Please select your home edition
Noble Marine 2012
Product Feature
Standard Launching Trolley - Upto 11ft
Standard Launching Trolley - Upto 11ft
Boat Insurance from Noble Marine

Full racing risks
New for old cover

Ullswater Yacht Club Single Hander Weekend

by Sue Giles 29 May 2018 16:27 BST 26-27 May 2018
Action from the Ullswater Single Hander Weekend © Rebecca Bairstow

Twenty-five solo sailors, racing Lasers and Aeros, took part in Ullswater Yacht Single Hander Weekend on May 26 and 27.

The event was part of the Laser Lakeland and Border Grand Prix Series and the RS Aero Northern Circuit and 13 Lasers and 12 Aeros competed in seven races over the weekend in challenging conditions with blue skies and warm sun but blustery and unpredictable Easterly winds.

Race officer David Clarke set the course at the Northern end of the lake but could not avoid the vicious shifting gusts and racing was very close in both fleets. At the end of Saturday, after four exciting races, just two points separated the first four boats in the Lasers with first places being taken by four different helms. Just in front was UYC's Jon Abbatt in a Radial, closely followed by Greg Liggens of Derwent Reservoir SC, Patrick Hamilton of Burwain SC and Anthony Dawson of UYC, all racing full rigs.

It was also close in the Aero fleet with the overnight leader Steve Stewart from Yorkshire Dales SC in an Aero 5, taking two first and two seconds. The other two races were won by Matt Thursfield, RYA, in an Aero 7.

Sunday brought the same blue sky weather but with the same difficult Easterly winds. The course was set in the same part of the lake and three more races were scheduled. In the Lasers Jon Abbatt dominated, winning two more races and coming second in the other to take the event overall. Greg Liggens won the final race to grab second place, just pipping Patrick Hamilton who had the same points, on countback.

In the Aeros, Sunday was Matt Thursfield's day, he won all three races to take the overall event with a clean sweep of five firsts to count from seven races. Steve Stewart was second in all three races to come second overall and third place went to Ian McGonigal of East Lothian SC in an Aero 7.

For the Aeros, it had become an 'international' event welcoming a competitor from France – Arnaud Bouchez from the Club Nautique de Wimereux near Boulogne. Arnaud, and another long distance visitor, Noah Rees from Torpoint Mosquito SC in Cornwall, who was fourth, were presented with traveller trophies at the prizegiving.

Entries are filling up fast for UYC's next major weekend, the iconic Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy long distance event on July 7 and 8. Entries via SailRacer.

Overall Results:

1. Jon Abbatt, Radial, UYC, 7pts
2. Greg Liggens, Derwent Reservoir SC, 12pts
3. Patrick Hamilton, Burwain SC, 12pts

1. Matt Thursfield, Aero 7, RYA, 5pts
2. Steve Stewart, Aero 5, Yorkshire Dales SC, 8pts
3. Ian McGonigal, Aero 7, East Lothian SC, 17.5pts

Related Articles

Ullwater Yacht Club Daffodil Regatta preview
Great racing, beautiful surroundings and excellent hospitality Great racing run by a top race team, sailing in beautiful surroundings, excellent hospitality, camping on site... lambs on the fells, bunnies in the club grounds and daffodils on the shore... what more could you want for a memorable Easter? Posted on 13 Mar
Busy racing programme for 2019 at Ullswater
Ullswater Yacht Club launches into the 2019 racing season Ullswater Yacht Club launches into the 2019 racing season with a packed sailing programme for club members and seven major open events for visiting racers. Posted on 31 Jan
Ullswater Yacht Club Asymmetric Weekend
Including the VX One Inland Championship Ullswater Yacht Club ended its open weekend season on a high with two days of exciting racing for asymmetric classes on October 20 and 21. Posted on 22 Oct 2018
First Regional Junior Championships a huge success
British Youth Sailing's debut Regional Junior Championships has been hailed an overwhelming success Children aged between six and 16 travelled from far and wide to eight venues across the UK for two days of fun afloat in British Youth Sailing's recognised dinghy and windsurfer classes. Posted on 1 Oct 2018
Regional Junior Champs: A youth sailing festival
Thousands of youngsters will take to the water this weekend For the first time, competitors will be split into three fleets – a new Fun OnBoard fleet for newcomers, a coached regatta fleet for those developing their racing skills and a championship fleet for experienced racers. Posted on 28 Sep 2018
Ullswater YC now have planning permission
Flood-damaged clubhouse just needs finance Ullswater Yacht Club has received planning permission for an iconic new clubhouse to replace the current building which was severely damaged in the 2015 floods. Posted on 26 Sep 2018
Ullswater Cruiser & Keelboat Weekend
25 boats, including the Tempest Northerns and Flying 15 Lakeland Grand Prix Twenty-five boats took part in two days of racing at Ullswater Yacht Club's special Cruiser and Keelboat Weekend on August 25 and 26. Posted on 28 Aug 2018
Ullswater Cruiser & Keelboat Weekend preview
Taking place on 25-26 August Ullswater Yacht Club invites all cruiser and keelboat sailors to take part in a weekend of racing especially for them. Posted on 16 Aug 2018
Mirror UK Nationals at Ullswater
24 family teams amongst the 44 boats entered Ullswater Yacht Club in the Lake District provided the stunning holiday venue and excellent, family friendly, facilities for this years Mirror Nationals from Tuesday 24th to Friday 27th July. Posted on 30 Jul 2018
RS100s at the Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy
A small fleet lost within a big one Six 100s entered which gave us fleet status for the event. Four boats launched on Saturday for the first race. Posted on 12 Jul 2018