Please select your home edition
2024 fill-in (top)
Product Feature
Calypso Battery Powered Mini Wind Sensor
Calypso Battery Powered Mini Wind Sensor

Hobart Combined Clubs Long Race Series – Race 7

by Peter Campbell 28 Feb 2016 08:17 GMT 28 February 2016
Group A fleet starts the final race of the Hobart Combined Club Long Race Series © Peter Campbell

Bellerive yachtsman Harold Clark's Invincible has sailed to an overall victory in every handicap category of Group A of the Hobart Combined Clubs Long Race Series for 2015-2016.

In a brilliant finish to the summer series, Invincible won the PHS, AMS and IRC categories of the last race for Group A on corrected time.

Invincible, a Farr 1104, sailed an exceptionally good race, finished sixth in the Group A fleet and only 31 seconds astern of cross-river rival Intrigue, the Castro 40 skippered by Don Calvert from the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania.

The 30 nautical mile race down to a mark off Richardson's Beach in Ralph Bay and return, twice, gave the fleet a glorious finish to the summer season, sailing in a north-westerly breeze that freshened to 20 knots during the day,

Invincible won Group A, PHS category by three points from Matthew Denholm's Mumm 30 Cleopatra with TasPaints taking third place overall.

Under the AMS ratings, Invincible ended with five wins from seven long races over the summer season, finishing comfortably ahead of Intrigue, with Cleopatra third overall.

Again, in the IRC category, Invincible won five of the seven races, wining easily from Intrigue and The Protagonist (Stuart Denny).

The duel for line honours saw a remarkable race between Peter Cretan's Marten 49 Tilt and Gary Smith's The Fork in the Road.

The Fork in the Road led the fleet around the first leg from Battery Point to a mark off Richardson's Beach inRalph's Bay and return, a fast spinnaker run down river followed by a hard beat to windward back to Battery Point, rounding the windward mark just 30 seconds ahead of Tilt.

Their duel continued with Tilt finally overtaking The Fork in the Road over the final few hundred metres from the John Garrow to Battery Point to take line honours by 16 seconds after sailing the 30 nautical mile course in the Derwent.

Group B and C sailed a 20 nautical mile course, their leeward mark also off Richardson's Beach but their windward mark laid off the John Garrow light at lower Sandy Bay.

In Group B, Silicon Ship, David Wyatt and Gordon Clark's Knoop 32, also from BYC, won the final race under PHS scoring to clinch an overall victory, also winning the pennant under AMS from the final race winner Young Lion (Steve Chau).

In Group C, the pennant went to Tarremah (L Duncan) by just one point from Peter Alcock's Kindred Spirit, third place overall going to the final race winner Camlet Way (Steve Mannering).

The final race day of the Combined Clubs Harbour Series is scheduled for next Saturday, 5 March, to wind up the summer season of racing in Hobart which attracted strong entries and hard competition in both harbour and long racing.

Related Articles

Betsy Island Race in Hobart
Octogenarian sailor's IRC pennant Senior Hobart yachtsman Don Calvert, now in his early 80s, yesterday added another pennant to a long and successful local and international career with his Castro 40, Intrigue. Posted on 9 Apr 2017
Hobart Combined Clubs Channel Race
Gale force winds slash the fleet Gale force northerly winds gusting to 50 knots on the River Derwent and in the D'Entrecasteaux Channel today played havoc with Hobart yachts in their first long race of the season, forcing half the fleet to retire from the Channel Race. Posted on 11 Oct 2016
Opening Day on the Derwent
Massive fleet in historic Sullivan's Cove Hobart boat owners, their crew and families celebrated the Opening Day of the 136th Yachting Season the River Derwent today with a massive fleet of more than 250 craft saluting the Governor of Tasmania, Professor Kate Warner. Posted on 8 Oct 2016
Hobart Combined Clubs Harbour Series overall
Glorious day on the Derwent winds up yachting season Hobart's River Derwent turned on a magnificent sailing day to wind up the summer season of 2015-2016, with more than 100 yachts, off-the-beach classes and catamarans providing a colourful sight on the river. Posted on 6 Mar 2016
Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy
At the 178th Royal Hobart Regatta Hobart yachtsman Nat Morgan and his crew of Hot August Night should be celebrating their Royal Hobart Regatta Combined Clubs Harbour Race today with a good old cuppa. Posted on 8 Feb 2016
Hobart Combined Clubs Harbour Series day 5
Designing and building boats to last in Tasmania One only has to visit Hobart's Australian Wooden Festival to realise how many fine craft, many built in Tasmanian by great craftsmen from the State's famed boat-building timbers, there are still in existence. Posted on 24 Jan 2016
Hobart Combined Clubs Channel Race
Cleopatra reigns again Three weeks ago the Mumm 30, Cleopatra, was declared Cock of the Huon in a lead-up regatta to the summer sailing season and yesterday she reigned again with a convincing victory in the first race of the Combined Clubs Long Race Series, the Channel Race. Posted on 11 Oct 2015
Opening Day and Channel Race in Hobart
A great summer of sailing ahead on the River Derwent If this week's twilight yacht races are any indication, the stage is set for a great summer of sailing on Hobart's River Derwent, with the colourful Opening Day on the river tomorrow and the Channel Race on Sunday. Posted on 9 Oct 2015
Hobart Long Race Series final race
'Illusion' came from behind to outsail series leaders Second place on corrected time in yesterday's final race of the summer season gave David Brett and his Hanse 40 Illusion a one point winning margin in the PHS summer pennant for Group A in the Combined Clubs Long Race Series. Posted on 15 Mar 2015
Hobart Long Race Series Race 6
Intrigue aiming to celebrate 30th season with victory This summer of yacht racing marks the 30th season in which veteran Hobart yachtsman Don Calvert has raced his equally veteran Castro 40, Intrigue, on the River Derwent – and it could well be another winning season. Posted on 21 Feb 2015