Please select your home edition
CoastWaterSports 2014
Product Feature
McLube SailKote Dry Lubricant - ML08
McLube SailKote Dry Lubricant - ML08

Laser Masters Open at Notts County Sailing Club

by David Eberlin 26 Mar 15:39 GMT 23-24 March 2019

The Laser Masters took place at Notts County Sailing Club in late March. The UKLA splits the fleet into Standard and Radial rigs, and a variety of groups such as Master, Grand Master and the like. Around 40 sailors entered and the event was sponsored by: Laser Performance, Tideway Investment, Wildwind, Southeast Sailboats, Fernhurst, Noble Marine Insurance, and Rooster.

Saturday dawned with some sunshine and light winds and the first race got under way (after a recall for the standard fleet) soon after 12. Unfortunately the wind swung soon after so the windward leg changed at times. Paul Williamson (Staunton) won the first race in the standard and Ian Jones (Dovestone) in the Radials. Lunch followed and everyone went out for the second race, only to have the wind die away to a flat calm, the racing was soon abandoned. The evening saw a talk by Alan Davis using some footage from the day and a roast dinner meal.

Sunday was a much better day wind wise, as a westerly set in, and whilst gusty was steadier in direction. Racing was underway around 10am and then it was back to back fitting in five races. The Standard fleet saw some close racing with Stuart Hudson (Keyhaven) winning two races, but Alan Davis took three firsts on Sunday so winning the overall title by a point. They were followed by Simon Stonehouse (Rutland), Tim Keithley (West Riding) and Richard Mason (Notts County) all within seven points of each other.

The Radials were a little more clear cut with Ian Jones winning another three races to take the title followed by Rob Cage (Thames) and John Reay.

More photos can be found at

Overall Results:

Radial Rigs

PosSail NoHelmClubCategoryR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st213589Ian JONESDovestone SCM12111(DNC)6
2nd213641Rob CAGEThames SCGM‑111242110
3rd198964John REAYRYAGM3‑10634521
4th171914Nicolas LIVINGSTONEOxford S.c.GGM6352‑10824
5th214300Max HUNTWhitstableGM54106‑12227
6th213093Mike KINNEARGrafham Water S CL‑77753729
7th177861Alison STEVENSASAAM4887‑9330
8th198155Steve TAYLORChelmarshGM‑10541061035
9th204031David CATTOHunts SCM‑15123118438
10th210779John MASTERSChipstead SCGGM2698(DNF)DNC41
11th212396Adrian ELWOODQueen Mary SCGM9‑1313137648
12th152585Sue RITCHIENewport Boat CluybGM8‑15121251249
13th207984Alison HUTTONBudworth SCGGM‑131111911951
14th210360David KILLEYMaidenhead SCGGM1291415(DNC)DNC66
15th209933Julian LLOYDNotts County SCM1414‑1514131166

Standard Rigs

PosSail NoHelmClubCategoryR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st213699Alan DAVISOxford SCGM‑6411129
2nd204644Stuart HUDSONKeyhavenM‑31323110
3rd215174Simon STONEHOUSERutland SCM‑227254523
4th214942Tim KEIGHLEYWest Riding SCM5‑13742725
5th211259Richard MASONNCSCM228‑1110830
6th209831Graham MACWHIRTER GM46588‑1131
7th213580Stuart BELFIELDLeigh and LowtonGM7‑181236432
8th213463Guy NOBLEQueen Mary AilingCGM9144(DNF)7337
9th196556John CURRANWembley SCM‑139679637
10th214299Peter MCCHRYSTALBlackpool & Fleetwood Y CluboM8811105(DNC)42
11th211870Joza CICWembley SCM11313913(DNF)49
12th191042Andy SMITHNCSCM10(DNF)915111257
13th215302Tom TINDALLWembley SCAM1210.5‑1513121057.5
14th182219Malcolm MARSDENBlackpool and Fleetwood YCGM1716106(BFD)958
15th207732Paul WILLIAMSONStaunton Harold SCGM15162117(DNC)60
16th213639John DICKINSONChelmarshGM15‑231814141475
17th173520Andy STEWARTNCSCM1810.5‑2317151878.5
18th207700Julian WILKINSChichester YCGM24(DNF)1912161384
19th213583Neil GARRISONBassenthwaite S Club CumbriaGGM141720‑22181786
20th135448Carl AVERYNCSCM2115‑2416201587
21st196748John SCOTTNCSCGM20‑241718191690
22nd195252Phil KILBURNNotts County SCGM19191419(DNC)DNC98
23rd143090Adrian JONESNotts County SCGM‑2521.521232119105.5
24th130400John WELLSNCSCGGM162022(DNF)DNCDNC112
25th215231Keith CREBBINBlackpool and FleetwoodGM2321.5(DNF)20DNCDNC118.5
26th215157David SUMMERVILLEGrafham Water SCGM(DNF)12DNCDNFDNCDNC120

