Please select your home edition
Ovington 2021 - ILCA 2 - LEADERBOARD

Byte Inland Championship at Bowmoor Sailing Club

by Rick W Whitehouse 2 Oct 2018 11:39 BST 29-30 September 2018
Byte Inlands at Bowmoor © David Fewings

Saturday started cold (close to freezing), cloudless and windless. The first race, due to start at 12:30 was postponed until 2:30pm, when a rather fickle south westerly developed.

Only two of the planned four races were completed on day one of the event. Unusually for a Byte event, race one started with a general recall. On the restart Matt Banbrook took a flying lead by a considerable margin initially but got stuck in a hole on the run. The current national champion, Emma Pearson, closed on him, followed by Rick Whitehouse who had pulled up through the fleet from (his usual) poor start. A three-way battle for the lead ensued, with Rick eventually successful, Emma second and Matt third. Unfortunately for Matt, a pre-existing injury prevented his participation in the rest of the event.

With Matt indisposed, Emma took a flying start in race two, only for Rick to again pull through the fleet and end up first. Rick's technique of starting poorly but sailing in clear air and tacking on shifts that eluded all the other competitors paid dividends.

Sunday racing started early, just after 10am, to get three races in before club sailing started in the afternoon. Race three saw Rick make his poorest start of the event, unrecoverable despite his best efforts, whilst local sailor, Charlotte Hitchmough, led from start to finish, closely followed by Emma, then Zoe Bazen. Race four saw Emma and Rick alternate first and second place for two laps, with Rick rounding the last mark first and inexplicably being overtaken to looward by Emma. The fifth and final race then became a decider between Rick and Emma, with another local, Huw Nunn having his best race and finishing third. Rick stayed ahead of Emma up the final beat to clinch the race and the event.

Special prizes for Alex Horsman who started in a classic rig but changed to a borrowed CII, Toby Banbrook for first CI, Zoe Bazen for first youth, Matthew Bonner for first junior and Victoria Theaker for best newcomer.

Thanks go to John Banbrook and Bowmoor SC for hosting the event.

Overall Results:

PosClassSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3R4R5Pts
1stBYTE CII3693Rick WhitehouseCombs SC11‑5215
2ndBYTE CII3078Emma PearsonWeston SC‑222127
3rdBYTE CII3616Charlotte HitchmoughBowmoor SC631‑8717
4thBYTE CII3588Zoe BazenBowmoor SC4536‑818
5thBYTE CII3606Huw NunnBowmoor SC56‑75319
6thBYTE CII3577Rachel MackinderNetley SC‑9783422
7thBYTE CII3613Lucy HaydonBowmoor SC8‑944622
8thBYTE CII3608Stu MooreNetley SC74‑97523
9thBYTE CII2957Teresa DoranBowmoor‑1110691136
10thBYTE CII3132Callum CombeBowmoor SC‑201511121048
11thBYTE CII428Victoria TheakerCombs SC12‑1614111249
12thBYTE CII3565Clare MachWeston SC13131213‑1751
13thByte CII2950Kirsten GlenParkstone YC(DNC)DNC1010952
14thBYTE CI3684Toby BanbrookBowmoor SC151113‑161453
15thBYTE CII3130Jamie FewingsBowmoor SC1014‑17171354
16thBYTE CII493Julius MachNetley SC1781618‑1959
17thBYTE CII2943Isaac PyleeBowmoor SC14‑1715151559
18thBYTE CII1640Rhys WalkerBowmoor SC19(DNS)19141668
19thBYTE CII3584Matthew BanbrookBowmoor SC3(DNS)DNCDNCDNC72
20thBYTE CII1241Matthew BonnerHimley Hall181818‑191872
21stBYTE CII3583Flavia TrittoBowmoor SC1612(DNC)DNCDNC74
22ndBYTE Classic1625Alex HorsmanWest Riding SC‑211920202079

Related Articles

Byte Inlands at Bowmoor
Wide appeal of the boat evident at the event The last event in the Byte class annual calendar is the Inland Championships, hosted by Bowmoor SC. Being late in each season, no event took place the previous year, due, unsurprisingly, to the "Covid lockdown of 2020". Posted on 4 Oct
Bytes at Combs
A superb entry of 19 boats The joy of sailing! As the restrictions of the last 18 months ease, the enthusiasm for returning to our favourite sport was clear, with 19 boats entering the Combs two-day open meeting (two more than the Nationals!). Posted on 17 Sep
Byte Nationals at Pwllheli
Basking in the Welsh sunshine Things have not been easy for the sailing community recently with Covid closing sailing clubs and open events being cancelled but over the weekend of July 24-26 the Byte Class met up at Pwllheli for their 2021 National Championships. Posted on 4 Aug
Derbyshire Youth Sailing at Burton
23 sailors engage in some excellent battles in the sun With sun, a good wind and reasonable temperatures, Saturday the 24th April started out with great promise and as 23 boats were rigged at Burton Sailing Club we knew our second Derbyshire Youth Sailing Event of the year was going to be a good one. Posted on 30 Apr
Byte Inlands at Bowmoor
It is often said in sailing that consistency is everything It is often said in sailing that consistency is everything and so it was at the Byte Inland Championships which took place at Bowmoor Sailing Club last weekend. Posted on 3 Oct 2019
Byte National Championship at Mumbles
Louis Saunders takes his 5th title in the class Approaching Mumbles Bay on Thursday July 18 we could see 14 Bytes away across the water with the late afternoon sun shining on their sails. A perfect sailing afternoon, however this balmy situation was not to continue. Posted on 26 Jul 2019
Saxton and Lewis reign supreme
At the 2018 Endeavour Trophy Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis have won the 2018 Endeavour Trophy for the fourth time in succession with an impressive scoreline of six wins writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 15 Oct 2018
2018 Youth Olympic Games day 8
Italy and the Dominican Republic claim final Sailing golds Sofia Tomasoni (ITA) and Deury Corniel (DOM) won gold in the Kiteboarding on the last day of the Youth Olympic Sailing Competition at Club Nautico San Isidro, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Posted on 15 Oct 2018
2018 Youth Olympic Games day 7
Argentina win Nacra 15 gold at home Dante Cittadini and Teresa Romairone (ARG) won gold in the Mixed Nacra 15 fleet in front of a packed Club Nautico San Isidro at the Youth Olympic Sailing Competition, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Posted on 14 Oct 2018
Saxton and Lewis annihilate Endeavour fleet
Four straight wins for reigning champions at opening day On the breezy opening day of the 58th Endeavour Trophy, Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis managed to lead at the top mark and win all four races by a considerable margin writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 13 Oct 2018