Please select your home edition
Grapefruit Graphics 2019 - Leaderboard
Product Feature
Zhik ZK Seaboot 900
Zhik ZK Seaboot 900

Stanford varsity, four Cal Alumni squads win 16th edition of The Big Sail

by Scott Armstrong 21 Nov 2019 13:27 GMT
At the docks of St. Francis Yacht Club, four members of the Stanford University varsity sailing team pose prior to their victory at the 16th annual Big Sail regatta. From left: Jack Parkin, Wiley Rogers, Jacob Rosenberg, Victoria Thompson. © Chris Ray / St. Francis Yacht Club

At St. Francis Yacht Club, the Stanford varsity captured The Big Sail title for the 15th consecutive year, while crews representing Cal won the other four fleets. With the two schools' marching bands and cheer teams duking it out on the Race Deck, the Bay cooperated with conditions beckoning the best from these highly experienced sailors.

Stanford's winning varsity squad consisted of Jack Parkin, Wiley Rogers, Jacob Rosenberg and Victoria Thompson. For the Cardinal, this Big Sail victory capped off a notable November that included a ICSA Match Race National Championship at Marblehead and a second-place finish at the Fall Pacific Coast Championship in Santa Barbara.

All five slalom fleets competed in a best-of-three format, and remarkably, not a single one of the fleets reached a third race. The Cardinal incumbents and the four winning Bear squads all prevailed two races to none, meaning everyone got to enjoy lunch a little early.

In the Young Alumni fleet for athletes under 40, three-time Berkeley graduate Lance Kim led a crew of Vincent Todosiev, Nicolai Sponholtz and Alexandre Mutricy. Melinda Erkelens skippered Cal alums Vicki Sodaro, Stephanie Wondolleck and Manon Baze to victory in the Women fleet.

Cal's winning foursome in the Masters division (40 and up) featured skipper Jon Perkins, Seadon Wijsen and Bryan McDonald. And in the Grand Masters competition for sailors 60 and up, Tad Lacey headed up the victorious Bear squad with crew Craig Healy, Mickey Caldwell and Eric Gray.

Of the 39 competitors listed on the Big Sail program, 19 are StFYC members, including Sponholtz, Mutricy, Baze, Perkins, Wijsen, Lacey, Healy and Gray.

Related Articles

2020 J/88 North Americans to be sailed in 2021
Because of the varying levels of infection and disruption across the world The J/88 Class Association and St. Francis Yacht Club in San Francisco, CA have determined, because of the varying levels of infection and disruption across the world, that the 2020 J/88 North Americans scheduled for September 17-20 will be raced in 2021 Posted on 19 Jun
2003 San Fran International Regatta video
Some great archive 18ft Skiff action, including the famous Bridge to Bridge race Some great footage by Earthbound Productions of the 18ft Skiffs taking part in the 2003 San Francisco International Regatta, including the famous Ronstan Bridge to Bridge Race. Posted on 3 May
Breault leading California Dreamin J/22 Match Race
A three-stop regatta designed to provide more opportunities for West Coast match racers San Diego Yacht Club and Long Beach Yacht Club have again joined forces with St Francis Yacht Club to continue another year of the popular California Dreamin' Series. Posted on 14 Mar
Classics division to expand at Big Boat Series
Notice of Race posted and entries now being accepted With an eye toward expanding a Classics Division that saw marked interest and exciting race action in its inaugural year, the Rolex Big Boat Series returns to San Francisco Bay, September 17-20, 2020. Posted on 4 Mar
Paul Cayard first sailor inducted into BASHOF
Some sporting greats in the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame The Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame (BASHOF) announced today that local sailor Paul Cayard will join its 2020 induction class this May. In doing so, Cayard becomes the first sailor to be recognized by the BASHOF Posted on 12 Feb
St. Francis YC sweeps annual awards
Daniela Moroz received the second Rolex Award of her career Aboard the USS Midway at San Diego's Navy Pier Thursday night, St. Francis Yacht Club members swept the US Sailing Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards. Posted on 9 Feb
The Pacific Cup goes for the gold
Race to Hawaii teams with with oceanic environmental group Sailors for the Sea The Pacific Cup yacht race, which calls itself "the FUN Race to Hawaii," might be calling itself the GREEN race after the completion of their 40th anniversary race from San Francisco to Oahu this July. Posted on 6 Feb
Far flung and out of town entries for Pacific Cup
Attracting top-tier sailing talent from all over the US and beyond From humble beginnings 40 years ago, the Pacific Cup Yacht Race has grown into an event which attracts top-tier sailing talent from not just the San Francisco Bay area but from all over the United States and beyond. Posted on 6 Feb
Transpac Tahiti Race Commodore's Challenge
Calling all Commodores: Get a free trip to Tahiti! The Transpacific Yacht Club (TPYC) created the Tahiti race almost 100 years ago in 1925, and it has been run only 15 times in this time. The most recent editions were in 2008, with 5 boats, and in 2012, with 2 boats. Posted on 7 Oct 2019
2019 Kilroy Realty U.S. Match Racing Championship
Pearson Potts retains the Prince of Wales Bowl The Kilroy Realty U.S. Match Racing Championship in San Francisco Bay started with two days of long postponements that yielded what chief umpire Glenn Oliver termed "champagne conditions." T Posted on 7 Oct 2019