Please select your home edition
Noble Marine 2019 - Leaderboard

Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship 2020 - Overall

by Jane Austin 9 Mar 11:34 GMT 7-9 March 2020
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship 2020, final day © Jane Austin

The Taz Racing Team youth team of Will Sargent (19), Jacob McConaghy (18), Ed Reid (14) and Harry Gregory (12) have taken the SB20 Australian fleet by storm winning the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship on Spring Bay in Triabunna.

The young sailors went into the final day of racing two points behind the world number five Brett Cooper (Aeolus) but held their nerve against the talented and quality fleet to take the championship by three points.

Race Nine was a critical race for Sargent who, like most of the fleet, went left off the start line in a move which paid dividends, while Cooper lost ground going right off the line, recroding their worst result of the regatta.

In Race Ten, the wind shifts that dominated the championship caused more headaches for the Race Committee with several general recalls and one race abandonment adding to the frustration and tension on the start line. The 15 knot southerly breeze finally settled enough to get the race away once more and this turned into a match race between Cooper and Sargent. Sargent's game plan was to sail Cooper down the fleet as he was carrying a higher drop from day one of racing, and this paid off for Sargent.

Sargent, who was aiming for a top ten finish and to defend his 2019 youth title, was thrilled with his result winning the overall championship and successfully defending the youth title.

Race Officer Ian Ross reflected on the championship and noted the talent across the fleet with nine of the ten races won by different teams. "The racing over the three days was incredible with so many winners. The last day was tricky but they [Sargent and Cooper] settled it on the water which is the best way it could happen," said Ross.

The SB20 Australian Women's title was won by Felicity Allison (Cook Your Own Dinner), with Bridget Hutton, Issi Declerck and Jill Abel. Nick Rogers (Karabos), sailing with Simon Burrows and Will Keyes was boat of the day winning the final race in convincing style, taking second in Race Nine and defending his Masters' title.

This year was the first time the fleet had sailed on Spring Bay and while they were challenged by the local conditions, the championship provided an opportunity to bring fast one-design sailing to the regional town of Triabunna in an event that was supported by over 40 volunteers both on and off the water from the local community.

Full results available here

Related Articles

SB20 class Hamble Grand Slam update
The latest guidelines mean that crews can sail 3-up Following the updated guidance from the RYA the SB20 class Hamble Grand Slam has now been changed from a double-handed event to a three-person crew, with appropriate social distancing in line with the revised guidelines. Posted on 1 Aug
2020 SB20 Protuguese Nationals at Cascais
29 boats take part in the first major event since lockdown After three months with the competitive calendar suspended in Portugal, where several events were cancelled or postponed, Clube Naval de Cascais was responsible to organize the first national championship in Portuguese territory since Covid-19. Posted on 20 Jul
SB20 UK Series and Nationals 2020 schedule update
Major events postponed to later in the year Following a tremendous start to the year at the rather breezy Frostbite Championships, the Covid-19 situation has impacted our sailing. There is considerable uncertainty surrounding lots of events. Posted on 2 Apr
4th SB20 Cascais Winter Series overall
Cascais is heating up ahead of the 2020 World Championship It was the British team Xcellent who topped the leaderboard with two bullets under their belt. This result puts them fourth in the overall Winter Series, the winner of which for the second consecutive year will receive the perpetual Tony Castro Trophy! Posted on 15 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 2
Cooper takes the reins in Triabunna Tasmanian sailor Brett Cooper (Aeolus) has taken a commanding ten-point lead in the SB20 Australian Championship, sailed from the Spring Bay Boat Club in Triabunna, with one more day of sailing to come. Posted on 9 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 1
Spring Bay swell no problem for Rogers The big seas of Spring Bay are already coming under the spell of experienced SB20 sailor Nick Rogers (Karabos) in the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship. Posted on 7 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Champs preview
2019 champion Michael Cooper will be defending his title The Australian SB20 fleet is contesting its national championship on Spring Bay on the east coast of Tasmania this long-weekend in a first for the fleet. Posted on 5 Mar
2020 SB20 League at Birzebbuga Sailing Club
Organised by the SB20 Malta Association over the weekend The fifth ranking race of the 2019/2020 SB20 league was held on the 15th and 16th February. Organised by the SB20 Malta Association and hosted by Birzebbuga Sailing Club, the event also garnered the support of Yachting Malta. Posted on 18 Feb
2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship overall
Victorian father and son combination sail to victory Victorian father and son combination Chris and Lockie Dare with Ben Lamb from NSW sailed their SB20 Ambition to victory today in the final day of racing in the Tasmanian SB20 Championship. Posted on 16 Feb
2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship, day 1
Victorian Chris Dare leading the Championship Victorian father and son combination Chris and Lochie Dare with Oliver Tweddell (Ambition) are leading the Tasmanian SB20 Championship which is sailed as part of the Banjo's Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta on the River Derwent in Hobart. Posted on 15 Feb