Please select your home edition
Ancasta Botin Fast40

2019 Flying Fifteen Australian Nationals at Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron - Overall

by Chris Mandalov 6 Jan 17:25 GMT 31 December 2018 - 5 January 2019
2019 Flying Fifteen Australian Nationals final day © Chris Mandalov

Nine races were completed over a five day regatta at the Flying 15 Australian National Championships held at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron.

Nick and Enfys Jerwood, from the South of Perth Yacht Club, dominated the regatta with four first placings and three second placings.

The Performance Handicap trophy for the series was won by Ffast Lane 3 helmed by John Wilson. Racing was abandoned on the fourth day of the regatta due to strong winds. A call was made early in the day and skippers and crew were given the day off for sightseeing and relaxation.

Three races were run on the final day of the regatta. These included a mixture of sausage and triangle courses. Conditions were pleasant with 12 14 kts but the water remained choppy from the strong winds the day before. Races 7 and 8 were won by Ineffable (Nick and Enfys Jerwood) and, as they had already sealed the championship win, they decided to sit out the last race.

This regatta saw the introduction of the inaugural Matt Owen Trophy for the highest placed female in the Australian Championships. This was won by Enfys Jerwood as crew on Ineffable. Runner up was Phillipa Packer who helmed Firefly.

An Invitational Race was held on Day 1 of the regatta in the sheltered Port River due to 20 - 22 kt wind conditions. The Uffa Fox Trophy for this race was won by Glamour Buoys (Greg Leaversuch and Peter Barblett, RFBYC).

First place in the division for old Classic boats was won by Scallywag (Marc Read, Christies Sailing Club).

Presentations were held in the prestigious upstairs dining room at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoBow NoBoat NameSkipperCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9Pts
1AUS398617INEFFABLENick JerwoodEnfys JerwoodSOPYC22[4]12111[29C]10
2406312FIREFLYPhilippa PackerDean McaullayRFBYC4[6]231[8]2.55219.5
3385925TUFFAN UPDavid YuChris NelsonRFBYC3[7]3255[10]7126
4AUS399216GLAMOUR BUOYSGreg LeaversuchPeter BarblettRFBYC[29O]517[9]22.56326.5
539412ARKDavid TabbDave BennettTBA[29O]164[19]454529
6365123SURPRIZE BY GIVERAUSStephen Fries SYC5356[17]642[7]31
739809FFAST LANE 3John Wilson RFBYC88[11]5476[11]947
8388027WHERE THE BLOODY HELCraig RaineyIan RaineyGLYC110[12]869118[14]53
9389024THE FLYING FLAMINGOLewis DaviesJohn RadnellDBYC74[18]1212[23]123656
10385821SECOND BREAKFFASTKaren DawesRussell DawesSoPYC6971015[18]9[20]1167
11385510FFLASHPOINTPeter RookePaul DunbarSoPYC9[28O]9137[19]18.510470.5
12AUS391028YES NO MAYBE!Jennifer SimsAdam SempleSoPYC/RFBYC[15][15]1598157131077
13388713FISHPhillip Parish RSAYS11112018[22]14[21]12894
14398318NELSONS LOOSE CANNONPeter GroomJohn MuscioGYC1612[21]1511[22]8141995
15393522SHEWHOMUSTBEOBEYEDJohn HassenKevin GriffithsSoPYC10[28O]1014[23]1122191298
16AUS406226UP SHIP CREEKChris VillaMark HolmesLMYC[29O][28F]191910101591799
17385419RELIANCE FFENTY FFOONicole MagyarLes KearneyTCBYC12[28S]816201716[23]13102
1837674BUBBLESKen BubbLee BubbTCBYC1714[22]1113[20]131618102
19396411FFOREIGNERSimon LucasAileen LucasPRSC131314[29F]1812[20]1820108
203781116Stephen PidgeonStuart AdamsonGYC141817[22]21131717[23]117
2137198FFAST LANEJeff VanceGreg VanceSoPYC18221620[27]16[29F]1515122
2239303AUSSIE FALCONDale CollingsWayne FallowsMSC/DBYC[29F][29C]13173329F29C29C123
23AUS39847FAFFINCarl PetterssonKristine PetterssonSoPYC1916[29Q]21162114[22]16123
2438365EFFEFFEXGary RichardsonKarl GottsDSC2123[25]2414[26]242122149
2534756ENUFF ROPEGreg HowellLeanne HowellSoPYC22172323[25][25]232421153
26398815FRESHWATERMichael OconnorConor BrownDBYC20192425242418.5[28F][29C]154.5
27167120SCALLYWAGMarc Read CSC2320[26]2626[27]252524169
28234514FLYING SQUADCraig BirbeckJohn PhillipsCBBC24212727[28][28]262625176

Related Articles

15 boats contest NZ Flying Fifteen Nationals
The 2019 Flying Fifteen New Zealand Nationals were sailed from the Royal Akarana Yacht Club in Auckl The 2019 Flying Fifteen New Zealand Nationals were sailed from the Royal Akarana Yacht Club in Auckland from 7 - 9 February, 2019. Posted on 16 Feb
New Zealand Flying Fifteen Nationals
Sailed from the Royal Akarana Yacht Club The 2019 Flying Fifteen New Zealand Nationals were sailed from the Royal Akarana Yacht Club in Auckland from 7 - 9 February, 2019. Posted on 12 Feb
Sail Racing PalmaVela sets sail for 16th edition
Regatta has already registered nine different participating countries. The sixteenth edition of Sail Racing PalmaVela, organised by the Real Club Náutico de Palma, has kicked off with the publication of the Notice of Race and the pre-registration of the first 31 boats, already representing nine different nations. Posted on 10 Feb
Busy racing programme for 2019 at Ullswater
Ullswater Yacht Club launches into the 2019 racing season Ullswater Yacht Club launches into the 2019 racing season with a packed sailing programme for club members and seven major open events for visiting racers. Posted on 31 Jan
International Paint Poole Regatta 2020
Classes already committing to the event The International Paint Poole Regatta 2020 is still 17 months away, but that has not stopped many sailing classes committing to making Poole a significant event in their 2020 racing calendars. Posted on 24 Jan
Last Chance to Enter for Super Early Bird Discount
Lendy Cowes Week deal ends midnight on the 11th It's the final few days of Super Early Bird! (ends at midnight 11th January). Don't miss out on discounted entry fees and the chance to win the following prizes... Posted on 9 Jan
2019 Flying Fifteen Australian Nationals day 1
Race one started with a good steady breeze of 10 knots The Flying 15 Nationals are now under way at the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron. 28 boats are competing in the championships with boats from Western Australia, South Australia, Victoria and Queensland. Posted on 1 Jan
Lendy Cowes Week Entries Open
Fees have been held at last year's levels The team at Lendy Cowes Week are delighted to announce that entries are now open for the 2019 regatta. Our Super Early bird discounts end at midnight on 11th January, and entry fees have been held at the same levels as 2018. Posted on 22 Dec 2018
From Theory to Practice
The Hard Route to Ultimate Boatspeed We speak to Hyde Sails' Nigel & Jack Grogan. It has been noticeable that their strategy for the last four years has been to concentrate on specific dinghy and small keelboat classes, making sure they are getting it right. Posted on 14 Dec 2018
Flying Fifteen Tally Hobbs Regatta 2018
Hamish Carnachan and Peter Mudford clear winners The Perth based Flying Fifteen fleet from Royal Freshwater Bay YC and South of Perth YC joined forces for the Tally Hobbs Regatta held on Swan River over the weekend of 17 - 18 November. Posted on 20 Nov 2018