Please select your home edition
GJW 2018 728x90

Sprint 15 TT at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club

by Steve Healy 31 Jul 2016 15:41 BST 23-24 July 2016

So even though we advertised the sea breeze which we knew would come, you unbelievers who didn't attend missed out on a blast of a weekend.

The easterly made it to 18 miles an hour (at least) by the second race of the first day. The South Westerly made it up to 15 miles per hour then supplemented by the – yes you've guessed it- sea breeze swung round to the south and cranked up to a recorded 21 miles per hour. We were flying around.

So, to the nine believers who came and flew around the cans at blatting speed, well done and thank you. For all you non-believers – Have faith next time!

Day 1

So we awoke on Saturday expectant of the sea breeze to find it already building at 10am. By the time we were on the water it was a good 10- 12 mile easterly and building all the time. Race 1 was led all the way by David Ball (1923) with Chris Tillyer (1953), Kevin Kirby (2020), Gary Sverdloff (1963) and me (Steve Healy 1921) hot on his heels, we however could not bring him to heel and it was 1st for David Ball, 2nd Chris Tillyer 3rd Gary Sverdloff and 4th for me.

Race 2 saw the breeze picking up to close to 18 miles an hour and the fleet swapping sides of the course as the port tackers won the day on the last race, however this time it was the starboard tackers that won the advantage with not much chance of catching them. 1st over the line was Howard Hawkes (1267) followed by Jim Bowie (2021) then Kevin Kirby and David Ball.

Race 3 saw the breeze drop a little although not much and some fantastic sailing was had by all contestants. The usual suspects were joined by George Love (2019) in his new boat with the Race officer making the course much longer there were a lot of challenges at the front with Kevin, Chris, Myself, George and David all changing places although it was David Ball who won the race with Chris Tillyer 2nd, George Love 3rd and me 4th.

Day 2

Race 4 - So the forecast was 13 miles per hour SW and we set off safe in the knowledge that usually the forecast is under by at least 5 miles per hour, sure enough by the start of race 1 it was up to 15-16 albeit a bit flaky in places. I tacked off on Port really early which paid off massively as I rounded the weather mark with almost a whole leg between me and the next boat which was Howard Hawkes – I think – This carried on for the next two laps, however the god of wind took my luck back by dropping me in a hole where I watched Howard Hawkes and George love sail straight over me with Kevin Kirby far too close for comfort. So George nailed it with his first ever TT win in 20 years of sailing in them, Gary Sverdloff(1963) 2nd, Kevin Kirby 3rd and yours truly 4th and yes I was seeing the pattern by then!

Race 5 with the wind up to 20 miles an hour plus gusts it was traveller trimming conditions! Once again the usual suspects were vying for position at the front, ending up with Chris Tillyer and me vying for the top slot, an early port tack by me put me in front on the last beat and I managed to hold my nerve for the first slot- a first ever for me as well – Gary Sverdloff got the second slot with Kevin Kirby 3rd and Chris Tillyer 4th.

George Love and I both achieved first place for the first time in a Traveller/TT race. George has been waiting a long time (20 years) and this win is a testament to George's skill and the quality of the new White formula boats. Thorpe Bay provided Six prizes, 3 for the top 3, 2 for George and I for winning our first ever race at one of these events and for Stefan Smith for his determination and dedication to racing.

My thanks go to the Race Officer, Race Committee, Support boat crews, all the people behind the scenes and to everyone who came to the event.

Overall Results:

PosHelmSail NoClub
1David Ball1923Marconi Sailing Club
2Steve Healy1921Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
3Kevin Kirby2020Marconi Sailing Club
4Chris Tillyer1953Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
5George Love2019Carsington Sailing Club
6Howard Hawkes1267RYA
7Gary Sverdloff1963Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
8Jim Bowie2021Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
9Gary Burrows2011Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
10Jon Pearse1988Marconi Sailing Club
11Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing Club
12Daren Fitchew1642Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
13Keith Persin1551Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
14Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing Club
15Rob Bailey1755Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
16Donald Sloan1240Brightlingsea Sailing Club
17John Manning1955Beaver Sailing Club
18Alan Grant1825Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
19Duncan Ford1973Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
20Colin Rigg2012Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
21Stefan Smith1525Thorpe Bay Yacht Club
22Paul Morgan1954Thorpe Bay Yacht Club

Related Articles

Sprint 15 TT at Draycote Water
14 visitors join 9 home sailors despite a poor forecast The start of the first race was delayed, to allow the wind to fill in. This allowed the local fishing competition armada to steam past the club house and set up at several points around the lake to make it more interesting. Posted on 18 Jul
Sprint 15 Nationals at the WPNSA overall
Superb 40th Anniversary celebrations in the sunshine With much positive anticipation the Sprint 15 fleet descended on WPNSA, the Olympic Sailing Venue, in late June for their 40th Anniversary National Championship and general celebrations! Posted on 30 Jun
Sprint 15 Nationals at the WPNSA after day 3
What a way to turn 40! With the Windsport Support Trailer in full operation over four days at the Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy, it is proving to be a truly memorable celebration of the way to turn 40. Posted on 25 Jun
Sprint 15 Prize Draw winner takes the helm
Be careful what you wish for! Be careful what you wish for! Whilst visiting the 2018 RYA Dinghy Show at Alexandra Palace back in March, I entered a number of competitions, draws and raffles. I was hoping to win a boat, holidays or other nice to haves. Posted on 27 Apr
Sprint 15 Summer TT at Marconi
27 competitors for first round in Essex 27 competitors took part in the first 40th Anniversary Sprint 15 Summer TT at Marconi SC on 14th and 15th April including an impressive home turnout of 13 boats. Posted on 17 Apr
Sprint 15 Windsport Catparts Winter Series
Paul Grattage retains the trophy with a three bullet scoreline Paul Grattage retained the Sprint 15 Winter Traveller Trophy after a winter series which was heavily disrupted by bad weather. Five events (one per month) were planned but only Stewartby and Draycote were unaffected by the weather. Posted on 31 Mar
Chris Black Sprint 15 Icicle Winter Event
Close racing at Grafham Water Sailing Club The Grafham Sprint 15 Icicle traveller event was run on 25 March in a light North Easterly breeze. The event comprised of 3 races (for the first time) and was run as the first start of club racing. Posted on 26 Mar
Sprint 15 Association kicks off a celebratory year
Defying the 'Beast from the East' at 2018 RYA Dinghy Show The 'Beast from the East' proved no match for the Sprint 15 Association's volunteer members who battled through snow and ice to get to Alexandra Palace ensuring that the stand at this year's RYA Dinghy Show was ready to receive visitors last weekend. Posted on 10 Mar
Sprint 15 Winter TT at Rutland
Heavy snow puts off many of the travellers The winter continued to do its best to disrupt our Winter series. Having been cancelled due to snow back in December, none of us thought this would be an issue for the Rutland TT re-run in late February – after all, its nearly spring! Posted on 7 Mar
Sprint 15 Association 40th Anniversary
Celebrations start at the RYA Dinghy Show Anyone attending the Dinghy Show this weekend who does not visit the Sprint 15 Catamaran Association at Stand B24 and talk to the enthusiastic and knowledgable volunteers manning the Stand will be missing a treat. Posted on 28 Feb