Please select your home edition
Edition app (top)
Product Feature
Spinlock ALTO
Spinlock ALTO

Clipper Marine Poole Yacht Racing Association Two-Handed Mini Series

by Keith Lovett 24 Jul 2019 17:54 BST 20 July 2019

Poole Yacht Racing Association staged its annual two-handed mini series in Poole Bay on Saturday, 20th July. With glorious sailing conditions entries in a combined fleet of smaller class three and four boats gathered under the watchful eye of race officer Dick Linford from the Royal Motor Yacht Club on board the stunning 42' motor yacht 'Lady Elle'. Sunshine and 16 knot South Westerly welcomed yachts closely racing under the popular VPRS rating system.

With Race One under way, 'Shebeen' in the hands of Ken Morgan and Peter Kent were soon leading the fleet and whilst retaining the lead and ultimately line honours, it was the beautiful 1939 Camper & Nicholson Xyris Class 30' Sloop 'Ampere' sailed by Nik Kidd and Chris Harrison that were to save their time and take the win. Six of these classic sloops were built making it one of the first ever production yachts, costing the princely sum of £850 including what were termed working sails.

'Genesis' (one of two racing) Stuart and Shane Terry were to take second and a slightly more modern 1972 Ecume de Mer 'MS Amlin QT' raced by Mark Webley and Keith Lovett securing third.

With wind increasing a well fought start saw 'Shebeen' again taking the lead and 'MS Amlin QT' OCS and struggling to get back to correct their miscalculation.

'Genesis' was again to take the win, with 'Shebeen' holding on to second place and 'MS Amlin QT' having had to fight their way back following a very late start picking up third.

With winds increasing further and gusting up to 25 knots the final race of the day an ad hoc course around Poole Bay finishing at the entrance to the Poole Swash Channel was soon under way.

'Genesis', 'Shebeen' and 'MS Amlin QT' all working to win the start with 'MS Amlin' OCS for the second time, allowing 'Ampere' to climb over them as they returned. On the initial beat across to Hook Sands 'Ampere' suffered a loud bang from the end of the boom heard across the fleet as their outhaul fitting decided to retire after 75 years of service!

'MS Amlin QT' went into overdrive sailing through the fleet and whilst they couldn't physically catch 'Shebeen' taking line honours for the third time, finishing just behind 'Heat Beat' sailed by Joe Viveash and Ben Lewis the small Ecume was to secure the final race win.

Two-handed racing had proven challenging in particular for those using spinnakers in the gusty conditions often exceeding 20 knots but all agreed a great experience.

'Shebeen' despite taking line honours in all three races, now needs a new Genoa as a result, hence will probably be sailing even faster soon.

Tired but happy competitors retired to the Royal Motor Yacht Club to enjoy a now infamous PYRA Rendezvous courtesy of sponsors Clipper Marine. The day ended with teams enjoying sunshine on the RMYC veranda ensuring that the social activity mirrored a great day on the water.

Related Articles

Entries are open for Poole Regatta
Over 160 yachts are expected to compete for the Canford Cup Enter the International Paint Poole Regatta today at Competitive racing across 17 classes will be taking place from 23rd to 25th May 2020 in scenic Poole Bay and Harbour. Posted on 28 Jan
Are you Doing the Double in May 2020?
International Paint Poole Regatta & Round the Island Race only days apart In 2020 only five days separate the much loved International Paint Poole Regatta and the world famous Round the Island Race. For yachts participating in both events, exclusive special benefits have been arranged in Poole to provide a seamless experience. Posted on 3 Jan
Seventeen classes confirmed to compete
At the International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 Seventeen top racing classes have confirmed that the International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 will be part of their racing circuits next year. Posted on 1 Nov 2019
MS Amlin PYRA Poole - Folly - Poole Races
24 entries for the final passage races of the year With 24 entries the final Poole Yacht Racing Association passage races of the year looked like they would be a well supported event. Posted on 27 Sep 2019
Yarmouth and Back
A Class 3 perspective from Poole Yacht Racing Association In Poole Bay, our Race Officer, Peter Biggs, on 'The Grey Silkie' our Committee boat for the weekend, got all yachts away on time in a fair northery breeze beat back to the shore. Posted on 12 Sep 2019
The International Paint Poole Regatta
Shaping up to be even bigger in 2020 The International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 is developing to be the biggest event yet, with the organisers pleased to announce that round two of the inaugural IC37 Championship will be hosted over the weekend. Posted on 5 Sep 2019
PYRA Dorset Coast Racing
Instead of the cancelled Poole to Lymington race With a Poole Yacht Racing Association Race from Poole to Lymington cancelled on Saturday, with 35 knots plus forecast, Poole's PYRA fleet made their way into the Bay for a replacement two race's on Sunday 9th June. Posted on 12 Jun 2019
PYRA Royal Motor Yacht Club Easter Mini Series
17 yachts racing under VPRS from Poole Bay to the Solent Seventeen yachts racing under VPRS made their way into Poole Bay on Easter Friday for the Poole Yacht Racing Association Spring Series racing to the Solent, under the auspices of the Royal Motor Yacht Club. Posted on 25 Apr 2019
International Paint Poole Regatta 2020
Classes already committing to the event The International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 is still 17 months away, but that has not stopped many sailing classes committing to making Poole a significant event in their 2020 racing calendars. Posted on 24 Jan 2019
MS Amlin wraps up PYRA in the rain
20 boats tempted out, despite unappealing forecast Poole Yacht Racing Associations final outing of the year was due to be a race to the Folly at Cowes and return over the last weekend. With 50 plus knots predicted the decision was made to limit to two back to back races in Poole Bay on Saturday. Posted on 26 Sep 2018