Please select your home edition
Gul 2018 October - Code Zero 728x90
Product Feature
Gul CZ Windward 5mm boot
 Gul CZ Windward 5mm boot
Boat Insurance from Noble Marine

Full racing risks
New for old cover

Fireball Gul Golden Dolphin Series Round 2 at Blackwater Sailing Club

by Dave Hall 1 May 2018 10:47 BST 28-29 April 2018
Fireball Gul Golden Dolphin Open at Blackwater © Kate Stewart

Blackwater SC hosted the second Round of the Gul Golden Dolphin series over what turned out to be a weekend when winter had returned.

Saturday brought a dull misty drab day with a light Northerly breeze which proved patchy and shifty. This along with the tide seem to have little benefit for the majority of the locals! Three races were held with results that will look puzzling to anyone reading this. Dave Hall & Paul Constable won the first race of the day after the boats around did not see the S flag and decided to carry on racing.

Sam Mettam & Tim Saunders led the second race with a huge gap only to find they were OSC allowing Derian and Andy Scott to take first place. For the final race of the day it was Mark Maskell & Nigel Sheppard who got the jump on the fleet and led to the finish. With Derian & Andy leading overnight it was the steady sailing of Kevin Hope & Russell Thorne that was to stand them in good stead for the second day.

Sunday gave a fresh cold Northerly breeze blowing straight across the estuary, good for some but a challenge for many. DJ Edwards & Vyv Townsend took an early lead only to have gear failure allowing The following bunch of Dave & Paul, Kevin & Russell and Isaac Marsh & Oliver Davenport to have a great race with Dave & Paul coming out in front to take the gun. As the breeze built for the last race DJ & Vyv made no mistakes – lead out of the start and opened up a sizable lead while the following pack raced it out.

With an impressive and pretty much the only steady score on the board, Kevin & Russell took the overall top spot without winning a race.

In the Silver fleet is was Isaac March & Oliver Davenport who steadily improved through the weekend to take top spot and in the Bronze fleet top spot was taken by Mia Walsh & Peter Bentley.

Big thanks to the club and their volunteers and of course Gul for their very generous prizes.

Overall Results:

PosFleetSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5Pts
1stGold15133Kevin HopeRussell ThorneNotts County SC23‑83412
2ndGold15122Dave HallPaul ConstableBSC1‑1191314
3rdGold14941Derian ScottAndy ScottCVLSC3158‑917
4thGold15066Mark MaskellNigel SheppardBSC651‑7618
5thGold15124Peter KyneTom KyneBrightlingsea SC4‑935719
6thGold15073Sam MettamTim SaundersPapercourt SC9(OCS)22821
7thSilver15070/15143Isaac MarshOliver DavenportNorthampton SC13‑1664225
8thGold15144D J EdwardsVyv TownsendBough Beech SC7144‑16126
9thSilver15145Steve GoacherTom GoacherHISC54713(DNF)29
10thGold15107Richard CornesJames GoodfellowHISC‑127126530
11thSilver15148Brian SargeantWill SargeantBSC112159(DNF)37
12thSilver14905Charlie StewartMalcolm GreenBSC‑141213101045
13thBronze14982Maia MarshPeter Bentley 1013‑16141148
14thSilver15102Martin ScarthRorie AshBSC881717(DNF)50
15thSilver14882Andy TaylorNikki TaylorBSC16‑1710111350
16thSilver15041Maria RichardsGraham HoyBSC(RET)619151252
17thBronze14889Barney SmithRick SprinenThornbury SC171514‑181460
18thBronze14857George WhitchurchAngela DochertyBSC151020(DNF)DNC67
19thBronze13151Dan JohnsonLyda Barber 19181119(DNF)67
20thBronze14398Ian JohnsonNicky JohnsonBSC18191812(DNF)67
21stBronze15058Brett TownsendDave NichollsBSC(DNF)DNCDNCDNFDNC88

Related Articles

Fireball prize presentation and draw
Taking place at the RYA Dinghy Show Join the Fireball Class and Saskia Clarke MBE at the RYA Dinghy Show for the Grand Draw for a Free Holiday. Posted on 12 Feb
Austrailian Fireball Nationals overall
Macfarlane and Payne clinch third title with race to spare After a consistent and stellar regatta, class veterans Heather Macfarlane and Chris Payne, sailing Not Your Average Rockstars, have taken out their third Fireball Nationals as a pair with one race still to be sailed. Posted on 8 Feb
Austrailian Fireball Nationals day 3
All to play for heading into final stages With seven out of 10 races completed and a lay day today, it's all to play for in the 2019 Fireball Nationals, hosted by the Royal Geelong Yacht Club. Posted on 7 Feb
UK Fireball Survey: The Results Part 2
Open Meeting circuit and overseas events Unfortunately, we didn't ask specific questions about Open meetings in the survey so that's a lesson learned for the next one! However, Opens are a topic that is talked about widely in by the Committee and the Fleet as a whole. Posted on 6 Feb
Austrailian Fireball Nationals day 2
Shifty weather shakes things up There were a few tricks thrown up on the second day of the Fireball Nationals at the Royal Geelong Yacht Club yesterday, however Heather Macfarlane and Chris Payne still hold a slender lead. Posted on 5 Feb
Austrailian Fireball Nationals day 1
Macfarlane and Payne take opening two races Sailing 'Not Your Average Rockstars', Macfarlane and Payne took the opening two championship races of the regatta by slim margins in what was a comfortable 15-knot breeze that built slightly throughout the day. Posted on 4 Feb
Australian Fireball National Championships preview
Heywood and Littledike look to defend their crown One of the strongest Fireball fleets in a number of years will do battle this week on Corio Bay, Geelong as racing for the 2019 National Championship kicks off today. Posted on 4 Feb
UK Fireball Survey: The Results Part 1
First response to most extensive survey to date The response to our most extensive survey to date was amazing! We have to thank Russ Clark, who having only joined the fleet last year, passed on knowledge and tips that he'd gained from other fleets, especially the Musto Skiff Class. Posted on 30 Jan
Who will claim the Golden Dolphin Trophy?
Golden Dolphin Trophy to be presented at the RYA Dinghy Show Join the UK Fireball Class Association at the RYA Dinghy Show, in association with Yachts & Yachting and Suzuki, where the winners of the 'Golden Dolphin Trophy' - Kevin Hope and Russell Thorne, will be presented with the unique trophy. Posted on 30 Jan
Mettam & Saunders Blast their 'Ball into the Lead
Update on Great British Sailing Challenge ranking Sam Mettam and Tim Saunders have taken up the lead in the rankings for the Great British Sailing Challenge after the second round at the Datchet Flyer in early December. It was a very windy and challenging weekend for the 83 boats. Posted on 22 Dec 2018