Please select your home edition
Noble Marine 2012

Noble Marine Comet Trio Nationals at Exe Sailing Club - Overall

by Bob Horlock 3 Sep 2017 19:58 BST 1-3 September 2017

Trio sailors arrived at Exe Sailing Club this morning to find that the weather forecast was all too accurate. Rain dampened the spirits and the F6 SE meant that, in complete contrast to yesterday's flat calm, the way out to sea was filled with foaming breakers.

Even hardy Trio sailors baulked at the opportunity to sail in these conditions and today's Race Officer Stuart Hills, had the easiest of decisions to make in cancelling the final day's racing.

There was much discussion about what had been learnt from the first appearance in competition of the new Mk2 rig, with Selden spars and North sails. In truth the results say it all, it's not about which kit you've got it's how well the helm and crew sail the boat and 6 times Trio National Champions Andrew and Caroline McAusland were not about to allow any of the new rigs to outsail them in their trusty original rig.

Skill always shows through in the end and whilst those with the new rig had benefitted in the very light winds of Saturday morning once the breeze got above 10 kts there was little to choose between the performance of the new and original rigs. How they will compare in stronger winds will have to wait until another day.

So Andrew and Caroline were duly crowned Trio National Champions for the 7th time and picked up all the principal chocolates! With the generous sponsorship of Noble Marine there were prizes for the first 3 overall and the first 3 original rigs.

After 6 races the top 5 places were separated by only 6 points and all of the top 5 had a race win. Andrew thanked Exe Sailing Club for hosting an excellent championships and with some of the closest racing ever seen at a Trio Nationals the class is in good heart after a turbulent year.

Overall Results:

PosBoat NameRigSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1stPigletOriginal472Andrew McAuslandCaroline McAuslandESC212‑6‑416
2ndGo with the FlowNew428Guy FarrantGraham SykesESC‑72‑41249
3rdScarlet LadyNew476Steve AshfordMartin YeomansWhitefriars3‑513‑629
4th Original433Adrian PadroTracie PadroShustoke SC133‑4‑5310
5thDashNew393Rex FrostSue FrostESC‑54521‑712
6thHazeOriginal398Stuart BushRory BushHolowell4‑9‑753618
7thExe t'SeaOriginal394Bob HorlockColette HorlockESC‑866‑87524
8thMayniacOriginal348Chris MayneDavid TalbotHawley Lake‑978‑98932
9thRed AlertOriginal495Simon GregoryVeronique HartESC1089‑1310‑1237
10thCirrusOriginal364Symon DolicznyLou DolicznyCotswold‑1210‑12119838
11thPoohOriginal431Nick PearcePaul BeerESC6111112‑14(RET)40
12thCeltic BlazeNew429Ian UptonMary UptonESC13‑1410711‑2041
13thWhite LightningOriginal487Louis Hockings‑CookeAnthony GarrattESC14‑1813‑19151052
14thDaisyOriginal443Keith LawsonHazel LawsonESC‑20‑171510171153
15thTamsyn llOriginal475Toby Elliot ESC‑1613‑1714131353
16thAbigail RoseNew457Saul TylerDeborah TylerESC111214(DNC)(DNC)DNC60
17thDeep PurpleOriginal374Ken AllisonRichard LinsdaleESC1515‑161616‑1862
18thKingfisherOriginal485Peter LabdonRichard YoungESC(DNC)(DNC)DNC15121565
19thTriple ExeOriginal426John LeeNick WebberESC‑1916‑1917181768
20th Original467Zak WhiteSteve WhiteCody1819‑2020‑211471
21stKrakenOriginal444Paul FurlerSteve JohncockESC17‑2018‑21201974
22ndNo WorriesOriginal368Mike HartJenny HartESC(DNC)(DNC)DNC18191676