Please select your home edition
P&B 2018 Sailing Season 728x90

Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association Awards Dinner 2017

by Mark Thompson 13 Nov 2017 06:36 GMT 11 November 2017
Vicky Cox delivering the acceptance speech during the Irish Sea Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association Awards Dinner 2017 © ISORA

240 ISORA competitors and guests attended the 2017 awards ceremony and dinner at the National Yacht Club in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday, and were treated to a champagne reception, followed by an outstanding four course meal devised and cooked by head chef Cormac Healy, served with fine wines and Jack Ryan 'Beggars Bush' whisky to finish.

ISORA chairman Peter Ryan kept the evening on track, with awards of both the perpetual trophies and Crystal glassware to the top three placed boats in all three fleets, plus the individual results for the 14 races which started in April, and culminated in the season defining 'James Eadie' 75 mile race from Pwlheli to Dun Laoghaire which this year decided the ISORA overall champion.

It was a great pleasure to see Peter Dunlop and Vicky Cox (J109 Mojito) receive the prestigious "Wolf's Head" Trophy from Peter and Anne-Marie Ryan crowning them 2017 champions.

Michael Boyd RORC chairman and ISORA guest delivered a humorous story of how the Lyver Race medallions managed to stay at his house, and generously bought Champagne for all the Lyver race competitors present.

Other notable awards during the evening were the 2017 'Spirit of ISORA Penmaen Plate' awarded to a Charlene Howard who raced AJ Wanderlust very consistently all year, often two handed and being Isle of Man faced the greatest number of deliveries. Indeed Charlene and her crew even sailed over for the awards Dinner! Awesome.

The Silver fleet and IRC class 2 was won by Joe Conway in Elandra, and the Victoria Cup team award, was presented to Clwb Hwylio Pwllheli Sailing Club for the highest aggregate club scores in the race series, by Mojito/Sgrech/Jackknife and Aquaplane.

Full results at where there is also a link to our 2017 yearbook with award winners and race reports.

It's was a memorable evening with the spirit of ISORA in full flow with great plans being made for a bigger and better 2018.

Thanks must go to the National Yacht Club, Dun Laoghaire, and in particular to General Manager Tim O'Brien and his staff, for the exceptional planning and smooth running of the evening.

Related Articles

Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association race 9
A night race from Dun Laoghaire Race 9 of the ISORA Offshore Series 2018 took place from Dun Laoghaire on the 13th July 2018. The race was a Night Race with an 20.00 start. The race was sponsored by marine lighting specialist suppliers "Exposure Lights". Posted on 14 Jul
ISORA Offshore Series 2018 Races 7 & 8
Liverpool to Isle of Man and Isle of Man to Mid Irish Sea The Midnight Race from Liverpool to Douglas, Isle of Man, was being run for the 99th time on Friday 8th June. This is an evening race with the start at 19.30 provided by Commodore of Liverpool Yacht Club, Paul Pratt. Posted on 14 Jun
Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association race 6
Planned as a race to Porthdinllaen Race 6 was the second race of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series, and planned as a race to Porthdinllaen or the fall back course Aberdaron and return, depending on weather conditions. Posted on 4 Jun
ISORA Offshore Series 2018 Race 4
Dun Laoghaire to Pwllheli for 22 boats The fourth race in the ISORA (Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association) 2018 series was raced on Saturday 26th May from Dun Laoghaire to Pwllheli, the first cross channel race this year. Posted on 29 May
ISORA Offshore Series 2018 Race 3
Dun Laoghaire to Dun Laoghaire The first offshore race of the ISORA Offshore Championship 2018 took place on the 12th May with a starting time of 8am. 23 boats from the entry list of 27 came to the start line in Dun Laoghaire. Posted on 14 May
ISORA announces its 2018 Racing Schedule
Offshore racing increasing in popularity Offshore racing has been increasing in popularity in recent years. 2017 was the best season for ISORA in many years with 68 boats taking part in the 15-race series. Posted on 2 Jan
ISORA James Eadie Race
Irish Sea Offshore Racing Association Race 14 J Boats dominated the last race of the Avery Crest ISORA Offshore Series 2017 that took place on Saturday 9th September. The race was an 80 mile course from Pwllheli to Dun Laoghaire. Posted on 11 Sep 2017
ISORA Coastal Series winners announced
On both sides of the Irish Sea With the completion of race 11 the Pwllheli night race, the two coastal series, held on both sides of the Irish Sea are now complete, and ISORA is delighted to announce the winners of the two coastal series. Posted on 5 Sep 2017
ISORA Race 11
Final race of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series Race 11 was the rescheduled Pwllheli night race, always a popular race for the UK based fleet, and the final race of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series. Posted on 3 Sep 2017
ISORA Race 13
Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series Race 2 Race 13 is race 2 of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal series and also part of the ISORA overall series. Posted on 27 Aug 2017