Please select your home edition
Vaikobi 2019 - Leaderboard 3

Medway RC Laser Winter Series - Day 9

by Jamie Blair 20 Feb 2018 11:36 GMT 18 February 2018

Bright sunshine welcomed the 15 racers to Barton Point, along with 8-10 knots of breeze from the SE. A trapezoidal layout was laid to keep boats separated especially with a fleet of 15 boats with two rounds for a race.

The "A" sail was the rig of choice. The beat was into the sun making the judging of distances even more awkward than usual. A rig stayed until after the coffee break at race 7 when the wind increased to just over 10 knots and moved to the right. The trapezoid was changed to a triangle sausage.

Tony Owens immediately set down the theme for the day with wins in Race 1 and 2. The Class Chairman, Adrian Tomlinson also showed that despite little practice he achieved a string of 2nd and 3rd places. Close racing meant that any turns or OCS put boats to the back of the fleet and high scoring spoiled results.

Some notable results from Charles Pegram with a well-earned 2nd place, Jon Moon with a consistent set of results that included a 2nd place and Ian Foxwell who was always challenging the front of the fleet, Jamie Blair and Pete Freeman adding to the challenge at the front of the fleet. We also welcomed two new sailors – Fin Atkinson and Roger White. Roger normally sails at Ardleigh Lake.

Starting well was extremely important in the big fleet – one exciting port end flyer by Tony Alexander brought applause from the racers and onlookers.

By our cut-off time of 12.30, 14 races had been completed. Tony Owens continued his consistency and won the day with Adrian Tomlinson in second. Third place was decided on countback with Pete Freeman taking 3rd and Jamie 4th place. Countback was also used to divide 6th and 7th and 9th and 10th.

The Winter Series continues for another five rounds with Tony Owens taking a substantial lead. The next 3 places only points apart.

Round 10 will be at the usual time on the 25th February.

Round 9 Results:

PosSail NoHelmR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9R10R11R12R13R14Pts
1st75Tony Owens115(DNC)14112532‑6127
2nd30Adrian Tomlinson3223714211‑831‑830
3rd63Pete Freeman6532273‑93‑10118445
4th51Jamie Blair2‑10114356‑73647345
5th62Ian Foxwell‑9378952342552(DNF)55
6th83Richard Stone496538845‑139‑1110273
7th84Jon Moon8886‑10667‑96283573
8th58David Townshend74995‑139‑11611494683
9th72Charles Pegram1164782‑121088769(DNF)86
10th4Tony Alexander57(DNF)461078‑11410711786
11th958Brian Lev'y‑13‑1411111312105107121359118
12th33Les Willson‑14111010111111‑1413911101310130
13th82Scott Atkinson1013(DNF)121214(DNC)131214DNC14DNCDNF162
14th83Fin Atkinson1215(DNF)1314(DNF)DNC151412131212DNF164

Winter Series Results: (after Round 9)

PosSail NoHelmPts
175Tony Owens648
262Ian Foxwell589
351Jamie Blair575
463Peter Freeman572
583Richard Stone433
672Charles Pegram313
74Tony Alexander309
8958Brian Lev'y266
958David Townshend237
1084Jon Moon218
113Mark Penny108
1230Adrian Tomlinson93
1333Les Willson79
1419Sarah Mason77
1582Scot Atkinson60
16613Andrew Nicholls52
1748Phil Walker44
1883*Fin Atkinson13
1936Roger White7
2013Bryan Collings0

Related Articles

RC Laser Northern District series at Burwain
14 races for the enthusiastic band of skippers Brilliant sunshine and enough wind to facilitate 14 races greeted the eight skippers that brought both boats and enthusiasm. Posted on 22 May
Fleetwood RC Laser Spring Series
Only one week lost to bad weather The Spring series was to comprise of four meeting dates with the best of three to count. Posted on 8 May
Mustangs and RC Lasers at Fleetwood
Taking turns trying other boats Saturday's weather was looking fine for our meeting again of the Mustangs and Lasers sailing together. The plan for the day was nothing too serious, but come lunchtime after a play if there's enough of us present. Posted on 27 Apr
UK RC Laser Association TT at Medway
Racing at Barton Point Coastal Park Barton Point Coastal Park was the venue for the UKRCLA TT Open Meeting on Sunday 14th April. Posted on 17 Apr
RC Laser TT at West Lancs
Northern District Open With a somewhat favourable forecast and a gentle breeze from the East, it was with excitement to whether we were going to get a bumper crop entry for Sunday's TT at Southport. Posted on 11 Apr
RC Laser & DF95 Winter Series at Southport overall
First time a 'D' rig on a DragonForce has been seen Stormy weather all week with winds hitting over 40mph for some part of every day, would it settle down by Sunday for the last of the series. Posted on 27 Mar
RC Lasers and DF65s at Southport
Two years use for a rudder servo calls for replacement As quick as that and one week on were back to Southport. The drive in along the bouncy promenade road shouldn't be taken too quickly and certainly not straight after breakfast. Posted on 4 Mar
RC Lasers and DF95s at Southport
Trying not to complain about the blinding sun The early morning fog and the mist on the lake was soon burnt off from the continued spell of sunshine that we had been having over the last part of the week. You couldn't really believe that we were still in February. Posted on 25 Feb
Fleetwood RC Laser Winter Series round 4
Time to retire the old start sequence gadgetry The weather was mild and looked like although adequate wind in strength was coming from the South, a tricky direction. Seven skippers present. Posted on 18 Feb
Medway RC Laser Winter Series round 11
Overall winner decided in Race 13 Warm temperature, southerly winds 14-20 kts and blue sky attracted our best turnout for the Winter Series. Fifteen eager racers launched their boats well before the 10am start time, so early that a practice race was added to the programme. Posted on 18 Feb