Please select your home edition
Noble Marine 2020 - LEADERBOARD
Product Feature

Noble Marine Comet Trio Nationals at Exe Sailing Club - Day 1

by Bob Horlock 2 Sep 2017 09:14 BST 1-3 September 2017

The three day Comet Trio National Championships, kindly sponsored by Noble Marine, started at Exe Sailing Club on 1st September. With 22 boats entered the fleet was slightly bigger than last year and saw the first appearance in competition of the new Mk2 rig featuring a Selden mast and boom and North Sails including a laminate main.

Five Trios launched with the new spars and main and the big question of the day was would these new rigs prove to give a sufficient speed advantage to the owners to enable them to finish in front of the reigning National Champions, Andrew and Caroline McAusland from Exe SC or the current Inland Champions Adrian and Tracie Padro from Shustoke SC, both of whom were sailing with the original rig.

With the forecast of strong southerly winds on Sunday the organisers chose to sail an extra race on Friday in the light F2/3 northerlies which prevailed. The Race Officer, Les Arscott set triangle, sausage, triangle courses which proved to be challenging sailing in the shifty and variable winds.

The first race saw a good mix of original and new rigs at the front with Stuart and Rory Bush from Holowell SC leading the way after a stunning first beat. As the race progressed there was much changing of places but Adrian and Tracie took the bullet with Andrew and Caroline second and Steve Ashford with Martin Yeomans from Whitefriars SC sailing with a new rig in 3rd.

A similar pattern was played out in the second race but this time Andrew and Caroline prevailed over Guy Farrant and Graham Sykes from Exe SC sailing with a new rig, Adrian and Tracie were 3rd.

In the 3rd race Steve and Martin lead from start to finish chased closely by Andrew and Caroline and Adrian and Tracie.

So overnight it was the two original rigs sailed by the current National and Inland Champions that were in first and second, and the Mk2 rig of Steve and Martin in 3rd.

Results after Day 1:

PosBoat nameRigSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3Pts
1stPigletOriginal472Andrew McAuslandCaroline McAuslandESC2125
2nd Original433Adrian PadroTracie PadroShustoke SC1337
3rdScarlet LadyNew476Steve AshfordMartin YeomansWhitefriars3519
4thGo with the FlowNew428Guy FarrantGraham SykesESC72413
5thDashNew393Rex FrostSue FrostESC54514
6thHazeOriginal398Stuart BushRory BushHolowell49720
7thExe t'SeaOriginal394Bob HorlockColette HorlockESC86620
8thMayniacOriginal348Chris MayneDavid TalbotHawley Lake97824
9thRed AlertOriginal495Simon GregoryVeronique HartESC108927
10thPoohOriginal431Nick PearcePaul BeerESC6111128
11thCirrusOriginal364Symon DolicznyLou DolicznyCotswold12101234
12thCeltic BlazeNew429Ian UptonMary UptonESC13141037
13thAbigail RoseNew457Saul TylerDeborah TylerESC11121437
14thWhite LightningOriginal487Louis Hockings‑CookeAnthony GarrattESC14181345
15thTamsyn llOriginal475Toby Elliot ESC16131746
16thDeep PurpleOriginal374Ken AllisonRichard LinsdaleESC15151646
17thDaisyOriginal443Keith LawsonHazel LawsonESC20171552
18thTriple ExeOriginal426John LeeNick WebberESC19161954
19thKrakenOriginal444Paul FurlerSteve JohncockESC17201855
20th Original467Zak WhiteSteve WhiteCody18192057
21stKingfisherOriginal485Peter LabdonRichard YoungESCDNCDNCDNC69
21stNo WorriesOriginal368Mike HartJenny HartESCDNCDNCDNC69

Related Articles

Comet Trio Inlands at Llangorse
Plus a fun race with a mass start and a long reach down the entire lake It was worth the wait! The Covid-delayed Inlands finally took place within the beautiful settings of Llangorse lake with eleven visitors joining the three brand new local boats for a fabulous weekend of racing and socialising. Posted on 23 Oct
Noble Marine Comet Trio Nationals at Exe
Several new boats made their debut nationals The Comet Trio National Championships (proud to be sponsored by Noble Marine Insurance) was held at the lovely Exe Sailing Club on 31st July - 1st August. Posted on 8 Aug
Comet Trios at Whitefriars
A weekend of Snakes and Ladders The Comets turned up, the sun turned up, but the wind didn't get the memo and failed to materialise making the racing, course setting, and a consistent set of results, very difficult, however it was ideal weather for the barbecues! Posted on 15 Jun
Whitefriars Comet Trio Open preview
Two days of great sailing in June Trio sailors come on down... Whitefriars Sailing Club is pleased to announce their first Comet Trio Open Meeting for a very long time. Why not join us in your Comet Trio for two days of great sailing and friendly company? Posted on 30 May
Noble Marine sponsor 2021 racing season
Combined Comet class have events at Whitefriars, Llangorse and Exe The Combined Comet Class Association is delighted to announce the continued sponsorship from Noble Marine Insurance for the 2021 racing season. Posted on 30 Apr
Exciting times for the Comet Trio
Versatile boat with proven stability inland and at sea Only 200 Comet Trios were built by Comet Dinghies before they ceased production in 2008. With owners very loyal to the class, second-hand boats were hard to come by and sold very quickly. Posted on 1 May 2020
Tips for sailing with a young crew
What is different when racing with kids between the age of 6 and 12 Here are some top tips on sailing with young people. The guide covers boat set up, jobs for the crew, sailing techniques, kit and incentives. It is written from the experience of several people who have sailed with kids between the age of 6 and 12. Posted on 25 Oct 2019
Comet Trio Nationals at Brixham
A photo finish required Eighteen Comet Trio took part in the Noble Marine National Champs held at Brixham Yacht Club. The fleet consisted of ten MK2 and eight MK1 Trios. Posted on 7 Aug 2019
Noble Marine Comet Trio Inlands at Llangorse
A photo finish required The fleet of Comet Trios arrived looking forward to two days of great racing. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, bacon sandwiches, sunshine, 25 knots of breeze and snow-capped mounts around Llangorse Lake. Posted on 10 May 2019
Comet Trios at Shustoke
Pockets of wind appear out of nowhere, and the air turns blue A gentle breeze, bacon sandwiches and friendly faces greeted the Comet Trio fleet at Shustoke Sailing Club were they were sharing their open meeting with the GP14 fleet. Posted on 25 Mar 2019