Please select your home edition
Sailing Holidays 2019 - TOP
Product Feature
The Mirror Book by Peter Aitken & Tim Davison
The Mirror Book by Peter Aitken & Tim Davison

53rd Australian Mirror Nationals and 2019 Pre-Worlds at Woollahra Sailing Club

by Khiem Tran 1 Jan 03:58 GMT 26-30 December 2018
53rd Australian Mirror Nationals and 2019 Pre-Worlds in Sydney © Robert Owe-Young

The 53rd Australian Mirror Nationals and 2019 Pre-Worlds concluded on Sydney Harbour with a tense finish in light winds.

Going for his third consecutive national title, South Australia's Damian Carey with crew Austin Freer began the day with a five point lead over locals Campbell and Stirling McKay. Just behind them were Douglas Raftesath and Spencer McKay from Balmoral and Jessie Andrewartha and Grant Atherton from Kingston Beach Sailing Club, tied at seven points further back.

The four day series began with strong winds, and featured all the usual excitement on Sydney Harbour, including ferries, sea planes and outgoing cruise ships, giving the visiting sailors an excellent taste of what to expect for the upcoming worlds. By the final day, though, the winds were down to 0-8 knots, which favoured the lighter crews.

Sailing in McMissile, Campbell and Stirling McKay won the first race, but Damian and Austin came second, meaning they still held a four point lead. In second race, Campbell and Stirling won again, notching their fifth win of the series. Damian and Austin finished fifth, meaning scores were tied, and the McKays won on count back. Third place went to Douglas Raftesath and Spencer McKay in Waterborne At Last.

The Family Trophy was won by Mark and Caitlin Nash in MadCat. The Ladies trophy by Jessie Andrewartha and Grant Atherton in Foxy Lady III. Damian Carey and Austin Freer was the Veterans trophy in Bob, while David Graney and Arlo Strating won the Masters Trophy in FIZZ.

The Junior Trophy went to Loki Bird and Harrison Lodge in Eclipse and the Youth Trophy went to Charlotte Raftesath and Benedict McKay. Tomas and Tyler Simpson won the Heavyweight Trophy and Anthony and Angela Freeman won the "Harmony" Trophy for the top Husband and Wife team.

Overall Results:

PosNatSail NoBoat NameSkipperClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9Pts
1stAUS70951McMissileCampbell McKayRSYS‑261912411120
2ndAUS70662BobDamian CareyHSC‑52223222520
3rdAUS70800Waterborne at LastDouglas RaftesathBSC15831‑1976637
4thAUS70146Foxy Lady lllJessie Andrawartha 6‑9347145939
5thGBR70915RipplesChris FullerHISC8368536‑9241
6thAUS70666MadCatMark NashHHSC46454684‑1741
7thAUS70600B2Jonathan BranchCPSC771(UFD)98313351
8thAUS70599BulletproofSimon BarwoodRFBYC21357855‑14853
9thAUS70811GroverAnthony FreemanHHSC111011916‑221281390
10thAUS70594DashCharlotte RaftesathBSC1015‑23132071411797
11thAUS70597B1Karen BranchCPSC1311‑171410139121597
12thAUS70918Little Ripper 2Joe HancockWSC‑2482220111010712100
13thAUS70602Transom NotePeter DeanRFBYC14141010‑2314131714106
14thAUS70177FIZZDavid GraneyKBSC‑201215121820111011109
15thAUS70804Celia MayCaitlin JeffriesHHSC1219.5141114921‑2220120.5
16thAUS70919Frappe Forte 2Tomas SimpsonDOSC1716‑19151715161619131
17thAUS70660Game onAlex OBeirneRFBYC1523131715121728‑29140
18thAUS70588SandyBenjamin LaneRFBYC1818161921181815(UFD)143
19thNED70883Rumble FishAlle RoodbergenKWVL34766(DNF)DNCDNCDNC158
20thNZL69230BlueYves SteningWSC(DNF)1718182421272318166
21stAUS70596Hive EmpireMichael JudgeRFBYC16221216282924‑3125172
22ndAUS70812Girra GirraPaul PlowmanHHSC(DNF)DNCDNCDNC12171534183
23rdAUS70661Salty Sea DogDiane VukelicWSC2319.520(DNC)2530202721185.5
24thAUS41489Blistering BarnaclesSarah MacMasterWSC252925(DNC)2724231916188
25thAUS70853UDDRolna StoegerMYC30212121262328‑3424194
26thAUS69446EclipseLoki BirdKBSC28252424‑3328192633207
27thAUS70546BomboraPeter JudgeRFBYC19263022312622‑3332208
28thRSA64600Yenda LeeKuba MiszewskiTSC27302623‑3434312426221
29thGBR70840MCA Demo BoatMartin EganRSC(DNC)2728DNC1316DNC18DNC234
30thAUS45291PotemkinGeoff WinestockHHSC21282925‑3936323035236
31stAUS67151Tigers TalesDerek HadwenBSC2224272819(DNC)DNC37DNC245
32ndAUS57993BondoRoss BarrattWSC(DNC)DNC36263025252930245
33rdAUS11400JukeboxGlenn PoyntonWSC31313127‑3531303534250
34thAUS69870CrescendoDuke SeccoMYC29333529‑3735293231253
35thAUS70593Jumping Jack FlashAndy MacIntyreunk(DNC)DNCDNCDNC22DNCDNC2010272
36thAUS70855RamukanjiAngus McIntyreBYS(DNC)DNCDNCDNC3227DNC2122278
37thAUS7059BelloJonnie VigarWSC(DNF)DNCDNCDNC291126DNCDNC286
38thAUS70591StorefreshSteve DoolanHSC(DNC)3432DNC3833DNC3627288
39thAUS69763Sea LionKhiem TranWSC(DNF)3233DNC3632DNCDNC28293
40thAUS45149TobermoryJeffrey WrightCYC(DNF)DNCDNCDNCDNCDNCDNC2523312
42ndAUS45471TawirraJohn RaynerRFBYC(DNF)DNF34DNC40DNCDNC38DNC332

