Please select your home edition

Back to the Future: 120 years of the One Ton Cup

by Louay Habib 16 Sep 17:53 BST 18-22 September 2019
Final day - One Ton Cup - FAST40 Race Circuit Round 5 © VR Sport Media

For the fourth year in succession, the FAST40+ Class will be competing for the One Ton Cup, created by the Cercle de la Voile de Paris (CVP - Paris Yacht Club) in 1899.

The 2019 edition will be sailed in French waters for the first time since 2002, hosted by La Société des Régates du Havre. This year is the 120th anniversary of the first regatta, with the One Ton Cup returning to France, where it all began.

Racing for the FAST40+ Class for the One Ton Cup starts on Thursday 19th September with four days of action concluding on Sunday 22nd September. The owner driven hi-tech race boats, with pro-am teams, will compete in up to ten races.

PRO Stuart Childerley has the option of organising short sharp windward leeward races longer and round the buoys courses. Social events are part and parcel of the FAST40+ Class with après sailing gatherings, a regatta dinner at the famous La Société des Régates du Havre clubhouse, and the presentation of the world famous One Ton Cup to the winning team.

Established in 1838, La Société des Régates du Havre is the oldest yacht club in France and is no stranger to the One Ton Cup. In 1958 the regatta was won in Le Havre by R.S.G. Perry's Royal Thames from the drawing board of the famous 12 metre yacht designer David Boyd. The win for Royal Thames was the first by a British team for over 30 years. In 1965, 14 teams from eight nations competed in Le Havre for the One Ton Cup.

Hans Albrecht's Sparkman & Stephens designed One Tonner Diana III was victorious, the first Danish team to ever lift the trophy. In 1967 the One Ton Cup returned to Le Havre, Hans Beilken's Optimist was the winner racing his Dick Carter designed Optimist, winning the cup for Germany for the first tim since 1911. Hans Beilken's Optimist retained the trophy in 1968.

Past winners of the One Ton Cup include many legends in the sport of sailing; Syd Fischer, Harold Cudmore, Henrik Soderlund, King Harald V of Norway, Paul Cayard, Francesco de Angelis, Bertrand Pacé, John Kostecki, Thierry Peponnet, and Russell Coutts. The current holder is Niklas Zennstrom's Rán Racing, which will be competing to retain the trophy in a highly competitive fleet. Peter Morton's Girls on Film lifted the famous trophy in 2016 and 2017.

FAST40+ Class Facebook page:
Official website:

Related Articles

2019 FAST40+ Race Circuit Round 6 overall
Girls on Film take Round 6. Rán wins the season High winds well above the class rules prevented any racing on the last day of FAST40+ Race Circuit Round 6. Peter Morton's Girls on Film is the winner of the regatta, but only on countback from Filip Engelbert's Elvis. Posted today at 5:32 am
2019 FAST40+ Race Circuit Round 6 day 1
Season on a knife edge The final regatta of the 2019 FAST40+ Season eventually got under way with two windward leeward races in the Solent in super-light conditions. The pewter grey conditions did not dull the racing one iota with close battles right through the fleet. Posted on 13 Oct
FAST40+ Race Circuit Finale preview
Niklas Zennstrom's Rán leads the charge but only by three points Four teams are vying for the final podium position; Tony Dickin's Jubilee, Steve Cowie's Zephyr, Filip Engelbert's Elvis, and Ed Fishwick's Redshift. The FAST40+ fleet will be returning to the Solent for three days of exciting racing. Posted on 8 Oct
FAST40+ One Ton Cup overall
Rán lifts the prestigious trophy for a second time in Le Havre Niklas Zennstrom's Rán has retained the One Ton Cup, winning the prestigious trophy in Le Havre for the second time. It was never easy for Rán who won five of the ten races sailed, often by just a few seconds. Posted on 22 Sep
FAST40+ One Ton Cup day 3
The third day featured more brilliant sunshine but a lighter breeze The penultimate day of the 2019 One Ton Cup featured two races with downwind starts and round the buoys courses. The downwind spinnaker action was pulsating, an incredible sight, as the fleet took off from the get-go. Posted on 21 Sep
FAST40+ One Ton Cup day 2
Niklas Zennstrom's Rán leads by one point after six races 18 knots, gusting over 20, with a rough sea state, had the FAST40+ fleet at full speed on the second day of the One Ton Cup. The FAST40+ fleet enjoyed a full-on day of thrilling racing with enthralling action. Posted on 20 Sep
FAST40+ One Ton Cup day 1
Girls on Film lead after two wins Peter Morton's Girls on Film leads the regatta after scoring two race wins on the opening day of the One Ton Cup. On the water jury Bill Edgerton reported a wind range of 15-18 knots oscillating around 85º and 65º during the three races held. Posted on 19 Sep
The International Paint Poole Regatta
Shaping up to be even bigger in 2020 The International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 is developing to be the biggest event yet, with the organisers pleased to announce that round two of the inaugural IC37 Championship will be hosted over the weekend. Posted on 5 Sep
2019 FAST40+ National Championship overall
Rán wins the HYS Cup in fantastic Solent conditions The expertly sailed Swedish entry took the HYS Cup with 7 wins in 8 races, their apparent stroll to victory belied by the constant pressure applied by a highly-competitive fleet that snapped at their heels throughout the three-day event. Posted on 26 Aug
2019 FAST40+ National Championship day 2
Steady conditions in the Solent on the second day Filip Engelbert's Swedish team on Elvis remain in contention for a strong finish with 22 points, while Ed Fishwick's Redshift and James Neville's Ino XXX both enjoyed close racing as a sparkling second day came to a close. Posted on 24 Aug