Please select your home edition
Sailing Chandlery 2024 LEADERBOARD
Product Feature
J Boats J/70
J Boats J/70

SB20 Asian Grand Slam & Asia Pacific Championships - Day 1

by Icarus Sailing Media 29 Jan 2016 17:56 GMT 29-31 January 2016
SB20 Asian Grand Slam & Asia Pacific Championships day 1 © Howie Choo /

Welcome to the highly anticipated day 1 of racing here at the SB20 Asian Grand Slam & Asia Pacific Championship, hosted from the stunning venue of One degree 15 Marina. After taking a taste of the local monsoons during yesterday's practice race, teams were hoping for something a bit brighter. All ready to race, after final checks to boats and kit.

This year, the SB20 Championship has set a participation record, with 22 teams from 13 nations in the line-up – featuring a diverse mix of experience and backgrounds. The ambition of youth is clearly inspiring the team on "Slippery When Wet", who are up against seasoned campaigners and experienced Olympic sailors like Xu Yuan Zhen and his crew on "Zenith Sailing Team".

The level of competition has significantly stepped up this year. There will be no easy path to victory. Edward Russo and his crew on "Black Magic" won the first race in a steady breeze, but a poor follow-up performance in race 2 handed the opening to Chris Dare and "Flirtatious", who took the advantage. All change after race 3, as the consistency of Xu Yuan Zhen placed Zenith top of the leaderboard. 3 races down, 6 to go.

After an exciting opening day, teams headed back ashore in buoyant mood, ready to relax back at the marina. There is a lot of racing yet to unfold. Join us again on race day 2.

Related Articles

SB20 Australian Championship overall
Karabos blitz the fleet to win with 13 points Tasmania's world champion sailor Nick Rogers (Karabos), with his crew of Cole Dabner and Simon Burrows, has blitzed the fleet to win the 2024 Australian Championship on 13 points. Posted on 25 Mar
SB20 Australian Championship day 2
Rogers fights back in Tasmania Nick Rogers, sailing Karabos, has come out fighting on the second day of the SB20 Australian Championship in Beauty Point with three bullets and a second place taking him into the lead in the regatta. Posted on 24 Mar
SB20 Australian Championship day 1
Nutcracker crushes opposition Nutcracker, skippered by Rob Davis from the Sandringham Yacht Club, has delivered a crushing blow to the opposition on Day One of the SB20 Australian Championship under way at Beauty Point in northeast Tasmania. Posted on 23 Mar
SB20 fleet ready to race for 2024 National title
The Australian Championship will be sailed from 23 to 25 March 2024 at Port Dalrymple YC SB20 sailors are assembling at Port Dalrymple Yacht Club at Beauty Point in the northeast of Tasmania for the 2024 Australian Championship which will be sailed from Saturday 23 to Monday 25 March 2024. Posted on 21 Mar
The Iron Lady of Dubai: how to win the SB20 Worlds
Dubai witnesses first woman to win the Worlds, and with a 50% female team Team Kidzink of Charlotte, Pippa, Artem and Gonçalo marked not only the first UAE victory in the competition, but also a historic moment as Charlotte Borghesi became the first female helmswoman to claim the championship with a 50% female team. Posted on 27 Feb
SB20 Tasmanian Championship
Nick Rogers, Simon Burrows and Cole Dabner win the title Internationally renowned sailor Nick Rogers, sailing with Simon Burrows and Cole Dabner, has won the 2024 SB20 Tasmanian Championship. Rogers sailed Karabos to a one-point win in the eight-race series, defeating previous champion Ares Racing. Posted on 26 Feb
Banjo Shoreline Crown Series overall
Tasmanian sailors were tested in all conditions on the River Derwent in Hobart Tasmanian sailors were tested in all conditions on the River Derwent in Hobart in the 20th anniversary of the Crown Series Bellerive Regatta last weekend, with wild conditions on Friday night, glamour sailing on Saturday, and confusing breezes on Sunday. Posted on 26 Feb
Banjo Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Race day 1
Wild winds one day and champagne sailing the next The 20th anniversary of the Banjo's Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta got off to an eventful start with crews having to contend with winds fluctuating from 5 to 30 knots combined with 60-degree wind shifts throughout the twilight race. Posted on 24 Feb
SB20 World Championships overall
UAE-based teams clutch the top positions The Dubai Duty Free SB20 Triple Sailing Championships came to an end after the grand finale of SB20 World Championships with 5 days of thrilling races with Team Kidzink winning the final title. Posted on 16 Feb
SB20 World Championships day 4
There were no changes at the top of the leaderboard The Dubai Duty Free SB20 World Championships witnessed a thrilling day of racing with three completed races. Today's weather mirrored typical conditions, providing an ideal day for sailing. Posted on 15 Feb