Please select your home edition
Melges 14 2018 Leaderboard

Parti Nadolig Christmas Ball at Clwb Hwylio Pwllheli Sailing Club

by Mark Thompson 2 Dec 14:23 GMT

A hundred members and guests gathered at Plas Heli for the Clwb Hwylio Pwllheli Sailing Club's annual Christmas ball and prize giving, where Commodore Eifion Owen handed over the Club Burgee to incoming Commodore Jane Butterworth, who during her address to members and guests, introduced her Vice Commodore Gerallt Williams, and Rear Commodore Mark Thompson for the next two years. Eifion also announced Hon Secretary Stephen Tudor becomes the clubs President.

Eifion gave a witty speech about his experience as Commodore, and the members gave him a resounding applause for his hard work during the last two years.

Members were treated to a delicious Christmas themed three course meal, with fine wines from the Bar, in the festively decorated Gorwel restaurant.

Between courses, the clubs trophy's were presented to the worthy recipients, with the Gimblet "cruising achievement" trophy being awarded to Charles and Chris McConnell for their 1300 miles of cruising in a new boat, taking in the Crinan Canal.

The Cowper "passage trophy" was awarded to Mike and Dianne Edwards, for their summer cruise to Scotland including a two handed direct leg to Bangor NI.

The Tremadog triangle was hotly contested this year, with Maddie and Tim Rouse (Theia) awarded the Sipswn trophy for the fastest NHC lap, just pipping Phil Jackson in SeaMinx, with Mark Southall/Richard Cook (Jezebel) winning the Trimor Trophy for the fastest IRC lap, and also picking up the Ebblake Trophy for their class 2 win in the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series.

Stephen Tudor/Andrew Rosewarne/Arfon Jones (Sgrech) were awarded the Parsenn Cup for Race 2 of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series, and the Harbet Cup for Race 4 of the same series.

Stephen Williams (Darling XX) was awarded the Deeley Trophy for his fine class 1 win of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series.

Andrew Hall's Jackknife was crowned the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series Champions, and awarded the Midland Bowl, with the Abererech Bowl, and King Constantine Cup also awarded for race wins in the Castle and Night Race legs of the four race series.

Dave Hughes(Legless Again) was awarded the Carrg Y Defaid trophy for the highest placed CHPSC boat in the Spinlock Welsh IRC Nationals, for his second place in class 2. Dave and Sarah Leather (Harley Quinn) were awarded the Centaur trophy for a fine win in the Spring Series, campaigning their new J80, and the Gwenolfa Cup for the Pursuit race that was held during the Pwllheli Regatta.

Glenn Pritchard (1720 Mayhem) picked up the Desco Cup for the Summer series, and also the dubious honour of being awarded the Pillocks Pot. (Probably best to ask Glenn for an explanation of why!)

The Pwllheli Challenge Trophy's were awarded to the three class winners, after a hard fought Autumn Series that attracted up to 14 boats in some races. The Class 1 Trophy and Overall Series winner was once again Peter Dunlop and Vicky Cox (Mojito) who sailed a very consistent set of races in the J109. Class 2 was won by Wil Partington (Honey Bee) who had a run of 12 bullets during the series. Sportsboats was won by James and Jonny Collins in the J80 Jailbreak, on count back from Dave and Sarah Leather (Harley Quinn). There was some very close racing in the sports boat class, which has grown now to six, and is highly competitive.

The trophy for the Winter series will be presented on New Years Eve.

The Sol Owen Cup was presented to Peter Dunlop and Vicky Cox (Mojito) for the Easter series, and the Livingstone Cup "achievement trophy" for their ISORA overall win for the Wolf's Head that was presented in Dublin recently. This is the second consecutive year team Mojito has won this prestigious trophy.

The final trophy presented by Jane, was the ISORA "team trophy", for the highest placed "club racing team" within ISORA. This was the fifth consecutive year that CHPSC has won this trophy, finishing ahead of the three big Dublin bay clubs with excellent performances by Sgrech Mojito and Jackknife. The standard and consistency of offshore sailing to produce this result is very impressive.

Entertainment was provided by the superb Jac Dobson a'r Band, with fabulous music and members dancing the night away, on a packed dance floor, with the bar open very late

A fun filled evening I know enjoyed by all, and congratulations to all the winners, and thanks to the Heidi and the Plas Heli staff for the hard work during the both the build up and throughout the evening.

Related Articles

Pwllheli and Plymouth to host RYA Youth Nationals
RYA Youth Nationals is the UK's premier youth racing event and a must for young sailors The 2020 event will be staged at the Welsh National Sailing Academy at Plas Heli, while in 2021 the spotlight will shine on Plymouth Youth Sailing Club and the Mount Batten Centre Charitable Trust. Posted on 10 Dec
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 7
Weekend 3 of Pwllheli Sailing Club's Winter Series With strong winds forecast, racing was looking doubtful but as everyone was in Plas Heli for the Sailing Club Christmas party and annual prize giving during the weekend, it would have been a shame to miss the opportunity for a sail. Posted on 3 Dec
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 5
They tried so hard their boom snapped The Winter Series, four weekends of round the cans racing, got under way at Pwllheli Sailing Club on Saturday. Points from the winter series also contribute to the overall Pwllheli Challenge series so there were still plenty of boats on the water. Posted on 13 Nov
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 4
Super views of a snow covered Snowdon With much of the country experiencing cold winters showers, clear blue skies in Pwllheli gave the fleet super views of a snow covered Snowdon for the final weekend of the Pwllheli Autumn Series. Posted on 29 Oct
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 3
Cork 1720s join the fleet After storm Callum had abandoned Saturday's racing at weekend 3 of the Pwllheli Autumn and Challenge Series, Sunday saw increased numbers with the inclusion of several Cork 1720s joining Pwllheli's growing sportsboat fleet. Posted on 15 Oct
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 2
A keen fleet after a chilly night After a chilly night the fleet were welcomed by warm sunshine and very little wind for the second weekend of the Autumn and Pwllheli Challenge series. Posted on 1 Oct
Pwllheli Challenge Series week 1
A new format and some extra races The ever popular Pwllheli Challenge Series kicked off on Saturday. This year's challenge has had a bit of a shake up by popular demand, so as not to miss out on any good autumn weather and mild winter days. Posted on 17 Sep
ISORA Race 15 James Eadie Race
Pwllheli to Dun Laoghaire The 2018 ISORA Offshore Championship was decided in a nail biting finish to the last race on Saturday. Posted on 10 Sep
ISORA Global Displays Welsh Coastal Race
Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association Race 14 Race 14 would decide the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series. With 23 boat competing in Ireland for the Viking Marine Coastal Series, and 7 in Pwllheli, both coastal series have been well supported this year. Posted on 26 Aug
Sailing launches boost for North Wales
Two new successful launches have helped boost sailing in North Wales Two new successful launches have helped boost sailing in North Wales, for women, girls and people with a disability. CH Pwllheli SC launched their Only Girls Afloat programme with a successful open evening. Posted on 25 Aug