Please select your home edition
GJW Direct 2020

Winter Series at Derwent Sailing Squadron - Overall

by Peter Campbell 15 Sep 2019 12:40 BST 15 September 2019
Division 3 boats racing off Battery Point © Peter Watson

Steve Harrison and his crew are members of Australia's southernmost sailing club, Port Esperence Sailing Club at Dover in southern Tasmania and for five weekends during Tasmania's chilly winter they have driven from Dover to Hobart to sail Temptation in the Derwent Sailing Squadron's Winter Series.

And four times they have gone home winners of Division 2, including today.

In winning its fourth race of the Battery World Winter Series, Temptation, a Thomson 7, clinched overall victory with a mere nine seconds on corrected time to from Young Magic (Peter Farley). In its maiden race, Mark Ballard's latest 42 South, placed third.

After discarding its race two result, a second, Temptation finished with a net four points in Division 2. Second overall went to Neil Snare's Winstead Wines on 10 points, third to the team- owned Wildfire on 17 points.

"We had sublime conditions for the final race of the Winter Series, sunny skies, a relatively warm day with light and variable winds before the start giving way to a sparkling west-north-westerly breeze of 12-15 knots," DSS sailing manager Peter Watson said.

The five Farr 40s in Division 1 enjoyed "champagne sailing", according to Watson, with Rolex 75th Sydney Hobart Yacht Race entrant 2Unlimited (Greg Prescott) clinching the Division 1 trophy with a second place to Wargames (Wayne Banks-Smith) with an overall net score of seven points.

Hughie Lewis and Gary Cripps' Guilty Pleasures VI came in third in the final race to take second overall on nine points, with Peregrine (David Stephenson) third on 12 points.

A final race win clinched Division 3 for Motley (Stephan Lubach) by two points from Groove, skippered by recently elected DSS Rear Commodore Will Justo) with Serenity (Graham Hall) third overall on a countback.

Related Articles

Mid-July return of Derwent yacht racing?
The Combined Clubs Committee finalises plans for a proposed joint six-race Winter Pennant Series Sunday, July 19 is looking as the possible date for the resumption of yacht racing on Hobart's River Derwent. Posted on 23 May
SB20 Australian Championship overall
Young guns take the crown The Taz Racing Team youth team of Will Sargent (19), Jacob McConaghy (18), Ed Reid (14) and Harry Gregory (12) have taken the SB20 Australian fleet by storm winning the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship on Spring Bay in Triabunna. Posted on 9 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 2
Cooper takes the reins in Triabunna Tasmanian sailor Brett Cooper (Aeolus) has taken a commanding ten-point lead in the SB20 Australian Championship, sailed from the Spring Bay Boat Club in Triabunna, with one more day of sailing to come. Posted on 9 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 1
Spring Bay swell no problem for Rogers The big seas of Spring Bay are already coming under the spell of experienced SB20 sailor Nick Rogers (Karabos) in the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship. Posted on 7 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Champs preview
2019 champion Michael Cooper will be defending his title The Australian SB20 fleet is contesting its national championship on Spring Bay on the east coast of Tasmania this long-weekend in a first for the fleet. Posted on 5 Mar
Welcome sign, not toll booth, nor boom gate
The question of participation is the proverbial whipping boy of yachting Quite possibly, and even more so than keels of Unobtanium and constantly dynamic sail membranes filled with Helium, the question of participation in our sport is the proverbial whipping boy of yachting. Posted on 9 Feb
Harcourt Hobart King of the Derwent
NSW yacht Zen crowned the overall winner The NSW yacht Zen has been crowned overall winner of this year's Harcourt Hobart King of the Derwent. The TP52 owned and skippered by Gordon Ketelbey sailed a perfect tactical race to finish 3rd over the line and win IRC on handicap. Posted on 2 Jan
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race prize-giving
Victorian sailor Tim Olding and his crew declared the overall winner Its official, Victorian sailor Tim Olding and his crew sailing the Summit 35, Vertigo, was this afternoon declared the overall winner of the Riversdale Estate Wines L2H 2019. Posted on 31 Dec 2019
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race overall
Smith wins eighth consecutive line honours Hobart sailor Gary Smith has again taken out line honours in this year's Launceston to Hobart Yacht Race. Smith sailing his Bakewell-White yacht Fork in the Road has defended his title for his 8th consecutive line honours win. Posted on 29 Dec 2019
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race day 3
Vertigo takes the handicap lead Veritgo, from the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria, has taken the handicap lead in this year' s Riversdale Estate Wines Launceston to Hobart yacht race. Posted on 29 Dec 2019