Please select your home edition
Barton Marine 2019 728x90

2013 Endeavour Trophy at Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Burnham - Day 1

by Sue Pelling 12 Oct 2013 20:58 BST 11-13 October 2013

Nick Craig and Alan Roberts lead

Nick Craig and Alan Roberts representing the Merlin Rocket class are the overnight leaders of the 2013 Topper Sailboats-supported-Endeavour Championship.

Craig, who has won the event five times in the past, is now well on the way to making history with six wins if he and Roberts can repeat today's stunning performance on the racecourse, in the final three races tomorrow.

The leading duo accumulated just four points from the first five races. The only race the team failed to win was the opening race of the day, which was won by Christian Birrell and Richard Anderton (Fireball).

Sailing Topper Xenons, the 25-strong fleet of champions endured a testing day on the water in a light to moderate east-nor-easterly breeze and strong tidal stream. Racing took place at the mouth of the River Roach a few miles downriver from the host club, the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, and although the wind was rather shifty at times, the race officers set some good, courses and managed to keep a steady stream of races flowing all day.

Craig commenting on the conditions said: "As Endeavour Trophy races go, today was really tough particularly as I am not a fan of light winds. This, combined with the tide, and tough competition, made it exceptionally tricky. Although we've done well today, there's a long way to go yet and I am certainly not counting on anything."

Jasper Barnham and Graham Sexton (2000) sailed an equally impressive series of races today and, although they didn't win a race, their consistent set of results, which includes three second places, puts them in second place overall. They finished third last year and are naturally keen to repeat/improve their performance. Barnham said: "Last year we surprised everybody, including ourselves. But there is no denying that the Endeavour is tough. You have to take one race at a time and let the results sort themselves out. Nick [Craig] is very talented so we think the only way to give ourselves a chance, is to break his legs tonight. No, seriously, it's going to be windy tomorrow and Nick will just love it. We'll love it too, but not sure we'll go any better."

Former Endeavour Champion crew – Christian Birrell – and Richard Anderton (Fireball) started the day well with a first place in race one, after a nail-biting race-long battle and beat Craig/Roberts by just a couple of seconds on the line. Although they managed a second place in race three, an eighth and a ninth to count drops them down the rankings to third place with 20pts overall.

One team who were relieved this morning to find a dramatic drop in wind strength after yesterday's howling gale, were 13-year-old Elliott Wells and 15-year-old Jake Todd (RS Feva). At just 108kgs all up, they sailed consistently and finished the day with an impressive set of results including a sixth place in race three.

Chatting as he sailed in, Wells commented: "It is a great experience to be here, to meet new people, and race against some of the country's top sailors. Jake [Todd] is doing a good job as crew. The conditions were perfect for us this afternoon. We struggled a bit in the first race when it was up to 7kts but as it dropped we were able to flatten the boat and sail well."

The plan is to run the final three of the eight-race series tomorrow (Sunday, 13 October) starting at 1030. This is however, subject to change depending on the weather situation. The forecast is for rain and strong to gale force cyclonic winds across East Anglia, which could potentially disrupt the final day's racing.

Results after Day 1: (five races, 1 discard)

1st Merlin Rocket - Nick Craig and Alan Roberts, 4pts
2nd 2000 - Jasper Barnham and Graham Sexton, 9pts
3rd Fireball - Christian Birrell and Richard Anderton, 20pts
4th RS200 - Matt Mee and Emma Norris, 21pts
5th Miracle - Sam Mettam and Martyn Lewis, 22pts
6th Solo - Charlie Cumbley and Pete Cumming, 29pts

For full results go to the event website,

Related Articles

60th Endeavour Trophy at Burnham overall
Olympian Luke Patience and Mary Henderson win After a couple of mixed results on the opening day yesterday, including an OCS, silver medallist Luke Patience and Mary Henderson won the Endeavour Champion of Champions title with two final race wins, writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 11 Oct 2021
60th Endeavour Trophy at Burnham day 1
Thames A Rater champs take overnight lead on a mixed day of results Light winds and extremely strong Spring tides threatened to disrupt the opening day of the 60th anniversary Endeavour Trophy but instead four races took place in challenging, shifty conditions, writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 10 Oct 2021
60th Endeavour Trophy this weekend
Olympians join 30 national champions in special anniversary event The countdown to the 60th anniversary Endeavour Trophy is under way with the first race kicking off at 10.00 tomorrow, writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 8 Oct 2021
60th Endeavour Trophy postponed
Preparations in place for bumper Dinghy Champion of Champions event next year The 60th anniversary Endeavour Trophy event at the Royal Corinthian YC, Burnham-on-Crouch has been postponed until 2021 writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 26 Jun 2020
Endeavour Trophy 2019 overall
Saxton and Lewis reign supreme Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis fought back in today's breezy conditions to secure the overall win of the Investec-sponsored Endeavour Trophy, for the sixth time and a record fifth time in a row, writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 13 Oct 2019
Endeavour Trophy 2019 day 1
Patience and Henderson take overnight Royal Corinthian YC, Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex (12 October, 2019): Olympian Luke Patience, and Mary Henderson (470) stole the show on the opening day of the Investec-sponsored Endeavour Trophy, with three wins in the bag writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 12 Oct 2019
Endeavour Trophy 'tickets' sold out
Annual champion of champions race over-subscribed So popular is this weekend's Investec-sponsored Endeavour Trophy (11-13 October), there is now a waiting list to take part writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 12 Oct 2019
Champions prepare for annual showdown
One month to the Endeavour Trophy With just one month to go until the Endeavour Trophy, entry has almost reached its 30-place limit. For the first time in many years response to the annual Endeavour Trophy invitation dinghy champion of champions' event has been overwhelming. Posted on 12 Sep 2019
Saxton and Lewis reign supreme
At the 2018 Endeavour Trophy Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis have won the 2018 Endeavour Trophy for the fourth time in succession with an impressive scoreline of six wins writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 15 Oct 2018
Saxton and Lewis annihilate Endeavour fleet
Four straight wins for reigning champions at opening day On the breezy opening day of the 58th Endeavour Trophy, Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis managed to lead at the top mark and win all four races by a considerable margin writes Sue Pelling. Posted on 13 Oct 2018