Please select your home edition
CoastWaterSports 2014

Civil Service Dinghy Sailing Championship at Netley Cliff Sailing Club

by Iain Mackay 18 Jul 2015 19:29 BST 11-12 July 2015
Civil Service Dinghy Sailing Championship 2015 © Iain Mackay

The 2015 Civil Service Dinghy Championships were held at Netley Cliff SC on the weekend 11-12 July. The regatta consists of 6 races over two days, using RYA Average Lap handicap rules.

The fleet was considerably reduced from earlier years (for reasons yet to be determined by the organisers), so 14 boats came to the start for the first race. The quality of the sailing was, however, still high.

As in previous years, the range of classes and, hence, PY Numbers was considerable: RS400 (944) to Topaz Unto (1243), which kept the race crew on their toes. The weather was sunny and the winds light as Race Officer Tom Rusbridge gave the crews their briefing shortly after 10:00, then ​started the first race with a windward-leeward course.

The two least-competitive boats, a Comet Duo and Topaz Unto, finished after one lap, but the rest completed a second lap with Elizabeth and Roger Pescod's Tasar crossing the line first followed by Nigel Maycock and Ellie Mackay in RS400 835 and Daniel Goodman and Deborah Robertshaw in RS200 950.

However, on corrected times, the two Juniors, Toby Mizzi and Tom Callan ("T n T") in RS Feva XL 2422 were the winners. This established a recognisable pattern for the remainder of the Championships. The two races in the afternoon delivered similar results, so the interim standing at the end of three races had TNT, Pescods and Goodman/Robertshaw at the top of the board.

Sunday's weather was cloudy with the odd spot of rain, and winds rather more frisky, showing 13 knots at the start of the first race. By the end of that race it was gusting 20 knots, and several crews had taken an unplanned bath. This time, the Pescods in their Tasar were first across the line and 6:27 ahead of TNT, who were forced into second place. Simon Durham (Solo 5393) slipped into 3rd place this time.

Race 5 saw normality restored, with TNT back in first place and the Pescods forced into third behind Goodman/Robertshaw. For Race 6, Simon Durham clawed his way up to 2nd, and the Pescods were relegated to 4th behind Goodman/Robertshaw, but TnT regained their first place and cemented their hold on the Overall title.

Final results: TnT (Mizzi/Callan) overall winners of the Seal Cup; Elizabeth and Roger Pescod won the CSSC Rose Bowl for first Civil Service Sports Council boat; TnT also bagged the Junior Trophy, and the trophy for first boat in the largest class entered (RS200) went to Dan Goodman and Deborah Robertshaw. As Littleton SC had by far the largest entry of the Championships the award of the team prize of the Littleton Bell went once again to Littleton!

The awards were made by the CSSA Vice Commodore, Trevor Drew, who complimented participants and the Netley Cliff SC organisers for excellent work and thanked the Race Officer, Tom Rusbridge for his outstanding race management.

Overall Results:

PosClassSail NoClubHelmCrewPYR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1stRS FEVA XL2422LittletonToby MizziTom Callan1233111‑2115
2ndTASAR2638 Elizabeth PescodRoger Pescod102322313‑411
3rdRS 200950LittletonDaniel GoodmanDeborah Robertshaw1047332‑42313
4thSOLO5393LittletonSimon Derham 11404‑5434217
5thRS 200385NCSCLuke GobleKirsty Robertson1047545‑65524
6thLASER RADIAL120538LittletonRichard Dodman 113568(DNF)57834
7th20002078LittletonAndy BennettSally Kelvie1100‑99776635
8thRS 400663LittletonMartin RidesMichael Rides944107(DNF)88942
9thRS 400835LittletonNigel MaycockEllie Mackay9447‑129991044
10thRS 2001242LittletonLisa MaycockJames Robertshaw10471110810(DNF)746
11th20002497NCSCAmanda BowensAlan Bowens1100(DNC)66DNCDNCDNC57
12thFIREBALL14873NCSCLynda BeckStuart Beck970811(DNC)DNCDNCDNC64
13thTOPAZ UNO1716NCSCRichard North 1243131310(DNC)DNCDNC66
14thCOMET28NCSCLiseve FierensJacob Lloyd120012(DNC)DNCDNCDNCDNC72

Related Articles

Civil Service Dinghy Sailing Championship
28 boats race at Netley Cliff Sailing Club The Civil Service Dinghy Sailing Championships were held once again at Netley Cliff SC on 19-20 July 2014. The regatta is organised by the Civil Service Sailing Association on behalf of the Civil Service Sports Council, which sponsors the event. Posted on 29 Jul 2014
Civil Service Dinghy Championships
25 boats race at Netley The CSSC (Civil Service Sports Council) Dinghy Championships run by the CSSA (Civil Service Sailing Association) were held at Netley Cliff Sailing Club on the 29th and 30th of June 2013. Posted on 9 Jul 2013
Civil Service Dinghy Championship
23 teams race at Netley Cliff This years championships at Netley Cliff SC attracted a total of 23 entries from 6 clubs. Although numbers were down on last year, the competition was very strong including previous champions and the event enjoyed warm winds and sunshine. Posted on 1 Aug 2011
CSSC Dinghy Championships
Civil Service sailing at Netley 29 various boats assembled at Netley Cliff SC on 18-19 July for the 2009 Civil Service Sports Council Dinghy Championships, organised by the Civil Service Sailing Association. Posted on 24 Jul 2009
CSSC Champs at Netley Cliff
Civil Service Sailing Association members 40 boats attended for the CSSC Dinghy Championships hosted by Netley Cliff SC on Southampton Water. There was a wide range of classes, with PYs from 920 (RS600) to 1432 (Cadet). Posted on 23 Jul 2008
Civil Service Sailing Association Championships
The annual Civil Service Sailing Association (CSSA) Championships took place at Netley Cliff Sailing The annual Civil Service Sailing Association (CSSA) Championships took place at Netley Cliff Sailing Club, Southampton Water on 21/22nd June 2003. Posted on 24 Jun 2003