Please select your home edition
MS Amlin 2017 Name Change 728x90

Countdown to the VPRS Nationals

by Keith Lovett 9 Feb 09:59 GMT 26-28 May 2018
MS Amlin PYRA Poole-Folly-Poole races © PYRA

As part of the International Paints Poole Regatta, Poole Bay will be the stunning location for the third VPRS National Championships, which takes place over the late May Bank Holiday on 26th to 28th May 2018.

Entries are now open and coming in at with reduced rate entry fees until mid-April. Any yachts without a VPRS rating can request a regatta rating absolutely free of charge following an easy link on the regatta web site.

With 17 entries in the Solent for the 2017 event, swelling numbers are expected in Poole this year. Class one winners in 2016 and 2017 were Ivor Graham and Brian Thompson racing their Dehler 36 'Deity' and in Class Two in 2017 Mike Shrimpton and Rose Debenham racing the Legend 35.5 'Maris Otter' for the event hosted by Chichester Cruiser Racing Club. But as part of the Poole Regatta supported by Poole Yacht Racing Association with a number of notable boat changes the field in 2018 is wide open.

VPRS welcomes a complete range of monohull yachts, rapidly growing in popularity the 2017 event saw entrants from a Humphreys 50 to Folkboats, club racers, cruisers and those more focused on the racing scene. The Poole event is supported with a full social programme, local competitively priced berthing organised, with no less than 5 classes using the three days of spectacular racing to host their National Championships; J24, HP30. MOCRA, 2.4M and of course VPRS.