Please select your home edition
Sunsail 2018 January Leaderboard

Splash Worlds at Pwllheli Sailing Club - Overall

by Splash Class Association 16 Aug 2009 07:59 BST 8-14 August 2009

Friday started with a brisk Westerley breeze, which slowly swung round to the South-west and strengthened to force six,. Racing started just after eleven am and the race officer got both races in by one o’clock. There were several capsizes and gear failures during racing, which was an indication of the increase in wind strength.

In the Splash Gold Fleet Declan Burn from New Zealand found conditions difficult, but still maintained his overall lead. Hansebas Meijer found the conditions to his liking and improved his position to second overall, the local boy Bleddyn Mon also liking the conditions finishing third overall.

In the Splash Silver fleet Marianne Pijlman of the Netherlands beat the boys with a good overall performance over the week, finishing first. Mark de Schiffert got two good results and pulled himself up to second, while Jock Coppejans of Belgium completed the trio of leaders.

The weather conditions suited the Flash sailors and the leading five boats just changed position, Bob Heineke winning, with Ruud Westerbeek finishing second. In third place was Frank Cornelissen, with Betty Gietema being the first women home in eight place.

After Protests were dealt with the results were posted early evening. Both the Mayor of Pwllheli Ifan Hughes and the Commodore of the Pwllheli Sailing Club Dave Hulse attended the prize-giving, with all the sailors and their families.

Overall Results: (after 13 races, 2 discards)

Gold Splash Fleet
1 NZL 2592, Declan Burn 44pts
2 NED 2454, Hansebas Meijer 61pts
3 GBR 2243, Bleddyn Mon 62pts
4 AHO 2500, Ard van Aanholt 74pts
5 NZL 2590, Scott Fyfe 82pts

Silver Splash Fleet
1 NED 1987, Marianne Pijlman 200pts
2 NED 2383, Mark de Schiffert 208pts
3 BEL 2441, Jock Coppejans 230pts
4 NED 2360, Rogier Vermeer 240pts
5 NED 2497, Jetze Schuurmans 243pts

Flash Fleet
1 NED 2428, Bob Heineke 25pts
2 NED 2367, Ruud Westerbeek 42pts
3 NED 2288, Frank Cornelissen 50pts
4 NED 2485, Igor van Zalinge 52pts
5 NED 1951, Jeroen van Greuningen 62pts