Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2019 - Leaderboard

Governors Cup presented for Cape to St Helena Race 2018/2019

by Vince Thompson 16 Jan 09:32 GMT 26 December 2018 - 7 January 2019
Ivan Shamley holds the Waterman plaque (overall winner), Governor Lisa Honan presents the Governors Cup to John Levin (skipper of Indabo), and Ken Bosenberg holds an engraved platter awarded to those who help make the race a triumphant achievement © Vince Thompson

The winners in the various categories for the Cape to St Helena received their trophies from the Governor of St Helena, Her Excellency Lisa Honan. A special presentation evening at Plantation House, the Governor's official residence, was held last Friday, 11th January.

John Levin, owner and skipper of 'Indaba' a Van der Stadt 34 was the overall winner and winner in the monohull class. Together with his two crew, Ken Bosenburg and Ivan Shamley, John was presented with the Governors Cup and the Waterman Trophy. The final race times are calculated using a handicap system which puts all yachts, whether racers or cruisers, on an equal footing.

The first yacht across the finish line on actual time was Banjo, a Farrier F9AX trimaran. Skippered by Keith Webb with his crew, Brad Stemmett and Sarel Van Der Merwe, Banjo was presented with the Bellows Plate.

Several people were presented with engraved platters sponsored by the Royal Cape Yacht Club as a token of appreciation for the part they played in organisation the Cape to St Helena race. These included the Governor, John Levin in his role as chairman of the Cape to St Helena race committee, Helena Bennett Director of Tourism, Hannah Herne on behalf of the Herne family and Neil George and Monica Constantine as official timekeepers. Neil and Monica made sure other members of the Yacht Club - who spent many hours working at the club as the race yachts arrived came forward to be part of the presentation.

Royal Cape Yacht Club will organise the 2020 Cape to St Helena Race

John Levin announced at the Plantation House trophy presentation evening that the Royal Cape Yacht Club had been chosen to organise the next Cape to St Helena race in 2020. John, who is chairman of the race committee for the 2018 race, will not take on this leading role for the next race. John is 77 and is ready to pass the responsibility on to someone else.

He is very pleased to have finalised the arrangements for the 2020 race two years ahead. Certain aspects of the race organisation do take time to finalise, including finding the main sponsor for the event. Race entrants also say they need more time than was available for this race to make sure their yachts are maintained to peak racing condition. There is already plenty of enthusiasm for the next Cape to St Helena race in 2020 and hopes that it will be a bigger and better race.

Related Articles

Top internationals invited to Governor's Cup
53rd annual Governor's Cup will feature top youth match racing skippers from AUS, DEN, GBR, NZL, USA 53rd annual Governor's Cup will feature top youth match racing skippers from AUS, DEN, GBR, NZL, USA and SWE. With several highly-ranked match-racing skippers (of any age), "GovCup" may again qualify for Grade 1 status, unprecedented for youth events. Posted on 22 Apr
Cape to St Helena Race
New Year's celebrations at sea for these crews 'Indaba', a 34 foot Van der Stadt, is the overall winner. Finish date Sunday 6th January 18:56:22. The 'Indaba' is also the winner in the monohull class. Posted on 10 Jan
Cape to St Helena: The Governor's Cup is back!
Twelve yachts have confirmed their attendance It's been 4 years, but the Governor's Cup is back! 12 yachts have confirmed their attendance and the race, 'Cape to St Helena', kicks off on 26 December in association with the Royal Cape Yacht Club. Posted on 11 Sep 2018
Governor's Cup at Balboa day 1
Price (AUS) and Takahashi (NZL) tied for lead The world's top-ranked match racer, Harry Price (AUS), and his recent match racing nemesis, Leonard Takahashi (NZL), finished the first day of Balboa Yacht Club's 52nd Annual Governor's Cup Youth Match Racing Championship tied for the lead. Posted on 18 Jul 2018
Black Cat wins Governor's Cup 2015
Surprise win for Dave Immelman and team Dave Immelman and his team on Black Cat (Dudley Dix 38) have won the Governor's Cup 2015 after their nearest rival – Avanti – who finished ahead in the early hours this morning – declared they had switched on their engine. Posted on 9 Jan 2015
Banjo breaks the race record
In the South African Governor's Cup Kevin Webb, Sarel van der Merwe, and Brad Stemmett sailing Banjo, a Farrier F9AX trimaran, have broken the 1,750-mile Governor's Cup Race record from Simon's Town to St Helena with a time of 9 days 13 hours and 36 seconds. Posted on 6 Jan 2015
South African Governor's Cup update
Fleet creeps towards St Helena in light airs Having enjoyed nearly a week of good, consistent winds, crews in the Governor's Cup fleet are currently suffering from lack of speed as their yachts wallow in light airs 400 or so miles off the African coast. Posted on 2 Jan 2015
South African Governor's Cup update
Fleet settles in to downwind sleigh ride to St Helena After a hectic start from Simon's Town on Saturday (27 January) when winds gusted over 30kts the 17-strong Governor's Cup fleet has settled into a downwind sleigh ride on its 1,700 nautical mile course towards St Helena. Posted on 31 Dec 2014
South African Governor's Cup underway
Big winds make for exciting start from Simon's Town Lively conditions with winds reaching over 30kts made for an exciting start for the 2014/15 Governor's Cup. This 1700-nautical mile race from False Bay Yacht Club, Simon's Town, South Africa, to the remote Atlantic island of St Helena. Posted on 27 Dec 2014
5 minutes with Bram Weller
Chairman of the Governor's Cup Yacht Race 2014 The 27th December 2014 marks the end of an 18 year era as the Governor's Cup Yacht Race from False Bay Yacht Club in Simon's Town, South Africa to Jamestown, St Helena, takes place for the last time in its current format. Posted on 19 Dec 2014