Please select your home edition
Edition app (top)

National Match Racing Championships grand final at Queen Mary Sailing Club

by Will Carson 19 Nov 2019 19:58 GMT
National Match Racing Championship grand final © Paul Robson

Fourteen teams representing the culmination of 13 qualifiers over the past twelve months of the National Match Racing Championships gathered at Queen Mary Sailing Club in London this weekend to decide who would be the next team to have their names engraved on the Eacott Trophy.

Friday saw racing get under way under grey skies but with a decent breeze making the races tight and quick. By the end of the day 37 races had been completed and it was almost impossible to separate the top few teams with Murray Hampshire, George Haynes, Robbie King, Ali Morrish and Christian Hamilton all undefeated after some very close racing.

Saturday was much clearer but saw much less breeze on the lake. After a slow start in which teams ghosted their way around the course doing their best to minimise mistakes that could slow them down what wind there was finally gave up after just 12 races. Despite looking throughout the afternoon there would not be another opportunity to get any more races completed. The few races that had gone ahead helped to thin the field at the top and only Hamilton, last year's runner up, and King, fresh from winning the Harken Youth Match Racing Championships and the British Keelboat League were still undefeated.

An ominous mist hung over the lake on Sunday morning as the teams rigged their boats in the hope that the light breeze that was there would be enough to get them round the race track. Alas, the light and fickle wind faded quickly and the teams were held onshore to wait and see what would happen. Some three hours, and lots of cups of tea, later a zephyr was teasing the waters of Queen Mary.

After a false start where the wind shut down just after the start, it slowly filled in throughout the afternoon and another 12 races were completed. In the second flight a particularly tough match between Hamilton and Ted Blowers saw Hamilton penalised at the start of the final leg and he could never recover to suffer his first loss. King had continued his winning ways but he too would face defeat in the next flight with a loss to Haynes.

With the light beginning to fade the teams headed ashore while the Race committee began to unpick the two three way ties, the first for first and the second for fourth. Three teams had recorded just one loss over the weekend but having won more races than anyone Blowers was to be crowned National Match Racing Champion for 2019 with King in second and Hamilton in third. The three way tie for fourth saw Haynes ahead of Hampshire and Miles Jones.

After the prize giving Blowers said: "It was great to have the opportunity to compete at such a high calibre event with so many successful match racers. Although the conditions proved tricky, with light and shifty breeze, we found that minimising errors and staying consistent moved us towards the top end of the leader board at the end of Saturday.

"We had an early loss on our scoresheet but did everything we could on the last day with a 100 per cent win rate including taking a win off Christian who'd looked strong all weekend. We were ecstatic to find out that we had claimed the national title! It's amazing to have our name next to some of the world's match racings greats like Ian Williams and Paul Campbell-James. We can't wait for next year!"

For more information on the RYA's National Match Racing Series go to

Overall Results: (full breakdown at

1Ted Blowers, Will Birch-Tomlinson, Sophie Otter, Patrick Bray, Rebecca Coles7–10.88pts
2Robbie King, Alex Smallwood, Callum Smallwood, Bethan Matthew, Ewan Gribbin6–10.86pts
3Christian Hamilton, Arden Tomison, Guy Gillon, Luke Cross5–10.83pts
4George Haynes, Fraser Woodley, Ed Haynes, Rich Sheridan (Fri), Duncan Jamieson (Sat/Sun)6–20.75pts
5Murray Hampshire, David Robertson, Arthur Henderson, Will Heritage6–20.75pts
6Miles Jones, Max Crowe, James Holmes, Robbie Boyd6–20.75pts
7Ali Morrish, Andy McKeown, Sophie Taylor, Ben Howett, Sam Penhaul Smith5–20.71pts
8James Morson, Ben Swyer, Jenny Smallwood, Philip Aldhous, Emily Robertson5–50.50pts
9Oliver Perkins, Charlie Fernandez, Charlie Dorkins, Ben Mueller, James Witts4–60.40pts
10Octavia Owen, Hebe Hemming, Lucy Terkelsen, Nellie Gannon, Scarlett Anderson5–40.36pts
11Josh Adams, Jon Crawford, Theo Philips, Milly Pugh3–70.30pts
12Arran Holman, James Taylor, Billy Vennis‑Ozanne, Ben Hazeldine, Emma Baker2–80.20pts
13Ellie Cumpsty, Rosie Povall, Pip Benson, Verity Hopkins, Georgina Povall (Fri), Emily Au (Sat/Sun)1–80.11pts
14Anna Prescott, Catriona Wallace, Bryan Ormond, Rachel Tilley, Karen Thomas (Fri), Emily Walters (Sat/Sun)0–100pts

Related Articles

Morrish wins Ceilidh Cup for RNCYC
Blustery conditions made for challenging match racing Blustery conditions made for challenging racing for the seven teams competing in the Ceilidh Cup / Scottish Student Sailing (SSS) Match Racing event, hosted at the Royal Northern and Clyde Yacht Club in Rhu, Scotland. Posted on 12 Oct
RYA Summer Match Racing Qualifier 3 at Poole
Home win for Olympian Kate Macgregor and her team It was a home win for Olympian Kate Macgregor and her team at the RYA Summer Match Racing Qualifier 3 over a breeze-on weekend at Poole Yacht Club. Posted on 6 Oct
Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championship
Cumpsty claims crown at the WPNSA The Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championship returned to Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy with glamour conditions and epic racing. Posted on 16 Sep
RYA National Match Racing Qualifier at Burnham
Teams tied for top spots at summer event Light airs at Burnham-on-Crouch made for a close finish in the second event of the RYA National Match Racing Championship Series 2021. Posted on 15 Jul
RYA to launch pioneering online programme
Teaching yacht and keelboat racing essentials For the past twenty years the RYA has been running programmes to help young sailors transition from dinghy racing into yacht and keelboat racing. Posted on 8 Oct 2020
Fresh start to 2020 match racing season
Blowers wins again at the WPNSA High winds were forecast for most of the weekend so it was some trepidation that the eight teams headed out in to Portland Harbour in winds of around 30 knots but it wasn't long before racing was under way. Posted on 14 Jan 2020
Royal Thames YC triumph at British Keelboat League
Eighteen teams representing 16 clubs gathered in the Solent With club honour at stake each team was going to give it their all and so they took advantage of the offer by the host club, the Royal Thames Yacht Club, to get in a quick training session in their J/70s on the Friday morning. Posted on 1 Oct 2018
Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championship
Owen relishes in favourites tag at the WPNSA Octavia Owen and her West Kirby team clinched the 2018 Marlow Ropes Women's Match Racing Championship at Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy on 8-9 September confirming their status as pre-event favourites. Posted on 11 Sep 2018
British Keelboat League qualification complete
After big weekend of action at opposite ends of the country The weekend of 18-19 August saw not one but two British Keelboat League Qualifiers taking place at opposite ends of the country. Posted on 24 Aug 2018
British Keelboat League at Torbay
Clubs battle each other and the scorching heat for honours on the English Riviera West Hoe Sailing Club clinched victory in the latest round of the British Keelboat League as six teams from six clubs did battle in Torbay, Devon. Posted on 25 Jun 2018