Related Articles

Sailors selected for the RYANI Youth Programme
36 youngsters from Northern Ireland will be supported along their journey The sailors, aged from 12 to 17, will be supported along their sailing journey, in preparation for national and international competition. Posted on 19 Nov
New XHL makes eXtremly Happy Laser sailors
New Laser specific vang block, A2031XHL-873 Introducing a new Laser specific vang block, A2031XHL-873 from the UK hardware manufacturer Allen. Posted on 19 Nov
Mitre10 MEGA Laser Nationals in New Plymouth
The Mitre10 MEGA Laser Nationals will be held in New Plymouth 16-19th January 2020. The Mitre10 MEGA Laser Nationals will be held in New Plymouth 16-19th January 2020. This event will be a lead-up for many NZ sailors planning to compete in the Worlds in Melbourne/Geelong in February/March. Posted on 17 Nov
Laser 2020 Australian Championships preview
Sailors started to arrive in Melbourne for what promises to be a massive summer of Laser sailing Turkey was the first country to send their boats, via airfreight, while the German team had to unload their shipping container in pouring rain on November 2 - hardly an ideal welcome to sunny Australia. Posted on 13 Nov
Gladwell's Line: In the aftermath of Bermuda
A look at some of the issues of the past week or so, including the America's Cup A look at some of the issues of the past week or so, including the America's Cup and particularly Emirates Team New Zealand's progress with their first AC75, plus the World Sailing Annual Conference's wins and fails, and more. Posted on 10 Nov
Noble Marine Laser Standard Inland Championships
Part of Sailingfast Youth Series, at Grafham Unfortunately, due to gale force winds, the first day of racing at the Inland National Championships was called off. This meant that the intention was to sail four races in 4-7 knots on the Sunday. Posted on 7 Nov
TJV drama, Mini Transat update, Paris 2024 updates
Latest Sail-World USA newsletter from David Schmidt If you're an ocean-racing junkie, November can be a thirsty month in North America. Fortunately, this year's fix comes in the form of the biennial Transat Jacques Vabre, which involves doublehanded racing aboard IMOCA 60s, Multi 50s and Class 40s. Posted on 5 Nov
Laser Under-21 Worlds at Split, Croatia overall
Three races held on the final day to make it a championship Juan Pablo Cardozo of Argentina won the U-21 Standard Men's championship, and also the U-19 award. Wiktoria Golebiowska of Poland won the U-21 Radial Women's championship. Posted on 2 Nov
Laser Under-21 Worlds at Split, Croatia day 5
The trend continues... Much like yesterday, everyone was up bright and early. Sailors were rigging boats before 0700 and race committee left the harbor by 0730 for the 0900 first signal. Posted on 1 Nov
Laser Under-21 Worlds at Split, Croatia day 4
Slowly, Slowly A promising start to a short lived morning of racing. Golf flag was lowered at 0750 and sailors began launching for a 0900 start time. Posted on 1 Nov