Please select your home edition
Ovington 2021 - ILCA 2 - LEADERBOARD

70th East Anglian Offshore Racing Association Prizegiving

by Cathy Brown 13 Nov 2019 15:57 GMT 9 November 2019
Club Trophies during the 70th EAORA 70th Prizegiving © Claire Scott

A very successful 2019 season of offshore racing was celebrated in style at the EAORA Prizegiving Dinner at Medway YC on Saturday November 9.

The 70th anniversary year of EAORA had seen a welcome upsurge in entries right across the board, with yachts ranging in size from Ed Harrison's 28-foot Impala Alchemy to Richard Matthews' Custom Ker 52, Oystercatcher XXXIII taking part.

West Mersea-based Oystercatcher XXXIII dominated the season, winning the overall championship convincingly, the seventh time Richard has won the title over the 70-year history of EAORA - each time in different boats. Meanwhile Haven Ports YC, on the Orwell, claimed all three inter-club trophies.

The evening did not just celebrate those who triumphed on the water. The biggest cheers at the prizegiving were reserved for Brian Bolton, retiring after 21 years as principal race officer. Competitors presented him with a barograph in recognition of his outstanding service to the organisation, and the help and encouragement he has given to all involved.

The equally generous support of his wife Wendy was also recognised, with the presentation of the silver jewellery box, one of the trophies awarded annually at the committee's discretion for meritorious achievement beyond the racecourse.

Thanks go to MS Amlin for generous sponsorship of EAORA's 70th anniversary season.

Full list of prize-winners:

Overall Championship - Blackwater Cup
1 Oystercatcher XXXIII, Custom Ker 52, Richard Matthews, West Mersea YC
2 Victoria, Archambault 31, Adrian and David Gibbons, Colne YC
3 Golden Fleece, S and S 41, Michael Wheeler, West Mersea YC

Class 1 - Carmen Cup
1 Oystercatcher XXXIII
2 Brave, Arcona 410, Richard and Cathy Brown, Haven Ports YC
3 Mercury, Club Swan 45, Ross Eldred, Medway YC

Class 2 - Barnard Cup
1 Victoria
2 Spirit, Sigma 38, Paul Scott, Haven Ports YC
3 Lyra of London, Swan 431, Miles Delap, Royal Corinthian YC

Class 3 - Gunfleet Cup
1 Golden Fleece
2 Borsalino, SJ 36, James Fisher, Haven Ports YC
3 Woozle Hunter, Sigma 33, P Hammond, D Harrington, A Pentelow and A Thomas, Marconi SC

  • Libya Cup (lowest points with no discard): Brave
  • Inter-Club Championship: Haven Ports YC (Spirit and Brave)
  • Red Dragon Trophy (winning team RORC/EAORA East Coast Race): Haven Ports YC (Spirit and Cassiopeia, Fast 42, Dominic Bucholz and Julia Rinck)
  • Nore Command Trophy (winning team MS Amlin Offshore Regatta: Haven Ports YC (ApeX, X332, Robert Leggett and Eclipse, Contessa 33, Des Cowan)
  • Charlie Mills Memorial Trophy (top EAORA boat in RORC/EAORA North Sea Race): Oystercatcher XXXIII
  • WMYC Colonel's Trophy (Pattinson Cup and Buckley Goblets combined): Spirit
  • MYC David Cole Memorial Trophy (Graham Wallis and Cannonball Race combined): Alchemy, Impala, Ed Harrison, Royal Harwich YC
  • David Geaves Trophy (Most miles raced in EAORA and RORC): Spirit
  • Two-Handed Cup: Double Edge, Corby 38, Chris Shram, Scheveningen YC
  • Navigator's Cup: Ken Parsons, Double Edge
  • Star Trophy: Miles Delap, in recognition of lending Lyra of London for the Ausome charity Fastnet campaign

Youth programme awards: (sponsored by Forensic Healthcare Services)

  • Top youth yacht: Oystercatcher XXXIII
  • Top offshore cadet - Payne-James Cup: Hamish Cock, Oystercatcher XXXIII
  • Youth Sailor of the year: Josie Ruffles, Jameerah, J120, Simon Ruffles, Pin Mill SC
  • Cadet with most offshore miles sailed: Arthur Brown, Intense, Corby 33, Lizzie Brown and Paul Wood, Royal Burnham YC

Related Articles

EAORA Week 2022 in Southern Holland
Triumphantly resuming the old favourite East Anglian Offshore Racing Association triumphantly resumed the old favourite East Anglian Week in Southern Holland from July 9 until 15. Posted on 20 Jul
EAORA Pattinson Cup & Ralph Herring weekend
A slow start for the East Anglian fleet A slow start for the East Anglian fleet sponsored by DXB Pumps, but our Dutch Regatta is now only nine weeks away! Posted on 19 May
EAORA 2021 Season
A challenging year for offshore racing 2021 has been a challenging year for offshore racing, due to Covid restrictions, and the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association season faced additional challenges from the weather. Posted on 11 Oct 2021
EAORA Offshore Regatta 2021
Organisers and sailors delighted the event could go ahead With the help of chief race officer Andy Wise a series of courses was devised avoiding too much repetition, and the regatta began in near perfect conditions - sparkling sunshine and a lively sailing breeze on Thursday July 11. Posted on 15 Jul 2021
RORC / EAORA East Coast Race
An imaginative and completely new course takes in old favourites Hosted by Haven Ports YC, the race started and finished in Harwich, with an imaginative and completely new course, taking in old favourites like Longsand Head, Kentish Knock, and the East Goodwin Light Vessel. Posted on 8 Jun 2021
EAORA ready for online entries
Friendly offshore racing on the East Coast of England East Anglian Offshore Racing Association (EAORA) organises and promotes offshore racing on the East Coast of England, combining great racing with friendship and camaraderie. Posted on 15 May 2021
EAORA cancel remainder of 2020 series
But shares a fantastic illustration at the same time The EAORA (East Anglian Offshore Racing Association) Committee has decided to cancel the remaining 2020 series due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We have waited as long as possible before this decision. Posted on 6 Jul 2020
Josie Ruffles named Young Sailor of the Year
EAORA recognises achievement of 2000 miles hard yacht racing Royal Hospital School pupil, Josie Ruffles, 17, from Suffolk's Shotley Peninsula, has had an extraordinary year when it comes to her sailing accomplishments. Posted on 20 Sep 2019
EAORA Buckley Goblets
Was it a new record for West Mersea to Ostend? Was it a new record? Richard Matthews' custom Kerr 51 Oystercatcher XXXIII completed the Buckley Goblets 85-mile course in a remarkable six hours and nine and a half minutes. Posted on 16 Sep 2019
EAORA Houghton Cup & Amazon Cup
Racing from Burnham to Brightlingsea and back over the weekend Unusually good Bank Holiday weekend weather - blue skies, blistering heat, but rather a shortage of breeze - made the penultimate race weekend of the 2019 EAORA season one to remember. Posted on 28 Aug 2019