Please select your home edition
Rooster GETSEASMART 728x90

2000 fleet at the Rooster RS Summer Championship at Parkstone Yacht Club

by Chris Brown 26 Jun 2018 05:54 BST 23-24 June 2018
2000 fleet at the Rooster RS Summer Championship © David Harding /

119 RS craft of various forms descended on the magnificent new age Parkstone YC temple of sailing for the 2018 Rooster RS Summer Championships last weekend.

An inaugural blending of the 2000 class with their new step-siblings, the chemistry seemed excellent and future event collaboration is hopefully assured. The 2000 fleet was relatively diminutive and was assigned course sharing with the mighty RS200 fleet out in ppen waters south of Bournemouth pier. Luckily here the shoreside ice creams and fish and chips were out of view.

Donning sunhats and factors 20 – 60 suncream, the fleet departed into 24 degrees C and 10-14knots SW on Saturday, with 4 races held in tan topping conditions, before a race back to PSC for the delightful evening buffet and well-chosen musical accompaniment. The Green Thai curry must not pass without favourable mention.

But back to the sailing, Race one started in a surprisingly lumpy left over sea, with all boats hunting for power. Casino (21102) tried a new starting method, with a late-timed run from the launching slip, arriving at the Committee boat one second before the start gun. I thoroughly recommend this approach - it certainly encourages crew concentration. The fleet spread into two groups, with places changed in each group and the Jordanmeister taking a narrow win (Chris and Gill Jordan). Conditions were very similar for race two, with negligible tidal effects and minimal RS200 traffic. Results were largely unchanged although the fleet was more compressed, handing another win to the Jordans.

Sandwich time (very brief due to highly efficient race control) and race three was upon us, conditions a touch windier now. The fleet was sailing faster now and beginning to eat into the slower RS200s by the end of the second beat. This time your Millenium Mutterings Editorial Team of the Yardleys (Ian and Editor Sarah) and the Jordans (Chris and Editor Sarah) came to the fore, with a similar order in the fleet. Casino gambled on a further clocking of the wind but received no benefit and finished a closer 4th. At this point (as scribe), mention must be made of the gallant novice Casino crew, who in only her second 2000 outing and first ever Open Meeting was losing fingernails at a rate only equalled by the proliferation of bruises. "Are we nearly there yet?" arose, reminiscent of all those years coaching kids, several years ago. The experience was however enjoyed and we urge all 2000 owners to hitch you boats up and travel to these wonderful memorable events.

Ah yes, race four. Lighter winds and the right shift continued. As did the result order, with only minor place changes and another Yardley victory. It must be mentioned that somehow the 2000 fleet excelled on the return journey to PSC, with several podium places in the evening buffet queue.

Sunday morning saw flat water with tropical temperatures and mysteriously the sea breeze did not establish in time to send out the ships for a 1500hrs latest start. Racing in the bay was rejected for depth reasons, leading to 3 guns at 130hrs. Several boats ventured out to cruise the surrounding waters with Casino attempting a trip upriver to Wareham (resulting in a very muddy boat).

See you in Lee on Solent.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4Pts
1st2204Iain YardleySarah YardleySWSC‑22114
2nd22607Chris JordanGillian JordanBurghfield/Brightlingsea SC11‑324
3rd22564Helen PhillipsAndrew PhillipsCardiff Bay YC‑33238
4th21102Chris BrownKaren MannersRORC‑444412
5th2587Guy BoswellJulie BoswellLlandegfedd SC‑665516
6th22255Irene HincksDonna BoldLilliput SC55‑6616
7th22321Rachel SheridanGeoff LambertWilsonian SC‑887722
8th22281Martin BarkerJoanne KibyLilliput SC77‑8822

Related Articles

2000s at Lee-on-the-Solent
A real test for the RO and mark layers to set a course 19 boats and crews made the annual pilgrimage to the fantastic sailing location of the Solent. The forecast for the weekend was challenging with Saturday being the better of the two days. Posted on 22 Jul
2000 Millennium Series Round 4 at Thorney Island
Strong winds, waves, thunderous clouds and horizontal rain Twenty five boats assembled at Thorney Island, by courtesy of the Army Sailing Association and Thorney Island Sailing Club, to participate in a two-day Millennium series event on the 15th and 16th June. Posted on 18 Jun
East Lothian Yacht Club Regatta 2019
Over 110 dinghies made the journey to North Berwick East Lothian Yacht Club annual regatta took place on 1st and 2nd June 2019, supported by Dalgety Bay Sailing Club, Largo Bay Sailing Club, Rooster Sailing and sponsored by North Berwick Gin. Posted on 4 Jun
2000s at Chichester
A challenge to set the first course With a forecast of a maximum wind speed of 4 knots and a predicted shift of 180 degrees it didn't bode too well for the 2000 open at CYC on Saturday 18th of May, giving the Race Officers something of a challenge to set the first course. Posted on 19 May
2000 class at the RS Sprint Championships
Seven races in one day with barely 5 minutes between each The whole day was about spotting the gusts and shifts, both of which were frequent and massive. There was place changing on every leg and all the way through the fleet. Posted on 2 May
2000 class Millennium Series Round 1 at Burghfield
20th Anniversary Year kicks off encouraging more people onto the water The 2000 class association kick started their millennium series at Burghfield Sailing Club near Reading on the 6th April. This was the first of the 'One Day' events to be included in the national millennium series rankings. Posted on 8 Apr
2000 class Millennium Series kicks off
First event taking place this Saturday at Burghfield The popular 2000 class Millennium Series travellers' trophy starts this weekend at Burghfield Sailing Club. Burghfield is centrally placed, just off the M4 at J12, and four races are planned from 11am. Posted on 5 Apr
New trophy delivered to Ally Pally
Selden SailJuice Winter Series to be crowned at RYA Dinghy Show Simon Horsfield and Katie Burridge, who have won the 10th Selden SailJuice Winter Series, are headed to the RYA Dinghy Show to receive a brand new trophy produced by Selden. Posted on 1 Mar
Saxton and Lewis reign supreme
At the 2018 Endeavour Trophy Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis have won the 2018 Endeavour Trophy for the fourth time in succession with an impressive scoreline of six wins writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 15 Oct 2018
Saxton and Lewis annihilate Endeavour fleet
Four straight wins for reigning champions at opening day On the breezy opening day of the 58th Endeavour Trophy, Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis managed to lead at the top mark and win all four races by a considerable margin writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 13 Oct 2018