For full results, go to the International Mirror Class Association of NSW website ( or follow their Facebook page (@MirrorSailingNSW).

As the Nationals were combined with the 2019 Pre-Worlds, the event saw overseas entrants from the UK, New Zealand, South Africa, the Netherlands and the UAE, with other international teams arriving just in time for the start of the Worlds next week, see

Related Articles

Hunts Sailing Club Mirror Weekend
Training day followed by racing on Sunday Once again to great acclaim, and prompted by last year's honoured visitors, the Hunts Mirrors rolled into action. Posted on 16 Jun
Mirrors at Derwent Reservoir
People and boats emerging from deep winter hibernation The scene on Sunday was one of people and boats emerging from deep winter hibernation. They were greeted by a light mist ready for the the first of the Mirror Northern Travellers. Posted on 11 Apr
Enjoyment is key factor in making children active
Children who are active and enjoy it are happier and more resilient Survey of over 130,000 children and young people reveals that enjoyment above all is the strongest driver of children and young people's activity levels – simply understanding the health benefits of being active isn't enough. Posted on 21 Mar
18th Mirror Worlds at Woollahra
John and Tyler Dransfield win in a borrowed Dutch boat John and Tyler Dransfield won the 18th Mirror World Championship on Sunday, sailing on behalf of the Netherlands in a borrowed boat. Posted on 11 Jan
GBR Mirror Champions head to Australia for Worlds
Fuller and Wade families pack their boats up ready for the journey Friday was the start of the journey for four Mirror dinghies from the UK heading to Australia for the 18th Mirror Dinghy World Championships. Posted on 9 Oct 2018
Abersoch Mirror Week 2018 delivers the F Factor
A superb report from a superb event One of the more interesting articles this month was an interview with a certain sail loft manager and previous Mirror National Champion. Posted on 28 Aug 2018
The ONE Bassenthwaite Lake Sailing Week overall
Midweek races and final weekend series report Well that's "Bassweek" over for another year! It was one of the more successful ones with the generally fine weather and the high (for the north!) temperatures helping considerably. Posted on 15 Aug 2018
Finding the balance
Interview with P&B's Dave Wade I recently spoke to Dave Wade at P&B about balancing running a business, family life, his own sailing, P&B's thriving fit-outs of championship-winning boats, his views on sailing events and which boat is his favourite to sail... Posted on 14 Aug 2018
The ONE Bassenthwaite Lake Sailing Week days 1 & 2
Four race series kicks off the nine day regatta As usual a four race series kick started the nine day Regatta. It was warm throughout the weekend and mainly sunny but winds were consistently light; so much so that there was a two hour delay on Sunday morning before a line could be laid. Posted on 6 Aug 2018
Mirror UK Nationals at Ullswater
24 family teams amongst the 44 boats entered Ullswater Yacht Club in the Lake District provided the stunning holiday venue and excellent, family friendly, facilities for this years Mirror Nationals from Tuesday 24th to Friday 27th July. Posted on 30 Jul 2018