Please select your home edition
Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club LEADERBOARD
Product Feature
GP14 Rudder Bag
GP14 Rudder Bag

Comet National Championship at Staunton Harold Sailing Club

by Dave Waymont 28 Aug 2018 11:35 BST 25-27 August 2018

Twenty-nine Comets took part in the 2018 Comet Class Association National Championships at Staunton Harold Sailing Club, Melbourne, Derbyshire on the 25th-27th August.

Day 1 saw a 10 knot North Westerly breeze which swung just before race 2 to Northerly. General recalls occurred on race 1 and race 3 for which the second start was under black flag.

Race 1 winner was Chris Hatton who beat the first mark leader Nigel Austin into second place.

The wind shifted in several directions moments before race 2 was due to start and led to some delay until it had settled to allow Race Officer, Howard Jones, to set a course. Race 2 was closely contested between John Blundell, Chris Hatton and Eddie Pope with all in the lead at some point. The race was won by Chris Hatton with Eddie Pope second.

The second start of race 3 was under black flag and Paul Williamson got a great start at the pin end of the line. The fleet was chaotic at the downwind mark as the second group of boats caught up with the leaders as they ran down to the mark. Eventual winner was Chris Hatton with Nigel Pepperdine in second.

Day 2 had a Southerly, gusty wind and race 4 winner Chris Hatton took the lead on the second beat from Bob Dodds who finished second.

The gusty and very wet conditions for race 5 caused several incidents at the marks with Peter Mountford and Paul Hinde needing to do turns in separate incidents. Chris Hatton was the race winner with Chris Blundell in second place.

The final race of day 2 saw John Blundell first to the windward mark with Chris Hatton second round the mark but Chris overtook John on the reach down towards the dam wall to take his familiar first place. Nigel Pepperdine was third.

Day 3 with a Westerly 12 knot wind started with John Blundell leading race 7 for the first lap until Chris Hatton took the better side of the reservoir on the second beat. What was now becoming the familiar first and second places were as before and the battle was for third spot. Steve Bellamy took this third place from Bob Dodds after battling it out on the last two beats.

The final race of day 3 saw a long beat set and with Chris Hatton in the lead, Bob Dodds, John Blundell, Eddie Pope, Paul Williamson and Nigel Pepperdine battled for second place. John Blundell eventually took second place but the fight within the group slowed them down and Michael Ettershank, who was in sixth place, moved up, took and held onto third place on the last beat.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8Pts
1st838Chris HattonBowmoor SC‑1‑11111116
2nd126John BlundellSHSC‑533‑4222214
3rd616Nigel PepperdineSHSC‑4‑723434420
4th869Bob DoddsCMYC3‑5‑52345522
5th377Eddie PopeOgston SC‑924587‑9632
6th875Nigel AustinCransley SC2979‑1056‑1138
7th84Michael EttershankUp River YC74‑1386‑1310338
8th688Paul WilliamsonSHSC(DNF)6675‑108739
9th701Izac DoddsCMYC881067‑11‑121049
10th867Chris RobinsonBurghfield SC6‑13111198‑13853
11th864Peter MountfordSHSC‑1212‑181012611960
12th683Kris Kenmuir‑HoggSHSC10‑24‑141311971464
13th311Stephen BellamyWinsford Flash111116(DNF)(DNC)1631269
14th844Paul HindeSevern14‑17‑20121312151783
15th532John CoppenhallHunts SC131417151415‑19‑2188
16th800Henry JaggersBeer SC171581716(DNC)‑201689
17th563Chris BlundellSHSC15191216(DNC)(DNC)141591
18th556Andrew BeaumontAttenborough SC21161519(DNC)(DNC)1613100
19th57Steve GregoryFrensham Pond1918‑2118‑22141719105
20th396Richard BarnettSHSC2010‑22211519‑2222107
21st724Rhian BevanCransley1621‑29201718‑2320112
22nd845Nigel FernSHSC‑2323‑242219171818117
23rd857Helen LeiversSevern SC22‑26252318(DNC)2123132
24th740Peter BlundellChester SC(DNF)20914(DNC)DNCDNCDNC133
25th527Dave WaymontSHSC‑27‑28262620202425141
26th382Roger HarrisonRedditch SC18222325(DNC)(DNC)DNCDNC148
27th849Tim Higgs 24272824(DNC)(DNC)2524152
28th400John SturgeonHawley Lake SC252519(DNC)(DNC)DNCDNCDNC159
29th754Mark StarkeyUpton Warren SC2629272721(DNC)(DNC)DNC160

Other winners were:

Paul Williamson (Veteran)
Peter Mountford (Ancient Mariner)
Rhiain Bevan (First Lady)
Izac Dodds (First Youth)
Roger Harrison (First Newcomer)
Staunton Harold Sailing Club (First Team)

Related Articles

Storm Jorge hits club racing at Welwyn Garden City
Comet powers past Supernova Welwyn Garden City Sailing Club races every Saturday morning throughout the year on Stanborough Lake. It may be a puddle by some standards - just 15.3 acres - but we have a lot of fun and last Saturday was no exception. Posted on 2 Mar
Comets & Solos at Staunton Harold preview
Solo Midland Series and the Northern Aphelion Comet Series season finale Staunton Harold Sailing Club looks forward to welcoming Comet and Solo sailors from around the region, and all over the country on Saturday 19th October. Posted on 3 Oct 2019
Comets at Merthyr Tydfil
Honestly, it isn't always like this Often, the Comet Class seem to always choose a date when the winds are light at our club. Honestly, it isn't always like this. Posted on 16 Sep 2019
Comet Nationals at Fishers Green
Rain, weed and course interpretations Fishers Green Sailing Club hosted the Comet Class National Championships in the Lee Valley Park. Posted on 7 Aug 2019
Comets at Attenborough
Five visitors join seven home boats in lights winds Five visitors joined with seven of our own club boats for this year's Comet Open at Attenborough SC. Posted on 24 Jun 2019
Comets at Burghfield
Comets defy Storm Hannah Storm Hannah was forecast to coincide with Burghfield's Comet Open on Saturday 27th April. Consequently, there were only eight pre-registrations and only five Comets turned up. The Open was combined with the Solo and Streaker Open. Posted on 30 Apr 2019
Comets at Fishers Green
Southern Area series event alongside the Phantoms The Comet class made their regular visit to Fishers Green SC in the Lea Valley Park on Sat 6th April as part of their Southern Area series and were joined by the Phantom class as part of their Eastern Area series. Posted on 15 Apr 2019
Saxton and Lewis reign supreme
At the 2018 Endeavour Trophy Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis have won the 2018 Endeavour Trophy for the fourth time in succession with an impressive scoreline of six wins writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 15 Oct 2018
Saxton and Lewis annihilate Endeavour fleet
Four straight wins for reigning champions at opening day On the breezy opening day of the 58th Endeavour Trophy, Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis managed to lead at the top mark and win all four races by a considerable margin writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 13 Oct 2018
Big winds arrive for Endeavour Trophy training day
League of legends prepare for battle at Burnham-on-Crouch The effect of Storm Callum currently sweeping across the country has done little to affect proceedings at the opening day of the Endeavour Trophy weekend (12-14 October) writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 12 Oct 2018