Please select your home edition
RS Sailing 2021 - LEADERBOARD

Sandown Regatta 2017

by Liam Thom 16 Aug 2017 15:14 BST 13 August 2017
Sandown Regatta 2017 © Heather Knowles & Yvonne Pike

Sandown Regatta returned to its traditional start line off Sandown Pier in 2017. 9 Sprint 15s, a Dart 16 and a Challenger trimaran ignored the forecast for no wind and were rewarded with a steady 7 knots of breeze from the North East. 10 boats had entered from Shanklin Sailing Club with the Dart 16 coming from Yaverland Sailing and Boat Club.

A right handed triangular course was set for the Open Handicap Race and Mark and Charlie Randerson and Yvonne Pike got good starts in their Sprint 15s but were overtaken before the first mark by Jamie and Tina Lavender in their Dart 16. The Lavenders held their lead on the reaching leg but were overtaken by several of the lighter catamarans on the downwind section.

At the end of the first lap, the Randersons held the lead just ahead of Yvonne Pike, John Shenton and the Lavenders.

The wind had veered for the second lap and there was only a short sail on port tack before the first mark. Ian Wilkinson manoeuvred his way round the first buoy better than the rest of the fleet and emerged with the lead which he held to the line a full two minutes ahead of the sprightly septuagenarians John Shenton and Erling Holmberg.

12 minutes later Craig Rose navigated his Challenger across the line and looked to be well in the mix on adjusted time. Once the calculations had been made it transpired that his adjusted time was identical to Ian's so there was a tie for the cup.

The second race was for a cup and a tankard for Sprint 15s and all other boats respectively. With Craig retiring in glory after the first race, the Lavenders looked good for the tankard in their Dart 16.

The wind was now lighter, blowing from the South East and the course was quickly reduced in size and rotated to the right.

Most of the fleet were slow getting away but Tony Rose nailed the start in the centre of the line while Stuart Pierce owned the pin end. Unfortunately Tony could not convert his advantage as he had a mechanical issue half way up the beat, this left Stuart in charge of the race at the first mark.

Stuart was chased hard for two laps by Ian Wilkinson who looked eager for more silver with John Shenton, Tony Murrant and Andy Jefferies all looking to get in on the act.

On the final third lap, Ian's challenge faded but John Shenton managed to harry Stuart Pierce to the line, finishing 17 seconds behind him, with Andrew Jefferies taking the third step on the podium.

Overall Results:

PosHelmCrewSail NoClassH'capPts
Open Handicap
1stCraig Rose  Challenger11601.5
1stIan Wilkinson 1862Sprint 159311.5
3rdJohn Shenton 1956Sprint 159313
4thErling Holmberg 7Sprint 159314
5thStuart Pierce 1916Sprint 159315
6thKeith Newnham 1150Sprint 159316
7thMark RandersonCharlie Randerson1529Sprint 159317
8thAndrew Jefferies 1952Sprint 159318
9thYvonne Pike 1220Sprint 159319
10thTony Murrant 1970Sprint 1593110
11thTony Rose 1260Sprint 1593111
12thJamie LavenderTina Lavender2670Dart 1690512
Sprint 15
1stStuart Pierce 1916Sprint 159311
2ndJohn Shenton 1956Sprint 159312
3rdAndrew Jefferies 1952Sprint 159313
4thIan Wilkinson 1862Sprint 159314
5thTony Murrant 1970Sprint 159315
6thYvonne Pike 1220Sprint 159316
7thErling Holmberg 7Sprint 159319
7thKeith Newnham 1150Sprint 159319

Related Articles

Dart 15 Sport Nationals at Shanklin
Started with a whimper and finished with a roar The first day of the Dart 15 Sport National Championship started in perfect sailing weather with a flat, dark blue sea, force 4 and wall to wall sunshine. Twenty-nine boats entered including eighteen from the host club. Posted on 25 Sep 2023
Sprint 15 Southern Championship at Shanklin
Sunny forecast lures 18 home club cats out of the boatpark, joined by 3 visitors The forecast of sunny force 4s and 5s managed to lure eighteen Shanklin boats out of the boat park to join the three travellers from the north at the first Sprint 15 Association event at this end of the bay since 2011. Posted on 23 May 2022
Shanklin Sailing Club Time Trial Series race 1
Using the club buoys with individual sailors taking their own times With no official racing allowed, Shanklin set up a time trial competition using the club buoys with individual sailors taking their own times. A course was set to hopefully give a beat in any wind direction. Posted on 21 Jun 2020
North Island to Starboard
From the Isle of Wight, around Britain in a 15ft catamaran Why would anybody want to sail around Britain: to endure all the worst that the weather and the sea can throw at you, just to end up in the same place as you started? Posted on 21 Sep 2019
Shanklin Regatta 2017
26 boats race with the prospect of silverware The prospect of some silverware usually entices a decent number of boats onto the water at Shanklin and the regatta day was no exception with twenty-six boats lining up on the start in a sunny force 3. Posted on 22 Aug 2017
Sprint 15 Sport Nationals
Racing at the Isle of Wight The 2017 Sprint 15 Sports National Championships, sponsored by Wightlink Ferries and Spinlock were held at the Yaverland Sailing and Boating Club, under the organisation of Shanklin Sailing Club on the Isle of Wight on the 19th to 21st May. Posted on 27 May 2017
Shanklin Sailing Club Push the Boat Out
More than forty visitors at the Isle of Wight club Shanklin Sailing Club welcomed more than forty visitors of all ages on Saturday the 13th May as part of the RYA's Push The Boat Out series of events. The weather was perfect with sunny intervals and winds between forces four and five. Posted on 17 May 2017
Bart's Bash at Shanklin
Held in sunshine with rolling seas A sunny force 4-5 NNE with a rolling sea greeted 25 boats at Shanklin for Bart's Bash on Sunday the 21st September. As well as Shanklin Sailing Club members there were also four boats from neighbouring Yaverland Sailing and Boat Club. Posted on 22 Sep 2014
Sprint 15 Southerns at Shanklin
Near perfect conditions on Saturday A total of 27 competitors were entered for the event and in near perfect conditions on the Saturday, with a flat sea and a southerly force 3 wind, race officer Martin Harrison set the course way out in Sandown Bay. Posted on 25 May 2011
Baker Challenge Cup
Sprint 15s at Skanklin Having missed out on the last four races due to lack of wind, Hope beach offered a fleet of thirteen Sprint 15s ready for the first cup race of the season. Posted on 8 Apr 2009