Please select your home edition
Spinlock - Deckvest - 728x90

Christmas Cracker at Hayling Island Sailing Club

by Gerald New 25 Dec 2011 09:44 GMT 24 December 2011
Hayling Island Christmas Cracker © Chris Bashall

The Hayling Island SC Christmas Cracker this year was a Moth-Fest, with the class taking the first five places. Ricky Tagg was this year's Cracker winner, followed by Mike Lennon, Jason Belben (SBSC), Peter Barton (RLYC) and Simon Hiscocks. Then in sixth place the first boat to start - 96 minutes before the final Moth starters - the RS Tera of Alex Butler.

The wind around 15 knots throughout helped the fast boats with the Musto Skiff of Neil Upton-Brown in seventh, the Contender of D Taylor in eighth and the RS200 of Tom Morris and Emma Poteous in ninth. First Flying 15 was that of Andrew Jameson and Matt Alvarado in tenth. First Merlin, Dave Hayes and John Rees 11th, first Finn John Tremlett (MRSC) in 13th. Steve Chiverton was first Solo in 22nd, the first RS700 was Eddie Gatehouse in 25th and leading Topper, Geoff Sherwood in 32nd.

Overall Results:

PosBoat TypeSail NoHelmCrewClub
1stInternational Moth3804Ricky Tagg HISC
2ndInternational Moth3708Mike Lennon HISC
3rdInternational Moth3619J Belben SBSC
4thInternational Moth3795Peter Barton RLYC
5thInternational Moth1Simon Hiscocks HISC
6thRS Tera Sport1985Alex Butler HISC
7thMusto Skiff251Neil Upton-Brown HISC
8thContender2512D Taylor MRSC
9thRS2001382Tom MorrisEmma PorteousHISC
10thFlying Fifteen3904A JamesonM AlvaradoHISC

Full results at