Please select your home edition
Zhik 2023 December - LEADERBOARD

Rolex China Sea Race - Overall

by RHKYC Media 1 Apr 2018 10:57 BST 01 April 2018
Mandrake III and the Lucky Lions - Rolex China Sea Race © RHKYC

The final yachts arrived in Subic Bay this morning, wrapping up the 2018 Rolex China Sea Race. 29 boats took part in the 2018 edition with 265 competitors hailing from 22 territories.

The 18 year old multihull record was broken by Karl Kwok's MOD 70 Beau Geste with top speeds of 37kts and her impressive elapsed time of 38h 30m 07s wiped 9h 31m 40s off the previous race record set in 2000.

It wasn't a traditional Rolex China Sea Race in terms of wind strength and angle; however it still provided competitors the challenge that they seek with offshore racing. There was a difficult weather picture for the latter stage of the race for the faster IRC 0 division yachts and with the breeze filling in behind the other divisions as they made their way towards the Philippines.

The IRC Overall win, from IRC 1 Division, went to Fred Kinmonth and Nick Burns GTS 43 Mandrake III (HKG), followed by YY Yan / YF Liu Ker 42 Custom Seawolf (HKG / China) also from IRC 1.

Tiger Mok commented on Seawolfs 2nd overall, "This was the second or third major offshore race for Seawolf and I am delighted to see the improvement and willingness to push harder in the race. The boys did a great job! I hope we can be an example for other boat owners from China, who are new to offshore sailing so that more owners take part in this type of race, as well as to prove that anyone with good training, knowledge and experience can perform well in world class offshore racing."

Third overall from the IRC 0 division went to Philippines entry, Ernesto Echauz s TP52 Standard Insurance Centennial. "We had a very good race. It was trouble free. Out of all the races we have done it was the most relaxing; no problems at all. It's very meaningful for us as we have been racing together for more than ten years," said Echauz.

Father and son double-handed entry Philippe and Comos Grelon's Tbs-Aya finished last night taking 15th overall and second in the IRC Class 2 behind Glenn Smith's Grand Soleil 45 Blackjack. On arrival they commented, "We wanted to have fun that's for sure and to finish - which was probably not too difficult as the conditions were absolutely perfect for us. I think we only had maximum breeze of 30kts."

Sailing double-handed, I think it takes quite a bit of skill; you need to know what you're doing and have a lot of trust in the other person too. The good news we have been sailing a lot together, we know each other perfectly, we don't argue and that's amazing. We had a very cool and quiet race. On decisions Philippe commented, "One says lets do this or that and the other says yes okay. I prefer to sail double handed because we know each very well there's no problem."

In IRC Premier Division, Peter Cremers Warwick 75 Shahtoosh had an awesome run taking the division win and 5th Overall; climbing up the ladder from 13th in 2016 edition. In the IRC Cruising Division, first time Rolex China Sea Race competitor Michael Ashbrook's Jeanneau Sitka took the division win.

The on location prize giving will be held tonight with the official prize giving at the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club later in April.

See you at the next edition of the Rolex China Sea Race, which starts 8 April 2020.

Related Articles

13 boats so far for Rolex China Sea Race 2020
International entries from afar entered into the 30th edition Of the 13 boats currently entered into the 30th edition of Rolex China Sea Race, six international entries hail from as far afield as Russia, Philippines, Japan and the United States and mark the first sign ups for this biennial blue water classic. Posted on 12 Dec 2019
Rolex China Sea Race: Mandrake III wins overall
Half the fleet now finished, and half hit winds too light With half of the fleet finished and the other half of the fleet succumbing to light breeze off of Subic Bay, the Rolex China Sea Race leaders have been decided. Posted on 31 Mar 2018
MOD Beau Geste smashes multihull record
In the Rolex China Sea Race Karl Kwok's MOD Beau Geste crossed the finish line early this morning, 30 March, at 01h 50m 07s in Subic Bay, Philippines - smashing the 18 year old multihull record set by Benoit Lesaffre's Crowther 50 Catamaran, Atmosphere, by an incredible 9h 31m 40s. Posted on 30 Mar 2018
Rolex China Sea Race: And they're off!
Hong Kong's iconic skyline provided the perfect backdrop The start line, located in front of Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club's Kellett Island Clubhouse, was a bit hectic with most boats favouring the committee boat end of the line Posted on 28 Mar 2018
China Sea Race: Father and son Double-handed entry
30 entries have been received from eight territories, including double-handed entry With just under a month to go before the start of the 56th Anniversary of the Rolex China Sea Race, 30 entries have been received from eight territories, including one double-handed entry. Posted on 18 Mar 2018
First time entry Shanghai seeks crew
For Rolex China Sea Race The third Chinese entry in the 2018 Rolex China Sea Race has been received from Hanse 575, Shanghai. Posted on 19 Aug 2017
Famous Classic Yacht takes on Asia
Dorade set for the Rolex China Sea Race The 12th entry for 29th edition of the Rolex China Sea Race has been received from the famous classic yacht Dorade. The China Sea Race was established in 1962 with five yachts racing from Hong Kong to Corrigedor, Philippines. Posted on 11 Jun 2017
Rolex China Sea Race
Best Asian Regatta In less than a year, the Rolex China Sea Race will take a competitive fleet 565 nautical miles across the South China Sea to Subic Bay in the Philippines. Posted on 23 Apr 2017
Rolex China Sea Race entries are open
Starting in Hong Kong's Victoria Harbour in March The 2016 Rolex China Sea Race will start on Wednesday 23 March at 13:20 hours (HKT) in Hong Kong's iconic Victoria Harbour and will finish 565-nm later in Subic Bay in the Philippines. Posted on 23 Oct 2015
Hi Fi IRC champion all over again
In the Rolex China Sea Race 2014 The second major prize of the 2014 Rolex China Sea Race was decided in Subic Bay this morning, as Hi Fi held Bryon Ehrhart's TP52 Lucky to a two minute lead on the water to ensure that Neil Pryde's Welbourne 52 collects the coveted IRC Overall title. Posted on 19 Apr 2014