2021
Competitive sailors in the region can expect top-quality races on San Diego Bay For nearly three decades, the Helly Hansen NOOD Regatta national series kicked off in St. Petersburg, Fla., in February, but a shift in the 2021 calendar will put Southern California sailing front and center with the Helly Hansen NOOD Regatta San Diego. Posted on 5 Mar
2021 J/24 Midwinter Championship overall
John Mollicone on Jesus Lizard wins the title The 2021 recipient of the Lambert Lai J/24 Midwinter Championship perpetual trophy is John Mollicone on Jesus Lizard. Posted on 1 Mar
2021 J/24 Midwinter Championship day 2
Eight races complete and a new leader Twenty-nine teams again enjoyed ideal conditions on Biscayne Bay for the J/24 Midwinter Championship in Miami, FL. With breeze between 10-15 knots, blue skies and above-average temperatures, four more races went in the books Posted on 28 Feb